Customer Reviews for

Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

One word: phenomenal. This book was phenomenal! Big girls don't

One word: phenomenal. This book was phenomenal! Big girls don't cry, they get even. That's what the book says, and it's true. The three girls are all for revenge, and this time, they aren't waiting for karma to strike, but they're taking matters in their own hands. The ...
One word: phenomenal. This book was phenomenal! Big girls don't cry, they get even. That's what the book says, and it's true. The three girls are all for revenge, and this time, they aren't waiting for karma to strike, but they're taking matters in their own hands. The main protagonists; Lillia, Kat, and Mary are all tremendously different from each other. Each one has their own characteristics, and I guess that really made the story much more interesting to read. Each chapter is from one of the girl's point of view, and that really made me connect with all three characters in a way that I wouldn't have if it was only from one of their point of view. Despite the girl's differences, one thing had connected them together, and that was revenge.
The book started off without knowing how the three will get together, or even who they were seeking revenge from. You get to meet the characters, and then you gradually start learning more about them. I really enjoyed how Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian wrote this book! The flow felt really good, and it felt easy to read! Every chapter that ended left you wanting more, and for the first time in my life, I actually read this book in one day! Yes, a book usually takes me 2 to 3 days to read, but I read this all in one day! It was so damn addicting, and everything about it felt juicy! Sometimes I did feel sorry for the characters they were getting revenge on, but it was still interesting to see how they planned to do it, and what the outcome turned out to be. I'd actually find myself smiling an evil grin while they were plotting together! It was really fun, and there was a lot of mystery included as well. Not only that, but then do I realize that there's also a bit paranormal, but you learn about that later. (Not a spoiler, because this book is already labeled as Contemporary/Paranormal on GoodReads)
Overall, I don't think this book disappointed me in any way. Mary was shy, but a very nice girl who deserved no one to treat her badly. I really enjoyed Kat because she was such a strong girl who didn't give a damn about what the "popular" crowd thought of her! I loved reading about how she stood up for herself, and I found myself cheering for her as well! At first Lillia sort of annoyed me, but then she grew on me and I really liked her as well. All the characters were enjoyable to read about, and we also got to know about their personal lives. The ending is maybe the worst cliffhanger in the world. Worst as in it killed me. I was like "What, did the book END? Like THIS? omg omg omg I NEED THE SECOND BOOK NOW!". So yea, I'm currently ticking the days off for when the second book, Fire with Fire, comes out.

posted by majibookshelf on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I originally picked this book up due to the beautiful cover des


I originally picked this book up due to the beautiful cover design. It is the kind of cover that entices you, half Mean Girls, half Gossip Girl. Definitely from the first page, you could see that although this book has a similar idea, it definitely marks its own path.
...

I originally picked this book up due to the beautiful cover design. It is the kind of cover that entices you, half Mean Girls, half Gossip Girl. Definitely from the first page, you could see that although this book has a similar idea, it definitely marks its own path.

Mary, Kat and Lillia all come from different backgrounds and pasts, but one thing is for certain, they all live on Jar Island and are just trying to make it through high school. Mary, the town nobody, moved back to town after enduring a horrible event on Jar Island years ago. Kat, the 'social outcast' used to roll with the popular girls, but one swift moved she got her kicked out and a horrible reputation to follow. Lillia, the prettiest of them all it set high on the social high school chain yet feels like she doesn't belong. After finding out that Lillia has her younger sister running behind her back, its time for payback.

The three of them together, they each have a person deserving payback. Lillia has her former guy friend Alex, Mary, setting her eyes on Reeve, the boy that burned her in the past, and Kat, waiting to crush the queen Bee of the school, Rennie. Together in secret, they devise plans to ruin them all. Except there is no perfect world, and all things must come crashing down.

All in all, a very terrific start for both of these veteran authors who are working together. After reading the last page, you will be begging for more and patiently waiting for the second book to come out to see if a Burn does help another Burn.

posted by wheezie on December 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One word: phenomenal. This book was phenomenal! Big girls don't

    One word: phenomenal. This book was phenomenal! Big girls don't cry, they get even. That's what the book says, and it's true. The three girls are all for revenge, and this time, they aren't waiting for karma to strike, but they're taking matters in their own hands. The main protagonists; Lillia, Kat, and Mary are all tremendously different from each other. Each one has their own characteristics, and I guess that really made the story much more interesting to read. Each chapter is from one of the girl's point of view, and that really made me connect with all three characters in a way that I wouldn't have if it was only from one of their point of view. Despite the girl's differences, one thing had connected them together, and that was revenge.
    The book started off without knowing how the three will get together, or even who they were seeking revenge from. You get to meet the characters, and then you gradually start learning more about them. I really enjoyed how Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian wrote this book! The flow felt really good, and it felt easy to read! Every chapter that ended left you wanting more, and for the first time in my life, I actually read this book in one day! Yes, a book usually takes me 2 to 3 days to read, but I read this all in one day! It was so damn addicting, and everything about it felt juicy! Sometimes I did feel sorry for the characters they were getting revenge on, but it was still interesting to see how they planned to do it, and what the outcome turned out to be. I'd actually find myself smiling an evil grin while they were plotting together! It was really fun, and there was a lot of mystery included as well. Not only that, but then do I realize that there's also a bit paranormal, but you learn about that later. (Not a spoiler, because this book is already labeled as Contemporary/Paranormal on GoodReads)
    Overall, I don't think this book disappointed me in any way. Mary was shy, but a very nice girl who deserved no one to treat her badly. I really enjoyed Kat because she was such a strong girl who didn't give a damn about what the "popular" crowd thought of her! I loved reading about how she stood up for herself, and I found myself cheering for her as well! At first Lillia sort of annoyed me, but then she grew on me and I really liked her as well. All the characters were enjoyable to read about, and we also got to know about their personal lives. The ending is maybe the worst cliffhanger in the world. Worst as in it killed me. I was like "What, did the book END? Like THIS? omg omg omg I NEED THE SECOND BOOK NOW!". So yea, I'm currently ticking the days off for when the second book, Fire with Fire, comes out.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Loved it

    This was the best book EVER!!!! It was making me think maybe revenge isn't so sweet. I loved the characters, but I had a connection to Kat. She doesn't take crap from anyone and it reminds me of wel...ME. If your out there reading this I want to say buy this book. The end leaves you shocked but it's still amazing! It's a serious kick-a** story!!!!!
    ^
    Excuse my language

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Will

    Smiked. "Good for her!" He kissed her.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    september 2013... come faster!

    This book was amazing. After every page I wanted to read on and never stop. You know the book is a good book when it feels real. The dynamics of this book was amazing. I give this book 5 stars and I am sooooooo anxious/excited for the sequel!!
    P.S. The ending was amazing. If you like a good book with an ending that leads you on and drives you crazy to know what happens next; read this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    a book about love and revenge, but mostly revenge.

    Mary's returning to Jar Island after years away from it to live with her aunt to see a boy she once knew. Why? Closure. Reeve did something terrible to her—something vile and despicable and she needs things to come full circle. Mary is a bemusing character, wispy and enigmatic. There's a twist to her character that had me very confused, but that doesn't stop her from being kind and observant and sweet.

    Lillia is the oldest daughter of a priveliged
    Korean-American family. She's lived a charmed life; designer clothes, a stable home, wealth, and a high role in the hierarchy of high school. She's beautiful, poised, and, elegant. She is fiercely protective of her little sister, Nadia and has cute, nice Alex wrapped around her finger and wholly head over heels for her. She's best friends with Rennie, the queen of the school, and is content to play princess. Sure, little things bug her and the company she chooses occasionally makes her sick, but she can pretend everything's perfectly fine if she tries hard enough. Everything changes after Rennie abandons her when she needs her most and Lillia is left traumatized. To make things worse, Alex seems to ge preying on Nadia, and Big Sister is the opposite of pleased.

    Kat is a wild child and badass. She smokes and cusses and spits in people's faces and sticks around to laugh at them. She isn't afraid to tell people what she thinks or the consequences. She was best friends with Rennie and Lillia, until Rennie dropped her from their group. Rennie now spreads vicious rumors about her and treats her like trash. Kat is brutal and honest and tough as nails. Her family scrapes by; they love each other, and that will get them throuh everything after the death of Kat's mother. Kat wants desperately to get off the island; Kat just wants to mean something, which is something you can't to on Jar Island where nothing is everything and everything is nothing.

    After a chance meeting in the girls' bathroom—where else would things like this happen?—the girls meet up and give the people that have wronged them their just desserts. They will make Alex sorry for touching Nadia, fooling Lillia, and leading Kat on. They will steal the thing Rennie wants most for treating Kat worse than dirt and not lifting a finger to help Lillia in her time of need. And they will destroy Reeve's future like he destroyed Mary's life.

    There are dark, tragic things in all the girls' pasts. Mary's attemped suicide. The death of Kat's mother. Lillia's date rape and ensuing guilt. They're all terrible things and delicate subjects; however, the authors handle it tactfully, never glorifying it or using it just for a plot device or a catalyst for you to feel sorry for a character. They're shown as what they are: awful.

    Besides that, who doesn't love a revenge plot? This is a book where girls don't get mad or sad (well, they do, but that's not the point), they get even. That's delicious in itself.

    The writing is gorgeous. Co-authored books rarely come out smooth, but not just smooth, this was also beautiful and impossibly addicting and readable. This book has skyrocketed to my favorites and is on my revolving door of books wonderful enough to reread. Please, read this book, I can't recommend it highly enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    I loved it!

    I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Which one is whitch in the cover?

    Please write a comment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Review

    Is this gonna return? Please do!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    I LOVE this book. I've loved everything I've read by Jenny Han s

    I LOVE this book. I've loved everything I've read by Jenny Han so far but this is the first by Siobhan Vivian. I loved the storytelling from multiple POVs. The cliffhanger at the end left me so hungry for more though! When I bought it this weekend I didn't know it was going to be part of a series and now I am dying to get the second book. I highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Must read

    This book is amazing. I love it to peices. The three different charaters to attach to and see there different veiws and how there lives are inter-twined. Three different people that all want revenge on the popular group. Its a fantastic book that I was glued to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "Revenge is Best Served...Funny" T

    booksbysteph says "Revenge is Best Served...Funny"


    Through a myriad of events, Kat DeBrassio, Lillia Cho and Mary Zane find themselves alone together in a girl's bathroom of their high school, complaining about the things that are going on in their lives.

    Kat is angry at Rennie, her old best friend for spreading really bad rumors about her and her family. Lillia is appalled that her best guy friend, Alex, is hooking up with her little sister, Nadia. Mary wants to upstage the varsity football quarterback, Reeve, who turned the entire 7th grade against her because he made fun of her weight, causing her to try to kill herself. 

    All three girls want revenge. "No one can ever know what [they are] up to. What [they] do together lives and dies with [them]." They set up some simple ground rules. "[E]ach of [them] has to participate in all three acts of revenge. That way no one can back out or blame someone else." "[T]hey can't be seen talking to each other in public. Ever." Even texting is out. And "no one can bail halfway through. If [they are] in, [they] need to be in until the very end. Until [they] all get what [they] want. If not, well...consider [themselves] fair game. It'll be open season, and [they will] have a hell of a lot of ammo to use against [them]. If [they] can't swear to that, [they] might as well pretend [this idea] never happened."

    The girls want to make it so no girl will ever want to hook up with Alex. They want to watch Rennie's dreams evaporate before everyone's eyes. And they want to kill Reeve for what he did to Mary, but will settle on ruining his life.

    In the beginning, the girls have fun torturing their targets, but as things begin to play out, some start to question if they are doing the right thing. None of them knew the horror at the homecoming dance would happen.

    Each girl blames herself...just like in the oath they created, but they really believe it.

    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 5 Stars

    * WARNING: The pranks in this book are for entertainment purposes only. Please do not attempt to do any of the revenge plots. *

    Cliffhanger ending! I mean that literally. You will have to read the next book, Fire with Fire (available now), in this trilogy to see the consequences of homecoming night.

    What can I say that will not spoil the fun for you? Some of the pranks I found to be hilarious because they are imaginative. Some I have seen in movies. Others are extremely dangerous and not funny at all.

    These girls are basically taking down the cool group in high school, which Lillia is a part of. I like that because there should not be a group of cool kids who dictate everything. Every person should be on the same level. High school politics are torture and something does need to be done about it. 

    I cannot say much more or I will ruin your fun. But you will laugh, your inner conscience will be tested and you will see right from wrong and how things might not be as they seem.

    Until next time, live life one page at a time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Wierd one here

    This book is beyond words. I never read anything but romance for teens but this book was just captivating I couldnt put it down. Three word tweleve letters READ THIS BOOK.
    --- =] wierd one 4ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great plot

    It was so good that I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Amazing

    Does anybody know if there is a second boo??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Okay savenger hunt your done

    I am so mad. STOP DOING THE SAME PLACES OKAY. I HAVE BEEN TO TAYLOR SWIFT AND NICKI MINAGA AND TO MANY MORE. But it is getting boring and a waste time. We need a vote. Put your votes in right away. Write on the headlines to Myla13. Thanx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Awesome

    It is a really really good book and i think other people should read it too they have parts where you are like oohhh he is going to get it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    So Amazing! i know you can only rate the book up to 5 stars, but

    So Amazing! i know you can only rate the book up to 5 stars, but it deserves about1000000000000000000 stars!

    i read this book in about 5 hours. it is a major page turner and i love so much! im not going to say what happens, but i cant wait to read the other two books. it possably the best book i have ever read in my life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Fablous scavnger hunt

    Go to Taylor swift song lyrics

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK !!!!!!!!!! I HOPE THIS WILL BE A SERIES

    I LOVE THIS BOOK !!!!!!!!!! I HOPE THIS WILL BE A SERIES

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2