Customer Reviews for

Burned (House of Night Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2933 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1893)

4 Star

(552)

3 Star

(274)

2 Star

(102)

1 Star

(112)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I heart House of Night!!!

This is the seventh book in the House of Night series. I just absolutely love the cover and the fact they put Stevie Rae on the cover, that's almost exactly how I envisioned her to look like while reading this series. I liked this book but will admit it isn't my favorit...
This is the seventh book in the House of Night series. I just absolutely love the cover and the fact they put Stevie Rae on the cover, that's almost exactly how I envisioned her to look like while reading this series. I liked this book but will admit it isn't my favorite in the series. It's a good book, don't get me wrong,it's action packed with the whole love thing I can't get enough of, but it just didn't have enough of Zoey for me. Zoey is my favorite character in the whole series, I do like the fact we got to see more inside Rehpaim's mind though, he is definately my second favorite character now. And it's awesome Stevie Rae is getting into the love thing lol more in this book. This book ties up a lot of things from the other books and now I'm super excited and can't wait to read the next book Awakened when it comes out. This series is like an obsession for me, I can't get enough. I'm now one of those fangirls I now despise lol! Not afraid to admit it! Zoey's soul has shattered after sending spirit to attack Kalona after he murdered Heath. Neferet has sent Kalona's spirit to the Otherworld to make sure Zoey never comes back. Meanwhile Stevie Rae is coming to terms with her imprint with Rephaim and the feelings they are starting to feel for each other. Stevie Rae is discovering that dark and light isn't always so clear, and decisions are sometimes hard to make. Aphrodite is coming to terms with being a prophetess of Nyx and discovering she could do more than she ever thought possible. Stark has found his bloodline and has found a way through it to try to save Zoey and become more than just her Warrior, he wants to be her Guardian, and realizes love can't fix everything.

posted by lilmudduckmuffineater on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The Never Ending Story

When I first began to read this series I did enjoy the story.
It drove me crazy in the first few books that the author repeated so much from the previous books (things that REALLY didn't needed refreshing on. I mean if you can't remember who the characters are you sh...
When I first began to read this series I did enjoy the story.
It drove me crazy in the first few books that the author repeated so much from the previous books (things that REALLY didn't needed refreshing on. I mean if you can't remember who the characters are you should just probably REREAD the books) but it wasn't enough to stop me from getting the next book.
I will say I am done reading the books because I feel I am wasting my time. This book was the worst of the series. These books could have easily been written in trilogy without so much fluff.

This never ending story needs an ending. I will choose to just read it up on the internet.

posted by StampDecor on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 552 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall ok!

    The book overall is an ok one.... i rather enjoyed reading it with my friends and then discussing it.....but my one complaint is Zoey's love life....what the heck is going on.....Heath...very annoying...... Erik......get over her.....Stark....date her already.......Zoey.....choose a guy and let the others move one.... you hold on to them...and it makes you look like a whore its not fair to them.
    Please Choose in Burned!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nail Biter!!!!

    I've fallen in love with this series and if our a vampire book lover so will you! After finishing the 6th book, I've been pulling my hair out my head waiting for this book to come out. As soon as it did, i pre-odered right away! What's gonna happen to Zoey? Is Heath actually dead and can't be saved? What will Stark do now? Will Kalona begin the rise of a human vs. Vampire war? All these question will be flying in mine and yours heads! We'll see...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Anticipated;

    I can't wait for this to come out; I've been dying to know whats going to happen now that (SPOILER) Zoey and Heath are 'gone'. I didn't like the ending of Tempted /: but I'm hoping that the Casts will make up for it with Burned. I'm team Stark, but I really enjoy love triangles/squares/(in Zoey's case) octagons. lol Heath was amazing though, I hope he comes back D: ERIK SHOULD'VE DIED INSTEAD. just saying.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    Burned (House of Night Series #7)

    I like the house of night series but feel that the books are now loseing their edge that they used to have, and go to to many diffrent chareters P.O.V each chapter.The book is losing its spark probley as fast as its loseing its viewers.I do enjoy reading the house of night series just not as much as before in the begining before the wrtiing style changed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    It was good!!!

    At the begging I was not to sure about this series there were a couple of books that really didn't do it for me, this one I loved. I love the story line between Stevie Ray and Rephain, and overall cant wait for the next one...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Weak writing but enjoyable storyline

    Although the quality of the writing is sub par and the immature, teen laden dialogue is very annoying, I can't help but to enjoy these books. I've never been a fan on Zoey, rather her life and all of the people within in are what keep me interested. Zoey is just kind of the thread holding everything else together, but certainly not the most important part. The other characters like Stevie Rae, Aphrodite, Stark, Kalona and Neferet are what give these books fuel. I love what's happening with Stevie Rae and the Raven Mocker, Rephaim. It's very 'Beauty and the Beast' which is always fun for women readers. I really wish that the writers would tone down the incessant teenaged babble that spews from the characters' mouths. I think that young readers would connect just as easily with the characters and the story if the writing were more mature and intelligent. It makes me think that the writers really underestimate their own readers, which is quite ironic considering they are both teachers, I believe.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WooHoo

    I have read the entire series and have really enjoyed it. I got started reading "vampire" stories with the Twilight Saga and fell in love with it. I know this is suppose to be a young adult series, but I am a thirty-something mom and am hooked. LOL!! Some of the "events" that take place in this series have been drawn out more than necessary, in my opinion, but it is still an enjoyable read. I am looking forward to "Burned" because I want to see what is going to happen next. Some of the language is not really necessary, but I guess that is just showing these are kids in "high school" and most do use "colorful" language.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    Am excited to read but...

    Okay, I've gave this four stars for one reason.

    The first five books of the House Of Night Series aren't written in ways that explain what each character is doing seperately like Tempted, and I heard that Burned is too.

    Alrighty, personally, I think they should've left the books' writing style the way it was, I liked the older version better where they explained everything from Zoey's view, not from each character's view, that just makes everything confusing. I think the authors need to fix that and just stick to what Zoey experiences and witnesses, not what the others see, that just confuses you and makes you forget what happened earlier.

    So, I just think that's the only thing that needs to be fixed, because that's what makes the story a little odd and makes no sense at all. People may see this differently from me, so I could possibly be wrong, guys, but that's just what I've seen. So please don't tell me I'm wrong or anything, because that's just how I feel about the authors now.
    :) Enjoy if you wish reading!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series

    I have heard people say this is better than twillight but ABSOLUTLY NOT TRUE! it is a great series and it is worth the read but twillight it is not. Read it and judge for yourself, Zoey is a great herion, Bella she is not. Dont kill me but Bella whines whereas Zoey kicks butt. I enoyed this series very much (and Im 32) A little questionable for the younger audience though, Im not sure I would have had zoey's "first" go down like that in a teen series but maybe that was the point. Maybe the teen readers can learn something from her misjudgement and regret. I dont feel that series has gone down hill, I think it's a great journey to embark on with the house of night, Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a fun read

    I have been hooked into these books mainly because I love series. I like the change of flow in this one as Zoey Redbird stepped back and let her friends show. I will continue to pick up the next one in the series but I think I'm looking for a little closure...like Neferet's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Burned

    Well thoughtout plot. Predictable ending however. Want to see what Zoey does with her friend and Rephaim situation.

    Fun easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Feeling Burnt Out

    After reading the first 6 books in the series I was looking forward to this newest edition and was on edge for a while dealing with the drama the last book left the reader. I pre-ordered this book as soon as I could. However, after reading this book in the series, I don't feel that the book advanced enough in the plot for it to be substantial. A small detail in the overall story was stretched out into a book, when it could have easily been a few chapters in a novel. This series, while very interesting, still hasn't gotten to the parts that should be dragged out, such as the final battle between good and evil. Some new ideas were brought forth through this book, but in my opinion, if Zoey's soul didn't shatter in the last few pages of the 6th novel, this entire book would have been moot. After finishing the story, I still felt empty, because the plot had not advanced much further than it did in the 6th book. Still however, I did enjoy it, but I wish I would have waited until the series finished so maybe I wouldn't have felt let down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good series for quick reading, another spin on Vampires.

    This series has a whole new spin on vampires, it is very original in that aspect. Being a YA book makes it an easy read and more entertaining then alot of the adult books in the genre. This series takes alot of twist and turns that you cannot see coming and I am really looking forward to the outcome. The characters are believable and they really grab you and make you want to love them or hate them. I like the depth she gives to not only the main characters but alot of the side characters as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    P.O.V's

    I love the series, but I really dislike the different point of views. The last 2 books that came out, i didn't read anyone else's POV's except Zoey or Heath...like the important characters. Basically in Burned, nothing really advanced. it was like just a day's worth of stuff for Zoey. She was "lost". not much happened with her in the story. Hopefully Awakened will be better, once it comes out. My favorite has been the first 4 books. then it gets kind of ..not boring but not as exciting as i first read it. but all in all, keeps readers wondering what might happen. If you haven't read the series yet, it's a MUST read. but the excitement burns out after a while because theres no more love 'square' anymore. Like im not even sure if Erik was mentioned in this novel because i didnt read anyone else's POV except Heath and Zoey's. -sigh- I also read Vampire Academy. Can't wait for THAT to come out. Very good series. Just like this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HON series is interesting

    First with the negative. I hate the misspellings and grammar of the books. Its not here and there but all over the place. Also how sometimes the series drag, it feels like its dragging now. You can buy the books early at Walmart(unsure how they get it out about a week before everyone else). I just hate how in some books it feels like weeks have passed, but in some books, its over a 24hr period. Other than that I am a fan, and Burned is no acception. There will be no spoilers here due to the majority have not even read it, but believe me you will enjoy this book, i know I did, only minor disappointment as with all of them. Can't wait for the next one. Only two more in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I also love Sugar's "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

    Sugar's 'The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds" is a book that is all about educational reality, the facts on the ground, not vacuous educational theories.

    Sugar pioneered the SMARTGRADES school notebooks that contain the new learning technology, ACANDY Processing Tools, that empower students for academic success. She transformed my kids into Grade A students, so I speak from experience, not hypothetical theory. It is not all about teaching, it is all about learning.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    GREAT SERIES

    OK THESE BOOKS ARE PRETTY GOOD. THEY HAVE HUMOR, ACTION, DRAMA, ROMANCE AND ALL THE GOOD STUFF. THE ONLY THING IS THIS NEW PLOT IS SLIGHTLY BORING AND IT GETS REALLY ANNOYING THAT EVERYTIME ZOEY FINALLY ONLY HAS ONE BOYFRIEND SHE FALLS IN LOVE WITH ANOTHER TEN BOYS. THE WAY THESE BOOKS END AND THE FACT THAT THERE WILL BE LIKE 14 OF THEM MAKES ME WONDER IF THESE AUTHORS JUST WANT MONEY BY MAKING US CONTINUE TO BUY THESE RELETIVELY SHORT BOOKS EVERY YEAR TO CON TINUE A STORY THAT COULD BE DONE IN A FEW BOOKS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Nice book

    I haven't completed the book yet it is highly addicting. I have to be reminded what time it is so i have to stop reading but i love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    To all

    Torpedostar and northernstar have been locked out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Like sorta love

    I think this is where the author started doing more than one charecters point of view n even though i liked it more than i normally would have still prefer it the way it was in the first book.... just saying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 552 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28