Customer Reviews for

Burning Girls: A Tor.Com Original

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent, but unexpected

This is a very short story, only 43 pages, but it is a very compelling read. There's really not much that can be said without spoiling it. It's definitely worth the little bit of time it will take to read it.

posted by 7223191 on March 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Sad tale

This story was well written and interesting, but was quite depressing. It was filled with tragedy without any redeeming message of hope to balance out the bad. There was not just one misfortune...this short story had everything from pillaging Cossacks and mobs destroy...
This story was well written and interesting, but was quite depressing. It was filled with tragedy without any redeeming message of hope to balance out the bad. There was not just one misfortune...this short story had everything from pillaging Cossacks and mobs destroying jewish ghettos to dead babies and tragic fires packed into it's 42 pages. Save yourself the misery and skip this one!

posted by hshust on March 31, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Very short, but

    Good. This story in my opinion only slightly hit on the Rumpelstilskien fairy tale. Its only 42 pages, very dark, and tragic. I did find it interesting and if this author has any other free shorts I would get it.
    BrynnS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Quick read

    A good story and a quick read. The story ended sooner than I would have liked. The author could have extended the story by telling more of what life was like in the new world and put in more about the personal lives of the girls. The ending is what gives the story its' title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Strange and Unsettling Short

    This is a story that will pull you in and then leave you disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    nice read

    I enjoyed the subject and thought the writing was fresh.

    I would real other works by Veronica Schanoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Don't bother!

    very depressing, pointless story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Love this book, wish it was longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Excellent

    This was a very good book full of ethnic content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    .

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Don't Miss this Book

    This was a short book, an easy read. I could picture what happened to this family in a Jewish ghetto in Europe, and what the girls faced as newcomers in the United States.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Cute but awsome

    This book is so awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    This is a very well written story. Yes, it has many tragedies. I

    This is a very well written story. Yes, it has many tragedies. It brings to mind the original Grimm's tales. I would like to see more from this author. Maybe something longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    One Star

    I did not care for this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Back to the drawing board

    Huh? Thank goodness it is over!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just reaad this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I enoyed reading this short story myself. ShelleyM


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    I was not impressed with the story. I won't complain about the

    I was not impressed with the story.

    I won't complain about the writing, as I don't recall spelling or editing errors, but the whole thing felt to me like a ten-year-old girl telling a story--but the ending sounded more like it came from a jaded spinster. I do not recommend this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Not awful

    A short novella touching on the Cossacks invading Poland, surviving young Jewish women coming to America where they thought they'd be safe, and learning otherwise the hard way. It takes place around the time of the Triangle Shirtwaist fire, and the story has women working in the factories being treated horribly. Part of the story has the girls fighting off demons with witchcraft, which I skimmed. Too short to become very invested in it, but not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Ok

    Good story. I was a little confused at times due to the unfamiliar words and culture. I had a hard time diferentiating between real history and beliefs vs fiction. Good....but depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Yes!!! Jmm 44

    The whole thing isn't quite believable but it keeps you entranced anyway---wondering whats going to happen next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Fair

    Cross between thw fairy tale rumplestiltskin and history story of shirtwaist factory fire. Very short, only 42 pgs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    D

    I would not recommend reading

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3