Customer Reviews for

The Burning Soul (Charlie Parker Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

a superb mystery

In Pastor's Bay, Maine Randall Haight consults with attorney Aimee Price over unsigned threatening letters he receives in the mail at a time when fourteen years old Anna Kore vanished from a strip mall. The anonymous author knows who Randall was. When he was fourteen ...
In Pastor's Bay, Maine Randall Haight consults with attorney Aimee Price over unsigned threatening letters he receives in the mail at a time when fourteen years old Anna Kore vanished from a strip mall. The anonymous author knows who Randall was. When he was fourteen years old William Lagenheimer and a buddy raped and killed a teenage African-American girl. He was convicted and did time. Upon his release, the state court granted him a new identity.

Aimee persuades private investigator Charlie Parker to look into who the pen pal is and if the timing is deliberate to make Haight the suspect in the Kore case. Although Charlie detests doing anything for a rapist-killer, he begins his inquiry into Haight's claims of being a victim, a town without pity horrific heritage and the Kore clan's bloody secrets.

The latest Charlie Parker investigation (see The Whisperers) is a superb mystery as readers will understand troubled Parker's self flagellation as he realizes perhaps too late his arrogance could harm the abductee. The story line starts slow but a few chapters in accelerates into a terrific running out of clock thriller with a great late twist as Parker and law enforcement know each hour a kidnap victim remains a captive means it is less likely finding the person alive. Readers will appreciate Parker's doubts as he wonders if he is doing more harm than good.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good - but not his best!

I've been a fan of the Charlie Parker novels written by John Connolly for years. "The Burning Soul" was entertaining and many of the great characters created by Connolly in this series made an appearance in the novel. However, the story did slow down a bit for me at tim...
I've been a fan of the Charlie Parker novels written by John Connolly for years. "The Burning Soul" was entertaining and many of the great characters created by Connolly in this series made an appearance in the novel. However, the story did slow down a bit for me at times, and I had to do some backtracking to keep up with the plot. If you are new to this series, this probably isn't the best novel to start with. Go back to some of the earlier stories like "The Reapers" to get a better appreciation for this author's work.

posted by j_hurst on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a superb mystery

    In Pastor's Bay, Maine Randall Haight consults with attorney Aimee Price over unsigned threatening letters he receives in the mail at a time when fourteen years old Anna Kore vanished from a strip mall. The anonymous author knows who Randall was. When he was fourteen years old William Lagenheimer and a buddy raped and killed a teenage African-American girl. He was convicted and did time. Upon his release, the state court granted him a new identity.

    Aimee persuades private investigator Charlie Parker to look into who the pen pal is and if the timing is deliberate to make Haight the suspect in the Kore case. Although Charlie detests doing anything for a rapist-killer, he begins his inquiry into Haight's claims of being a victim, a town without pity horrific heritage and the Kore clan's bloody secrets.

    The latest Charlie Parker investigation (see The Whisperers) is a superb mystery as readers will understand troubled Parker's self flagellation as he realizes perhaps too late his arrogance could harm the abductee. The story line starts slow but a few chapters in accelerates into a terrific running out of clock thriller with a great late twist as Parker and law enforcement know each hour a kidnap victim remains a captive means it is less likely finding the person alive. Readers will appreciate Parker's doubts as he wonders if he is doing more harm than good.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Good - but not his best!

    I've been a fan of the Charlie Parker novels written by John Connolly for years. "The Burning Soul" was entertaining and many of the great characters created by Connolly in this series made an appearance in the novel. However, the story did slow down a bit for me at times, and I had to do some backtracking to keep up with the plot. If you are new to this series, this probably isn't the best novel to start with. Go back to some of the earlier stories like "The Reapers" to get a better appreciation for this author's work.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well Done

    It's nice to see a well-written novel that takes the reader seriously, not playing any games, but just taking us on the ride to see how the story develops and what interesting devices the author has created to move the story along. The Burning Soul is a good read, and I return the author's respect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Typical Connolly story.

    Not having read John Connolly for a long time, I had forgotten how long winded he could be with his descriptions and mind wanderings. So I skipped over some to get on with the story which was interesting but a bit boring at times. So many players. I would never figured this one out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Amber

    Love it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Fantastic

    Riveting addition to the Charlie Parker series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Thriller That Will Keep You on Your Toes

    The story begins with the disappearance of a 14 year old girl from a mall. But we soon learn that Randall Haight along with a friend, Lonny, killed a 14 year old girl. Randall and Lonny did 18 years in prison but were offered that chance to start new when they got out with new identities.

    Randall has been living quietly in Pastor's Bay as a reclusive accountant. But someone has learned about his past and is starting to send him pictures and video. Charlie is asked by Randall's attorney to find out who is blackmailing him. But Charlie thinks there is more to Randall's story then he is being told. Plus there is a little girl that needs to be found, hopefully alive.

    This is the 10th Charlie Parker mystery from John Connolly. I have to admit that I didn't know what to expect since this is the first book in this series that I have read. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. There was a really good story with lots of twists and turns. I kind of figured out the end, but it was still really good.

    But there are a couple things that I did not agree with. There is a short jaunt where these two guys save a 14 year old girl from prostitution, which I cannot figure out why it was even in the book. The other thing that got to me was the fact that the story dragged on and on with all the description. Don't get me wrong, it made the book really vibrant but it also made the story longer than it needed to be.

    This is one book that I recommend people read if they like mysteries. I even started getting other books in this story so I can start from the beginning.

    I received this book free from Simon & Schuster Galley Grab.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    A winner

    Unexpectedly beautiful writing for a mystery novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Not worth reading

    Very hard to follow and confusing. The ending was pretty good but not worth reading the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    To Molly

    I don't think it's bad at all...and by the way- there's a book corner at 'fanfiction' result three! You can post story locations/ads there if you want! Spread the word!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Epicness

    I like it. And do me a favor: ignore the guy impostering me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Another great book in the series!

    I can't remember another series I have read without being disappointed somewhere along the way, or lost interest. John Connolly writes great stories--clear, compelling, and always leaves us looking for the next installment. Definitely worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The story takes a while to get going. It's really only the last

    The story takes a while to get going. It's really only the last 100 pages that are interesting and suspenseful. if you're new to the Charlie Parker series then this is not the book you want to start with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Great

    John Connolly is a compelling author. I love his Charlie Parker Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    lo0ve

    Connolly is a genius

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Little Town Blues

    John Connolly’s Charlie Parker Thrillers usually combine an element of the supernatural with basic detective work. In this, the tenth in the series, the eerie aspects are slight, while the hard work of solving a case winds its way through the pages with realism and power. It is a twisted story that begins when an attorney asks Charlie to assist a client, and unfolds with a ferocity of dynamic proportions.

    It appears that the client, Randall Haight, as a 14-year-old, and with a friend, murdered a young girl in an incident with sex-related overtones. Following long jail terms, both men were released with new identities to give them a chance at rehabilitation. Randall is now an accountant leading a quiet life in a small town on the Maine coast. And then a 14-year-old girl goes missing and Randall starts receiving reminders in the mail of his past transgression from someone who apparently has discovered his true identity. He asks the attorney and Charlie to protect his anonymity by finding the source. And this leads Charlie into a labyrinth of complications.

    It is a gripping story, one in which the author throws red herrings into the reader’s path before unveiling a completely unexpected conclusion. Tightly written and plotted, the novel is a most welcome addition to an outstanding series and is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Good but not one of Connolly's best

    Rather tame for Charlie Parker novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Not up to Normal Standard

    After being impressed by the first 9 books in the series, number 10 was a severe letdown. The plot was thin, the characters were wooden, and JC seemed at times to be trying to overcome a weak plot with excessive wordiness. The only time he seemed to come to life was when he was pushing his political agenda. If this had been the first book in the series I would not be compelled to read another.

    I hope JC can return to the standard he set with the first 9 novels when he produces the next Charlie Parker novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Charlie Parker is by far my favorite fictional character. John Connolly has a superb way of drawing the reader in from the very 1st page and make it extremel hard to put down the book until it is finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    NOT YOUR NORMAL MYSTERY

    DO NOT READ THE SYNOPSIS ON THE COVER. THE AUTHOR INTRODUCES CHARACTERS IN SUCH A MANNER THAT YOU KEEP WONDERING WHAT THEIR CONNECTION IS. I WAS KEPT GUESSING ABOUT THE OUTCOME UNTIL THE VERY END. I ONLY READ THE COVER SYNOPSIS AFTER FINISHING THE BOOK. THIS IS AN EXCELLENT TO WHILE AWAY A FEW HOURS WHEN THE TV PROGRAMMING IS SO VERY BAD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3