Customer Reviews for

Burning Down 'The Shack': How the 'Christian' bestseller is deceiving millions

Average Rating 1.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

A must read for everyone who read "The Shack"

Finally, a book that provides proof of the unbiblical statements and ideas of the popular book, "The Shack", by William P. Young. It is utterly frightening how many people, including pastors, have been deceived by "The Shack". The god of "The Shack" is NOT the God of th...
Finally, a book that provides proof of the unbiblical statements and ideas of the popular book, "The Shack", by William P. Young. It is utterly frightening how many people, including pastors, have been deceived by "The Shack". The god of "The Shack" is NOT the God of the Bible. People who claim that "The Shack" brought them closer to God are being misdirected and decieved into believing in a false god.

"Burning Down the Shack" compares the concepts and ideas of "The Shack" with the Bible. The author provides references to the Bible so you can you can verify every false idea and statement. "Burning Down the Shack" is not confrontational - it is simply an analysis that is backed by the Bible. It is a must read for everyone who has read "The Shack".

While "The Shack" is a fictional work, it is clearly not being regarded as fiction. MANY people claim "The Shack" brought them closer to God, and this demonstrates "The Shack" is not simply being read as fiction. Quite honestly, even as a fictional book, "The Shack" is offensive to God, the Bible, and Christianity. I cannot stress enough that "Burning Down the Shack" is a must read book. The first few pages alone provides plenty of evidence of the many unbiblical statements, concepts and ideas that "The Shack" contains.

The author, James B. De Young, is professor of New Testament Language and Literature at Western Seminary, Portland, OR, where he has taught for thirty-four years.

posted by J_Andries on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Lame

Why are you focused on God being a black woman? Do you even understand why God showed himself as that in the book? Instead of writing in conflict with ones book who has helped MANY come to salvation or return to God, write your own and keep focus on Gods goodness rather...
Why are you focused on God being a black woman? Do you even understand why God showed himself as that in the book? Instead of writing in conflict with ones book who has helped MANY come to salvation or return to God, write your own and keep focus on Gods goodness rather than judge.

posted by 4507319 on October 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    Lame

    Why are you focused on God being a black woman? Do you even understand why God showed himself as that in the book? Instead of writing in conflict with ones book who has helped MANY come to salvation or return to God, write your own and keep focus on Gods goodness rather than judge.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    phhhhhhh................. read the shack and believe it

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Independence

    This author is angered and lost in the wrong way of potraying the Holy Trinity. Don't even bother to purchase or even read the sample of this book as it may fill you with anger of his vituperative deception of God.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Don't waste your money!

    This author needs to look up the definition of 2 words: 1. FICTION -as in "The Shack" was fiction- and a great read 2. JUDGE- as in REAL Christians don't

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    HORRIBLE

    Dont believe anything this guy say!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Come on guys, its fiction -_-

    It is a fiction book, the only think this book accomplished was trying to run down a book thats not real. We are not decieved, unlike this author we realize the shack was fiction.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    fiction!

    is it possible that nobody knows what the word fiction means? the shack is a ficticious story, this is a real rebuttle to a ficticious story. the shack is heartwarming but only a story, burning down the shack is just a way to ride the wave, and make a buck. all the dan brown uproar was the same kind if 'fiction bashing' for profit. k

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Horribly Deceptive!!!

    I am deeply sadenned when I think that someone would publicly announce such a foolish belief. This book was judgemental and particularly hateful. Those are two things that Christians specifically try not to be. The author of this book is very confused. Do not buy this book, as it is misleading and decepitive. I would not recommend this book to anyone!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Praise for "The Shack"

    All i can say without reading this book that supposedly
    debunks the FICTIONAL book, "The Shack", is to look at the fruit of "The Shack in my life. We are known by our fruit. Did "The Shack" bring even one person closer to knowing the love of God? Yes! It brought me there! I am a fruit of the intentions of the book. I now see God as a loving Father who knows me intimately and knows more of the whys and hows that my heart cant fully fathom. It settled some things in my heart without disparaging the character of God. It helped me understand a little more of His heart for his children. I, for one, am grateful for a book that tears down some of our religious mindset and shows us the true heart of our loving Father.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Its a book!

    Why bother reading the book if all your gonna do is argue about it? Your all putting the authors' purposes to waste! The Shack is a work of fiction. If some people chose to follow that, then let them. If they choose to just enjoy the book- wich we all should- then let them! No more disputes please!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    God Is Real.

    God is really whether you believe in Him or not. The faith one possesses in God, you will never have. To believe without seeing...that's truth

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    There were so many people that were effected by this book, I und

    There were so many people that were effected by this book, I understand one's faith believe me, but if someone is taking the gospel in the way that God shows them to share it and as long as people are reading the book and it is making them dig more into the bible to learn more for themselves, what could be so wrong with that.. Paul Young never said this was a factual book, but I showed you characteristics of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. I was blown away by how close in truth this book was.. I cannot believe that people found fault with it. Pick on someone else, If you want to judge someone.. there is plenty to judge and pray about, just step out your door and look around.. should I say more? May God Open Your Mind and Heart.. God Bless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    he wasted alot of time on this book.

    he wasted alot of time on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    God is Real

    I may be young but that book is totally true. Who ever wtote the book is a person that has no life and just wants people to turn from God

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1