Customer Reviews for

Burned (House of Night Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2938 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1897)

4 Star

(553)

3 Star

(274)

2 Star

(102)

1 Star

(112)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I heart House of Night!!!

This is the seventh book in the House of Night series. I just absolutely love the cover and the fact they put Stevie Rae on the cover, that's almost exactly how I envisioned her to look like while reading this series. I liked this book but will admit it isn't my favorit...
This is the seventh book in the House of Night series. I just absolutely love the cover and the fact they put Stevie Rae on the cover, that's almost exactly how I envisioned her to look like while reading this series. I liked this book but will admit it isn't my favorite in the series. It's a good book, don't get me wrong,it's action packed with the whole love thing I can't get enough of, but it just didn't have enough of Zoey for me. Zoey is my favorite character in the whole series, I do like the fact we got to see more inside Rehpaim's mind though, he is definately my second favorite character now. And it's awesome Stevie Rae is getting into the love thing lol more in this book. This book ties up a lot of things from the other books and now I'm super excited and can't wait to read the next book Awakened when it comes out. This series is like an obsession for me, I can't get enough. I'm now one of those fangirls I now despise lol! Not afraid to admit it! Zoey's soul has shattered after sending spirit to attack Kalona after he murdered Heath. Neferet has sent Kalona's spirit to the Otherworld to make sure Zoey never comes back. Meanwhile Stevie Rae is coming to terms with her imprint with Rephaim and the feelings they are starting to feel for each other. Stevie Rae is discovering that dark and light isn't always so clear, and decisions are sometimes hard to make. Aphrodite is coming to terms with being a prophetess of Nyx and discovering she could do more than she ever thought possible. Stark has found his bloodline and has found a way through it to try to save Zoey and become more than just her Warrior, he wants to be her Guardian, and realizes love can't fix everything.

posted by lilmudduckmuffineater on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The Never Ending Story

When I first began to read this series I did enjoy the story.
It drove me crazy in the first few books that the author repeated so much from the previous books (things that REALLY didn't needed refreshing on. I mean if you can't remember who the characters are you sh...
When I first began to read this series I did enjoy the story.
It drove me crazy in the first few books that the author repeated so much from the previous books (things that REALLY didn't needed refreshing on. I mean if you can't remember who the characters are you should just probably REREAD the books) but it wasn't enough to stop me from getting the next book.
I will say I am done reading the books because I feel I am wasting my time. This book was the worst of the series. These books could have easily been written in trilogy without so much fluff.

This never ending story needs an ending. I will choose to just read it up on the internet.

posted by StampDecor on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2959 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 148
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Never Ending Story

    When I first began to read this series I did enjoy the story.
    It drove me crazy in the first few books that the author repeated so much from the previous books (things that REALLY didn't needed refreshing on. I mean if you can't remember who the characters are you should just probably REREAD the books) but it wasn't enough to stop me from getting the next book.
    I will say I am done reading the books because I feel I am wasting my time. This book was the worst of the series. These books could have easily been written in trilogy without so much fluff.

    This never ending story needs an ending. I will choose to just read it up on the internet.

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    There is another book coming...

    Burned was better than Tempted, which is a relief. I was under the impression the this book would conclude the series. This is not the case, my friends. Who knows how many more books there will be...These authors are obviously milking this idea for everything they can, which is understandable. I would too, I suppose. I'll give my opinion to you straight: Zoey isn't in this book. This is about Stevie Rae, bottom line. Her picture on the cover should be a dead giveaway. I'm a big fan of Zoey, so I am disappointed. I find Stevie Rae to be a stupid, silly little girl, and I'm 27 and find it hard to relate to that kind of character. A younger audience is going to love this book, but an older audience will be disappointed. Where is the depth? Depth will not be attained if the authors choose to write another book about Stevie Rae. Although, I will read the next book to find out what happens to Zoey, because I absolutely love her.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I heart House of Night!!!

    This is the seventh book in the House of Night series. I just absolutely love the cover and the fact they put Stevie Rae on the cover, that's almost exactly how I envisioned her to look like while reading this series. I liked this book but will admit it isn't my favorite in the series. It's a good book, don't get me wrong,it's action packed with the whole love thing I can't get enough of, but it just didn't have enough of Zoey for me. Zoey is my favorite character in the whole series, I do like the fact we got to see more inside Rehpaim's mind though, he is definately my second favorite character now. And it's awesome Stevie Rae is getting into the love thing lol more in this book. This book ties up a lot of things from the other books and now I'm super excited and can't wait to read the next book Awakened when it comes out. This series is like an obsession for me, I can't get enough. I'm now one of those fangirls I now despise lol! Not afraid to admit it! Zoey's soul has shattered after sending spirit to attack Kalona after he murdered Heath. Neferet has sent Kalona's spirit to the Otherworld to make sure Zoey never comes back. Meanwhile Stevie Rae is coming to terms with her imprint with Rephaim and the feelings they are starting to feel for each other. Stevie Rae is discovering that dark and light isn't always so clear, and decisions are sometimes hard to make. Aphrodite is coming to terms with being a prophetess of Nyx and discovering she could do more than she ever thought possible. Stark has found his bloodline and has found a way through it to try to save Zoey and become more than just her Warrior, he wants to be her Guardian, and realizes love can't fix everything.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    house of night series

    house of night series is very interesting and alluring. You find yourself immersed in the books and addicted to the series. I know i am. i highly reccomend. It's actually a little better than the Twilight Saga! The only problem is in the 2nd and 3rd book ( i've only read until the 4th) its a little bit too....slutty. Other than that it's exellent. i give it 4.5/5 stars! i can't wait to read the rest!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Not Worth Reading...At All

    It's like the series that would never end!!!! The first four books were ok and fun to read, but as the series goes on it gets worse. I really hate it how the chapters keep changing to different people. The language is atrocious (I mean most teenagers don't even talk like that in real life. At least they use swear words unlike "bullpoopie"). One critic said it was the next Twilight, but that's sooooo not true. It was a complete waste of time. If you want to read a mature (and I don't mean like mature=dirty) vampire novel then try the Vampire Academy Series.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    Confused

    I loved this series at 1st and they really are amazing books but I couldn't read this like I read the others. I usually read them fast and didn't want to put them down but on this one I had to put it down and I had to take a break cause there was some parts not needed and i'm not happy with having to wait another year or so just so the book won't come out great. It felt kinda pointless when not that much happen and I was expecting the ending. So yes it was thrilling and good but is it worth waiting for anymore? I loved the series but now i'm really not sure.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Weakest Book of the Series

    Though the House of Night series started out strong, about midway through it started on a downward trend. This book merely continues down the path the series unfortunately is heading.
    The book follows supporting, often underdeveloped, characters leaving the reader somewhat uninterested in what is going on. The heroine, Zoey, makes few appearances. When the readers do get to see her, they often wish they didn't due to her un-Zoey-like nature.
    The last few chapters save the book from being a total wash. The book would've done better if it were combined with the next book in the series, which would lend it some forward motion in an otherwise stagnant plot line.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    An amazing book.

    I loved the twilight series because it was mostly romace and what girl doesn't love a good romance. But the house of night series really got me. I love the story and I love how the main character [zoey] deals with all these problems that we normally wouldn't and still deals with normal teenager crisis. I can relate with so many of the situations that the main character is brought up with and it gives me a feeling of comfort and helps me realize that maybe the situation isn't as bad as I think it is. Overall i think the books are amazing. Tempted was my favorite out of all of them because I cried and laughed throughout the whole book. I love the series and I can't wait until Burned comes out. I truly reccomend this series to everyone!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series.....Already reserved #7

    Read through them so fast that I thought I was in the book myself. Read each book in less than 6 hours. Couldn't find myself putting them down. The series is sooooo good. A+++++ to the author. The only thing negative I have to say is that they don't come out with the rest of them fast enough.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    GEEZ

    this series is waaaaaaaaaaaaay better than twilight. no offense stephanie. loved tha book tho. i can read tha house of night series over and over and over etc
    LOVED IT!!!!! I SO recomened (however you spell that word) this book

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    amazement:)

    I first got this series randomly for my birthday because i wanted something to read. Didn think much about them until i started reading them and i could not put these books down!! They were filled with so much excitement i wished i was there too aha! With tempted i was really into it!(i love all the books too) but this one is amazing. She finally broke up with erick which i was like "finally"!! i personally think that stark is the best for her:). But when he turned her over and saw no tattoos i was like "whaaaaatttt"!!!!!
    i CANT WAIT for Burned!!! i am bouncing in my seat!!! Please-o-Please-o-Please keep writing kristin & P.C. :)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excuse Me!

    This was absolutely one of the WORST books ever. Honestly the whole series was skanky. Zoey is NOTHING without her friends, NOTHING! You hear? I fell inlove with the first few books; Chosen, Untamed and Hunted. The rest? Please. I hated Cast's main character, Zoey. She is a complete skank. People say Erik Night is "Annoying, Possessive, etc." Well news flash for you honey!! It's what boyfriends do! They don't want they're girlfriends making out with just any guy! Heath is annoying, and so are all the other guys. Burned was completey a big dissappointment. Is it just me? Well it might. I couldn't stop complaining about how awful it was. I couldn't even get to chapter 4. I regret throwing away my receipt. The only thing I got from the whole entire series was to write a book myself. I just wish there was more romance and less slutty-ness. Sorry, don't take this the wrong way. My opinion.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall ok!

    The book overall is an ok one.... i rather enjoyed reading it with my friends and then discussing it.....but my one complaint is Zoey's love life....what the heck is going on.....Heath...very annoying...... Erik......get over her.....Stark....date her already.......Zoey.....choose a guy and let the others move one.... you hold on to them...and it makes you look like a whore its not fair to them.
    Please Choose in Burned!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing love all the books!!!!!!

    i can not wait till burned comes out i have been waiting for a while the end of temped was so sad an i need more...p.c.cast is a very good author i love all her books not just the ouse of night cant wait......

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    ...

    Awful, cheesy, unrealistic writing and dialogue. Purely useful if one does not wish to have to think... at all. Don't spend your money on it.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nail Biter!!!!

    I've fallen in love with this series and if our a vampire book lover so will you! After finishing the 6th book, I've been pulling my hair out my head waiting for this book to come out. As soon as it did, i pre-odered right away! What's gonna happen to Zoey? Is Heath actually dead and can't be saved? What will Stark do now? Will Kalona begin the rise of a human vs. Vampire war? All these question will be flying in mine and yours heads! We'll see...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Anticipated;

    I can't wait for this to come out; I've been dying to know whats going to happen now that (SPOILER) Zoey and Heath are 'gone'. I didn't like the ending of Tempted /: but I'm hoping that the Casts will make up for it with Burned. I'm team Stark, but I really enjoy love triangles/squares/(in Zoey's case) octagons. lol Heath was amazing though, I hope he comes back D: ERIK SHOULD'VE DIED INSTEAD. just saying.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG

    oh my god. i love the other six books. when i saw the pub. date i actally started to cry. i just finished Tempted. I NEED TO READ BUNRNED. soo. yeah. :] write faster and publish this book. i CANT wait!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    bestbookseriesever.

    I have read all of these books and I am dying to see what happens in burned. When it comes out I probably will be one of the first in my city to get it. I love these books and highly recomend them.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    What a disappointment!

    This book was such a let-down. It was slow, hard to get in to, and frankly, pretty boring. It is very much a transition piece. The only new things introduced were the additon of the Light versus Darkness struggle. Zoey is skittering around in the Otherworld like a detoxing addict the whole time, Stark is working out his issues, Stevie Rae is in love with a half-human, half-beast Raven Mocker who HAS A BEAK FOR A MOUTH for goodness sake, and Aphrodite is still her usual self. There's very little from Damien, Jack or the twins in this book, which was a disappointment. I usually like hearing about their escapades.

    Unlike the other House of Night books, Burned has a lot of bad language. Why are these kids all of a sudden cussing like sailors? I feel like the Casts are trying to make their characters more grown up, and instead of DEVELOPING them, they just decided to make them cuss.

    Burned is a transition into the next line of the story, and I sincerely hope that Awakened (book 8) is a better book. Hunted and Tempted were too good for this series to go bad. The Casts better get crackin' on these books because I don't plan to be still waiting for House of Night books to come out when I'm 40!!

    Please check out my book blog for other recommendations and reviews:

    www.idsoratherbereading.blogspot.com

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2959 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 148