Customer Reviews for

Burning Lamp: Book Two of the Dreamlight Trilogy (Arcane Society Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    exhilarating Victorian romantic fantasy

    In the late seventeenth century alchemist Nicholas Winters developed the Burning Lamp to enhance his arcane skills, but the cost was an insanity curse to his descendents. Only a woman of special power, a dreamlight reader, can work the artifact and prevent the descent into insanity. His enemy Sylvester Jones formed the Arcane Society to police practitioners and remain vigilant in watching the Winters' brood.

    In the late Victorian Era, recently orphaned fifteen years old Adelaide Pyne is sold to a brothel. Her first customer Mr. Smith shows her a special lamp with it's' power not activated. Smith uses a crystal to kill the brothel owner, but Adelaide shocks him with her dreamlight skill when she puts him to sleep. Although unsure why, she runs away with the lamp and his money.

    Thirteen years later, London Director of the Consortium crime lord Griffin Winters seeks a social reformer who has raided brothels though he does not own whorehouses. He needs this woman and the Burning Lamp to prevent his descent into insanity. He arranges through a mutual acquaintance to meet the Widow. She recognizes he uses shadow magic to conceal himself, but he is excited when she easily spots him. Griffin explains he needs her to prevent his fall into insanity. She mentions possessing the Burning Lamp which was stolen from his parents the night they were murdered. They are attracted to each other and she agrees to help him. However Smith abetted by crime lord Luttrell is coming for her and the lamp.

    This exhilarating Arcane Society Victorian romantic fantasy moves forward the overarching theme of the Dreamlight trilogy (see Fired Up) but easily stands alone. The lead couple is an interesting pairing of a crime lord and a social reformer although he never displays criminal activity; while Jones and Jones play support roles. Although the two villains never quite live up to reader anticipation, fans will relish this superb thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Where is the ebook for the Nook?

    Where is the eBook for the Nook? I thought all of the new books would be coming out in ebook format for the Nook as soon as they were released.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Welcome to Dungeon Battle RP!

    Thia is the MESSAGE BOARD. It is in the middle of the dungeon, and you can only use it if your character finds it. The next result is where we actually RP, and the third is if you want to talk in real life. Enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another page turner by Amanda Quick

    Amanda Quick's second book in the "Dreamlight Trilogy" (a subset of her
    Arcane Society novels) has proved to be just as enjoyable as her others. With fully developed characters, generous doses of humor, unexpected twists, she once again proves that she is indeed a master at writing an exceptional tale. This time, she goes into the past. I can hardly wait to read the third book, which goes into the future world of Harmony.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Quickstar

    Gallops to dracula sixth result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Tgtyghggfhtfhfhbcgfvvtec

    Vbftgygyhhvvgfrdrsewsxggujokbj

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Just starting the trilogy, but ......

    I am a little confused as to why I was able to get book 1 (Fired Up) and book 3 (Midnight Crystal) in paperback before book 2 (Burning Lamp). Now I will have to wait (not a chance!) or read them out of order. I love every one of Quick/Castle/Krentz's books (hence the anticipatory rating), so I'm sure that the order won't matter much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great society series novel

    I didn't expect the older setting. Nice to see the second book in the Dreamlight Trilogy, I started them backwards. It does get confusing since the AS series is ordered differently. We get action right from the start as we meet a young Adelaide in dire straights. Who is this madman and what does he want with her? From here we jump ahead a bit and meet Griffin. The crime boss who's much more than his reputation. Why do I have a feeling this is the start of the Guilds? They're both very different and yet they click so well. This one was a wild ride of twists and excitement. Griffin and the family curse, the legend of the lamp, and she a rare dreamlight talent with a past. We learn of an illusion talent, more on hunters and other assorted talents, and the weapons of the past in the red crystals. Murder, blackmail, underworld takeovers, hostage situations, romance, psy energy, and more. I very much enjoyed the banter as well as the plot and the flow of each new development. The other characters were just as rich as the main ones, and I was also happy that J&J made the scene again. I'm so glad this series is a nice long one, I can't wait to read the rest of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    awesome

    I loved this book. This is the 2nd in a series of three books. I especially liked how she uses all three of her names in the series, thereby intertwining 3 different times lines. I can't wait for the third book to come out by Jayne Castle. She is one of my favorite authors. She never lets me down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    Another interesting entry in the Arcane Society Series

    I am fast becoming a great fan of Amanda Quick's writing style. I have read several of her books that take place "late in the reign of Queen Victoria". Among the ones I've read are Second Sight, Perfect Poison, The Paid Companion and Lie by Moonlight. The Burning Lamp is an Arcane Series book which deals with Griffin Winters,a descendant of Nicholas Winters,who was one of 2 alchemists that started out as friends and ended up as bitter rivals. Sylvester Jones the other alchemist used herbs trying to find a formula that would grant extraordinary abilities while Nicholas Winters built a machine, the Burning Lamp to achieve the same goal. Griffin Winters needs to find the lamp and the woman who will help him unlock the lamp's power in order to keep his sanity. Enter Adelaide Pyne. Many of the characters found in the above mentioned books return in The Burning Lamp and add a sense of continuity to the series. I especially like Ms. Quick's heroines as they are all strong, resourceful and witty. Their male counterparts are extremely open-minded for the era in which they live and act as perfect foils for the ladies. I highly recommend this book any of the books mentioned above and I eagerly await Ms. Quick's next effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Love the series

    I have 2 others waiting to read book 2 of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Another Great Read From Amanda Quick

    Amanda Quick, aka Jayne Ann Krentz, is one of my favorite authors. I love how her Arcane Society series goes from the 1800s to the present and back. Her writing always keeps me coming back for more.

    I just have to point out that the cover was so beautiful. The woman behind the black lace emits such a mysterious look. She pulls you into wanting to read the book.

    Griffin Winters is a notorious crime lord and a descendant of the Winters' curse. His character meets Adelaide Pyne, a dreamlight reader, who is the only one fated to read and unlock the mystery of the burning lamp for Winters. As in the first trilogy, the same plot applies to its characters. The best part of this book is at the end though. I do love a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    excellent

    excellent addition to the arcane series cannot wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Great Read

    If you like Amanda Quick you will love this book. I thought it was great how she brought back characters from other books and mixed the Jones family with the Winters family so you understand the dislike between the families in the other books. Or later books.

    Great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Burning Lamp (Acane Society Series #8) by Amanda Quick

    I have read all the books Amanda Quick, Jayne Ann Krentz and Jayne Castle have written so far,(same person). She has a wonderful flair for writing and her characters are fresh, strong and sassy. This is book 2 on the "Burning Lamp" series, and if I was doing the series books in order, I would have made it 1st since it deals with the past and the first book, "Fired Up, written under Jayne Ann Krentz" was written in the present. Read this book first, if you love it read more of her work, I have never been disappointed yet and that is saying a lot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Excellent Read in typical Quick fashion

    The Arcane Society novels are always dramatice and action packed. Love the strong female characters who are always in control. It is wonderful how Quick is able to create such well matched couples who are also so different. Not a frufru love story which makes the Arcane novels a great read. Definitely something to have for a quiet, rainy day when you can curl up with a good book and just relax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Burning Lamp

    Two strong characters are brought together to discover if a lamp has mysterious properties. I love these characters. Griffin Winters is a crime lord but I found him to be honorable and compassionate in his own way. He is intelligent and no ones fool. Adelaide Payne is very much her own woman. After a terrifying experience when she was fifteen , she left England. After making her own way in America, she is drawn back to England. These two people intersect and sparks fly. Can these two people help each other? Only time will tell. All I can tell you is that I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. Of course I also enjoyed meeting up again with some of the other characters I have enjoyed in previous books. I can hardly wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5