Customer Reviews for

Burning Skies

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Good Read for a vampire series junkie

    Every time I find a "vampire" series, I'm hooked. This is the third book in this particular series (I think). Start with "Ascension". Each book builds on the previous one. The story is a tad formulaic, but still entertaining. I find it the best kind of escapist reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Burning skies

    Great story......love the guardian of ascension books....great storytelling, awesome characters you will love....once u start wont be able to put it down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Great series, I want them all

    If you are like me and love to follow not just one character but several in their quest for love, Caris has the gift! I love her books and her characters! Awesome, can't wait to read about the rest...thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Burning Skies takes place four months after ascension leaves


    Burning Skies takes place four months after ascension leaves off and I must say it fulfills the promise that is teased at in Ascension. Caris Roane settles into the plot and begins weaving a wonderful story. Lead Characters Havily Morgan and Warrior Marcus are an intriguing mix of sensual chic and warrior fierce. Secondary characters are artfully intertwined and we are tempted with preview of what is coming next.

    Warrior Marcus, a hero in exile. After millennium of battling evil, watching family member after family member die, he finally gave up. The final part of humanity snapped, knowing that if he stayed on Second Earth, he would kill not only the respect of his Warrior Brothers but quite literally his best friend. Without telling anyone why, he exiles himself to Mortal Earth where he creates an empire. Becoming the epitome of successful businessman. Ruling an empire of billions of dollars from his Seattle base.

    Havily Morgan, was a powerful ascendant.. or at least she was supposed to be. At her ascension a hundred years ago great things were expected of her. Over time she was considered a grave disappointment and was constantly harangued and belittled by Her Supreme Commander.. Endelle, who I must say has the sensitivity of a fencepost. Having failed at whatever it was she was supposed to do, having not passed whatever test that never happened, Havily settled into doing everything she could to make life easier for those fighting the war. From trying to create a better administration to bringing the Warrior Brothers coffee and pastries in the morning after a long night of fighting. In a million ways she showed she cared and each of the brothers adored her more than a little.

    Havily and Marcus met in Ascension and both knew that destiny had declared then breh-hedden, that perfect match between two people. Until Kerrick and Alyson most of the citizens of Second Earth had considered breh-hedden a myth. Suddenly, the Warriors of the Blood are falling like flies.. While both realized that breh-hedden was upon them both refused to ackowledge it. Havily, because she considered Marcus the lowest of the low, a traitor to the cause. And Marcus because no way was he returning to Second Earth. Yeah RIGHT!!

    Havily is targeted by the second in command to Greaves, Crace who is willing to break all the rules to get her. Seems her powers are finally manifesting and prophecy called it right. Her blood has the same power as a death vampire so she is a tempting delicacy. Add to that her sudden ability to move around in the darkening. A power that no one but Endelle has on all of Second Earth. Marcus, not trusting anyone to watch HIS Havily moves back to Second Earth and together they learn how to let go of the past. Making them stronger together and able to fight the war that must be fought.

    Burning Skies also introduces a rather intriguing young lady who will be showing up in Wings of Fire. Fortunately, I already have it and plan on emerging myself in the lore of Mortal and Second Earth as soon as humanly possible.

    I was promised that if I kept going I would enjoy this series, thank you Nina, you were most definitely correct. I would suggest this book as a must read.. Enjoy.

    Shauni

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    I loved the book...BUUUUUUT!

    As with CharlieMM my copy was also missing about 21 pages. I missed almost all of chapter 12 and part of the end of chapter 11. I filled in teh gist of what happened with the following chapters but I felt kind of like somewhat cheated...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Great Series

    I have truely enjoyed reading this series..I do think that the sex scene can be narrowed down just a bit..it just keep going and going.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Fantastic book

    I really loved the first book of this series and wasn't sure I would really enjoy Marcus' book. The first book sets him up to be the one who walked away when his brothers, and the world, needed him. But, to my amazement, I loved this book even more than the first one. Marcus' character was well-developed and Havily was everything you wanted in a heroine-smart, funny, had her own fears but extremely likable. I am thoroughly looking forward to Parisa's story in the next of a series. Ms. Roane has become a must read for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1