Customer Reviews for

Burning Bright: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must love poetry

This is about William Blake, and young people who live around him. It is very realistic historically, however, I didn't care for the poetry within the story. A very good story though, if you can skip the poetry.

posted by just-a-thot on June 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Misses the Mark

Although I am very much a Chevalier fan, this book misses the mark. I couldn't tell what the point of the book was until about three quarters of the way through. And, even at the end, it left me feeling like the entire read was a waste of time. However, I highly reco...
Although I am very much a Chevalier fan, this book misses the mark. I couldn't tell what the point of the book was until about three quarters of the way through. And, even at the end, it left me feeling like the entire read was a waste of time. However, I highly recommend all Chevalier's other books!

posted by BeenToBaliToo on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT TRACY CHEVALIER BEST

    For a writer I truly like, this book was rather dissapointing.
    So the real rating is two and half stars.
    There's something lacking in this book.
    I didn't totally dislike it but didn't like it that much either.
    As for the other reviews, you can notice some praise it and some say it's not a good piece of fiction. Personally, I think it is in between. It has some good things but, all in all, it doesn't satisfy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Good historical fiction

    I am a Tracy Chevalier fan - love her attention to time period detail. This was not my favorite of her works, but it is well-researched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Queen Elizabeth I (clarification)

    Queen Elizabeth I ruled as Queen regnant of England and Queen regnant of Ireland from 1558 to 1603. Quenn Elizabeth II is the current Queen of England and has been since 1952; her father reigned as King of Enland before her. I just obtained a copy of Burning Bright and have not yet read it, however, I have enjoyed reading other books by Tracy Chevalier and now I'm curious to see how Queen Elizabeth I figures into 1792 history.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    A Flickering Flame

    I just recently finished reading Burning Bright, the latest novel by Tracy Chevalier. This is her mostly recent novel and to be honest the only reason that I read it is because it was chosen for my next book club. I have read other books by Chevalier in the past and have have mixed reactions on them. So, I wasn't super enthused to read this book...and while it didn't suck. I wasn't in love with it either. This novel primarily takes place in London, England in the year 1792, focusing around 3 teenagers: Jem, Maggie and Jem's sister Maisie. Jem & Maisie have recently moved from to quiet life in the country to the bustling city of London with their parents and are learning how to adjust. One thier first day in the city they meet Maggie, a street wise girl who likes to be the one who knows everything and tend to delight in the mistakes that Jem and his sister make while they are learning to adapt to city life. Thrown into this group in none other than Willima Blake. Who has got to be one of the most aloof, vaguley written characters that I have ever met in a book. In some ways Mr Blake is always there for the teenagers idolize him and his beliefs. Yet, even when he is in the prescence of the teens he seems to be off somewhere else. He speaks in metaphors and doesn't seem to be bothered by anything. Even when there is a mob outside his door he just stands there limply and only reacts after Maisie starts to recite one of his poems.....or songs as they are refered to in the book. Even then his reaction isn't quite what the reader expects. There are times in which I think that Blake's character is more of an after thought. Someone famous that the author tosses into the mix in an attempt at trying to accomplish......something. What exactly I am not sure. The characters of Jem, Maggie and Maisie are all pretty underdeveloped as well. There seems to be no real purpose to any of them and I found it hard to care what happened to them. I initally struggled to get through this book. Its not a hard read I just found it to be boring and lacking in plot. I was often more drawn to the various descriptions more then what was going on with the main characters. Where the major events of their lives seem to be swept aside and barely discussed while pages and pages are spent on them watching a circus procession going by. I finally had to give myself a shake and force myself to read the novel any time I had a chance because I just wanted it done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    Not Burning Bright

    I too am an avid fan of Tracy Chevalier and had finished her last book about a year ago, and was anxiously waiting another. I got so involved in all her other books-The Virgin Blue being my favorite. You actually really felt for the characters and got transported back into whatever time she was writing. I think the main problems with this book are that the main characters were just too young or inexperienced. She has put so much passion into her other charcters--and truthfully I miss all the sex scenes. They truly made the book page turners. Still a good read, but frankly I just wasn't that interested in any of the story lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Huge Tracy Chavalier Fan

    Tracy Chavalier is one of my most beloved authors. I have been waiting for this book anxiously and was greatly disappointed. Not her best work. None of the characters, surroundings, or plot seem to be developed or even interesting for that matter. The voice of the book was so shallow and hollow compared to her other books. I felt like I was reading a book by an amateur who happened to use her name. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1