Customer Reviews for

Burning Girls: A Tor.Com Original

Average Rating 3.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent, but unexpected

This is a very short story, only 43 pages, but it is a very compelling read. There's really not much that can be said without spoiling it. It's definitely worth the little bit of time it will take to read it.

posted by 7223191 on March 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Sad tale

This story was well written and interesting, but was quite depressing. It was filled with tragedy without any redeeming message of hope to balance out the bad. There was not just one misfortune...this short story had everything from pillaging Cossacks and mobs destroy...
This story was well written and interesting, but was quite depressing. It was filled with tragedy without any redeeming message of hope to balance out the bad. There was not just one misfortune...this short story had everything from pillaging Cossacks and mobs destroying jewish ghettos to dead babies and tragic fires packed into it's 42 pages. Save yourself the misery and skip this one!

posted by hshust on March 31, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Not very gruesome, but very very good. Wonderful language, very

    Not very gruesome, but very very good. Wonderful language, very evocative.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Burn

    A very short story. The ending was bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    This story was an interesting mix of old world cultures mixed wi

    This story was an interesting mix of old world cultures mixed with the new. There was both history and legend to make a very different story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Interesting

    I found this to be an interesting short story. Almost like an adult fairytale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Dark Historical Fantasy

    Wow!

    Author Veronica Schanoes blends fairy tale, early twentieth-century history, and Jewish folklore, and makes it work. The hard-headed heroine who believes in the supernatural world, is a wonderful character.

    The pseudo-explanation of the title early on in the story falls flat, and some of the imagery seems forced. But the story still works because, like fairy tale, it is about a deep human longing.

    I wish it had not been spoiled for me by reviewers who gave away the main plot points and the ending.

    I can see why this novella was nominated for a Nebula Award. It is a well-written, thought-provoking story. I recommend it. Thanks to the publisher for making it available as an ebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Never do business with daemons

    A fascinating old world faerie tale set in the 20th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Curious story

    Bought because I thought it would be an interesting magikal read. Was not as magical, but did keep my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Very short, but

    Good. This story in my opinion only slightly hit on the Rumpelstilskien fairy tale. Its only 42 pages, very dark, and tragic. I did find it interesting and if this author has any other free shorts I would get it.
    BrynnS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    nice read

    I enjoyed the subject and thought the writing was fresh.

    I would real other works by Veronica Schanoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Cute but awsome

    This book is so awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    This is a very well written story. Yes, it has many tragedies. I

    This is a very well written story. Yes, it has many tragedies. It brings to mind the original Grimm's tales. I would like to see more from this author. Maybe something longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just reaad this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I enoyed reading this short story myself. ShelleyM


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1