Customer Reviews for

The Burning Bridge (Ranger's Apprentice Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 863 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(661)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Exciting Story From Start to Finish

I just loved this book. It was exciting, thrilling, and interesting from page one to the ending. My favorite character is Halt although I adore Will and Horace. Halt is a caring and good teacher. He is patient with Will and supports his growth as an individual. Wil...
I just loved this book. It was exciting, thrilling, and interesting from page one to the ending. My favorite character is Halt although I adore Will and Horace. Halt is a caring and good teacher. He is patient with Will and supports his growth as an individual. Will goes on simple mission with Gilan, who is Halt's former apprentice. Only the simple mission turns out to be anything but complicated!! There is a part in the story where Halt, who is in a bad mood, misses Will. So he is assigned to escort Alyss on a diplomatic mission. The interaction between these two characters is a delight to read. The ending with the bridge is awesome and well worth reading the book. I really enjoyed all the excitment. Well done, Mr. Flanagan!!!!

posted by Dojin on June 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Forget the Hype

It is not original at all. Rangers were copied off Lord of the Rings and Wargals is way too close to Urgals to be at all original.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 877 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting Story From Start to Finish

    I just loved this book. It was exciting, thrilling, and interesting from page one to the ending. My favorite character is Halt although I adore Will and Horace. Halt is a caring and good teacher. He is patient with Will and supports his growth as an individual. Will goes on simple mission with Gilan, who is Halt's former apprentice. Only the simple mission turns out to be anything but complicated!! There is a part in the story where Halt, who is in a bad mood, misses Will. So he is assigned to escort Alyss on a diplomatic mission. The interaction between these two characters is a delight to read. The ending with the bridge is awesome and well worth reading the book. I really enjoyed all the excitment. Well done, Mr. Flanagan!!!!

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Jff

    Should i try the book???????? if u agre reply

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    very good young person read

    Excellent series, well written. Vivid description allows you to see what the character sees. Story moves along well and difficult to put down. Good follow-up from book 1. Looking forward to the next in series. Recommended to other young readers (5th grade and up or very strong younger reader. Lessons in hope, dedication, learning by watching, and friendship.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great

    I read it three times before putting it down

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    Burning Bridge (Ranger's Apprentice Series #2)

    This thriller of a book is one of the best reads I've had this fall. It took me no more than two days to read it. Once you get into the story it gets very exciting. The reason I liked this book better than The Ruins of Gorlan is because this book had a large, openfielded battle which slightly reminded me of a certain Battle of Pellanor Fields in The Return of the King. Nevertheless, this book had it all, and I reccomend it to ages 11+.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Ranger's Apprentice book 2: The Burning Bridge = Great book for teens.

    This book was very fast paced at times and sets a path for Will's maturity. It increased Will's relationship with his friend Horace, as well as letting readers know more about the youngest ranger in the corps, Gilan. Gilan, Horace, and Will travel to the often peaceful lands of Celtica. They are sent to deliver a diplomatic message to the allied kingdom of Celtica from Araulen. Along the way, they run into areas that are usually filled with many Celts. But now the lands are mysteriously empty. Now the three heroes find out what is going on in these empty lands. All the while, the kingdom of Araluen must prepare for an incoming invasion of wargles. Morgawraths last onslaught will decide the outcome of Araluen and its people. On a scale of 1-10 this book is easily a 9. I highly recommend that others read this book as well, especially after reading the Ruins of Gorlan.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    AMAZINGLY ASTONISHING!!!

    When I picked up the first book, I expected it to be interesting but I had no idea it was going to blow me away like it did. I read it in one day and went to barnes and noble the very next day to get the second book. I was so impressed with the writing style, the plot, the characters, and some of the dialogue even made me laugh out loud (a HUGE feat for a book). I'm definatly a critic when it comes to books but I can't find any flaws in this series. In fact, these books are SO good that I'm having trouble deciding whether I should spend my money on the seventh harry potter book or the third book in 'The Ranger's Apprentice'. I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE THIRD BOOK!!! THIS IS A MUST READ FOR ANY FANTASY LOVER!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Woe Wow

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT!! Kind of a slow start, and the title is influenced too early, but STILL!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Great book great charaters great story

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Awesome!

    This book alway surprises you and it is not copyed from lord of the rings!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    I just LOVE this series. This book is one of favorites out of all of them though. The best quote of the book is from Gilan who is asked by Will and Horace what to do if your be charged by an axman, your bowstring is broken, and your on the edge of a cliff with nowhere to run and hide. His responce is "Jump off the cliff. It'll be less messy that way."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    Forget the Hype

    It is not original at all. Rangers were copied off Lord of the Rings and Wargals is way too close to Urgals to be at all original.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Amzing book

    A very fast paced wonderfull book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    The book was great! All characters, events, etc. were really great! And the ending scene with Halt and the Skandians was very touching. I reccomend this to anyone who loves to read. Or anyone who doesn't. Just make sure you read "The Ruins of Gorlan" first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Yo mom

    Dude dont spoil it [so sad]

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Good book

    Rather good book. Gets pretty slow at times until the very suprising end!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    must read

    Awesome series! I love it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    The Ranger's Apprentice books are the best books I ever read!! They are packed with excitement and adventure from cover to cover and once you start reading you won't be able to put them down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Amazing read

    This book series is one of the best series I have ever read! Once you finish the 'Rangers apprentice', be sure to read the brotherband chronicles!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    HALO

    I like donuts and pizza

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 877 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44