Customer Reviews for

Burning Up

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Burning up ( book review)

Author Charoline B. Cooney
When Macey goes to visit her grandparents she always takes the "shortcut" to get there. Everytime she runs by the foundation of burnt down barn. WHen her history teacher assigns a History report she decides to do a report on the barn...
Author Charoline B. Cooney
When Macey goes to visit her grandparents she always takes the "shortcut" to get there. Everytime she runs by the foundation of burnt down barn. WHen her history teacher assigns a History report she decides to do a report on the barn. What comes next is the digging up of the cities worst secrets.
When she decides to take on the project she also takes on a new friend Austin. First when they attend a community service project in the slums they become friends through a very interesting situation to say the least. What follows is alot of work and frustration between Macey Austin and the rest of the community. Bringing up past actions against the first African American teacher in the school in the late fifties. When her Grandparents are no help she does what ever it takes to avenge Mr. Silbeys accident and her friends death.
I recommend this to anybody looking for a mystery that keeps you guessing right up til the end. It is an easy read that you can follow and get into.

posted by harry76HF on March 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

this book stunk

I expected this book to be good. I thought there was going to be a good romance between Macey and Austin, but it turned out to be a dud. Dont' get me wrong, I love Carolyn B. Cooney, but this just wasn't her best book. I still have no idea why this book was rated 12 a...
I expected this book to be good. I thought there was going to be a good romance between Macey and Austin, but it turned out to be a dud. Dont' get me wrong, I love Carolyn B. Cooney, but this just wasn't her best book. I still have no idea why this book was rated 12 and up.It didn't have anyhting bad in it.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Burning up ( book review)

    Author Charoline B. Cooney
    When Macey goes to visit her grandparents she always takes the "shortcut" to get there. Everytime she runs by the foundation of burnt down barn. WHen her history teacher assigns a History report she decides to do a report on the barn. What comes next is the digging up of the cities worst secrets.
    When she decides to take on the project she also takes on a new friend Austin. First when they attend a community service project in the slums they become friends through a very interesting situation to say the least. What follows is alot of work and frustration between Macey Austin and the rest of the community. Bringing up past actions against the first African American teacher in the school in the late fifties. When her Grandparents are no help she does what ever it takes to avenge Mr. Silbeys accident and her friends death.
    I recommend this to anybody looking for a mystery that keeps you guessing right up til the end. It is an easy read that you can follow and get into.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Amazingly Amazing

    Thank you, Mrs Spears for having me read this book for Literature Book Group Circles! I LOVE it! I recommend it to everyone. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    The 1959 Barn Fire

    Fifteen-year-old Macey Clare was on her way to her grandparents she loved going to her grandparents house because of a boy that¿s now living across the street with his grandparents. His name is Austin and she has a really big crush on him but they don¿t have any classes together except for Saturday group but Macey doesn¿t like going to Saturday group but because she finds out Austin is going to the next one she goes to the church to on Saturday but everyone wants her to be careful because the church is in a town where a lot of bad things happen. When Saturday comes and they arrive at the church Macey doesn¿t get paired up with Austin, instead she gets paired up with a girl named Vinita to repaint some rooms. Vinita and Macey become really good friends after this although while their painting they smell something really bad so they go to look for it to see what it is and when they opened the door to go through it fire came out at them and Macey almost lost all of her hair so when Austin heard and everyone else heard the screams they all went to see what was going on, when they got to them Austin saved Macey with his shirt because Vinita had already gotten out and then they all ran through an exit. After the fire at the church Macey had only two inches of hair left so she got interested in the barn fire in 1959. Losing her hair in the fire was not the only thing interested her about the fire it was also that she needed that for her school project but it wasn¿t a good idea to choose that for her project because nobody liked to talk about it so that¿s what made her think that it was her grandparents and Austin¿s grandparents that set the fire but it wasn¿t.I liked everything about this book but some parts were confusing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!!!!!

    Burning Up is a very interesting book. There are two main characters, Austin and Macey who are neighbors and really good friends. This is the main summary Macey is assigned a local history project and thinks about doing the old barn fire in 1959. She is in a Saturday Group with her neighbor, Austin. They were going to paint Sunday School rooms, but it all went wrong. One minute they¿re cheerful and happy, the next they¿re panicking and running from a fire! Austin catches a glimpse at Macey and her hair is on fire! He puts it out with his t-shirt. After the fire everybody is stunned and in shock, but Austin isn¿t. He figures out that he¿s crazy about Macey. What he doesn¿t know is that she¿s crazy about him, too. Macey does more research on her project and finds a lot of information that doesn¿t help her. Then she finds the man who was living in the barn. He tells her to be her true colors. She figures out what that actually means and in the end she says the sentence that explains it all. ¿There are other fires to put out.¿ I think the message that the author, Caroline B. Cooney, was trying to make is that not everybody is perfect and always be caring and show your true colors, even though your family¿s true colors may not be the same. I think that this book is truly wonderful and amazing because Caroline B. Cooney sends out the right message by saying always care and show your true colors, plus not everybody is perfect. I would absolutely recommend this book to people who like adventures, laughs, and just a little bit of sadness. This book is perfect for preteens, teenagers, and even adults!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    this book stunk

    I expected this book to be good. I thought there was going to be a good romance between Macey and Austin, but it turned out to be a dud. Dont' get me wrong, I love Carolyn B. Cooney, but this just wasn't her best book. I still have no idea why this book was rated 12 and up.It didn't have anyhting bad in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Burning Up

    This book was so good! I wish that Macey an Austin got together. They wouldve sounded like a great couple. Plus Macey and Autin sound really in love! xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was good, but it was not my favorite. It was good insight into the world that exists around us, but we ignore it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    review of a lifetime

    My thought when I first got this book was that it sounded ok. When I started reading I could not stop. It was amazing. A real page turner. I'm definatly going to read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    burning up

    Macey wanted to do a report on an old barn she lived nexted to.Nobody wanted to tell her what happened to it.It burned down many years ago.She started to do lots of research on the burnded down barn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    Burning Up Is A Good Book

    Macy, 15, Was in a church fire, when doing saturday school. After the fire, she starts to reserch a fire that happened in 1959. The book gets better half way through. Even if you hate to read, I think you will enjoy Burning Up By Caroline B. Cooney. Has a great ending that makes you think about the last sentence in the book. When you buy it, You won't regret it. GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    LOVE THIS BOOK!

    Macey ,a fifteen year old girl, has to do a project on history in her town. She is awestruck by a burned down building that she crosses everyday after school. She questions everyone about the night it was burned down, but can't get the answers! To her amazment, she find out that it belonged to the first black male teacher in her town. With the help of her friend Austin, she finds answers that she wasn't looking for. This book is great for anyone. It has prejudice and discrimination. I think the book would be great for black history month. This book shows you that everything isnt what it seems and no town is perfect! It really opens your eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2006

    One of the BEST books I've ever read

    Burning Up is one of the best books I've read. It was very interesting and made you think. It always left off with a great cliffhanger. I've never been much of a mystery reader, but this book got me hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    good book

    This book is about Macey Clare and her little town in Connecticut. She uncovers a secret about a fire that went around an old school teacher. She becomes kind of obsessed with the fire. Every one in town says let the sleeping dog lie. She also has a little fire of her own in the city. She meets Venita, a black girl, and starts a friendship. And her not-quite boyfriend Austin helps her through her problems while dealing with his own. It's a very good book I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Burning Up Review

    Burning Up is an excellent novel filled with many serious, and scary twists. 15 yr. old Macey and her neighbor, Austin, team up together to find info about a town mystery of a burnt down barn. With many well-written descriptions and well described feelings. It¿s filled with teamwork, love, and drama. This book is one of the most well written books I have read. In one part of the novel Cooney shows great descriptions of the harsh world of urban life. Burning up is a very good book for ages 12-16 with great descriptions teenagers can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Awesome Book for Teens

    What would you do if you friend was murdered? Fifteen year old, Macey had to deal with this, after her parents had moved out and she had been living with her grandparents. They became great friends when Macey¿s church group went to an innercity church to help restore it. While they were there a fired exploded in the church. Macey, Austin, Venita, and their friends were all painting and were trapped. Macey was the only one injured, she had minor burns and a small amount of hair. Venita and Macey then became great friends, although they had a racial difference. When the church returned and Macey¿s grandparents wouldn¿t let her go back. She then finds out that Venita was shot. She was torn and took out all of her anger on a school project. She started an investigation on the fire of 1959, which occurred in a barn down the street. The property, on the other hand, belonged to an African American. Her grandfather wouldn¿t even give her any information. Does she figure this mystery out? This book keeps the pages turning, by the good tone, easy pace, and great use of dialogue. This realistic fiction pulls you straight into the book, like you are really there. I think that this is one of the best books I have read. Caroline Cooney is a great author, I have read a lot of her books. She pulls you right into the story. I would prefer this book if you want a great fiction book with lots of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    This is a great book for anyone who enjoys some fun with words.

    Growing up with her grandparents, Macey lives a non-stop lie. How would you handle that? Well, Macey and her friend, Austin go under cover asking everyone she can about the fire on December 4, 1959. When a black teacher comes to Connecticut, the only housing avaliable is an apartment over a garage. Against the odds, he faces racism, torture, and heartache but continues bravely to teach. Macey and Austin are continuously brought to the same question: Who started the fire? As they reach their question, they too are faced with problems of their own, emotional problems. Caroline B. Cooney is an awesome writer. The way she gives her character a life and so many feelings of their own will make you think you¿re there. She makes the story come alive and you¿ll be there in the action all the way! This book is spectacular and deceiving. I recommend this to anyone who loves a great realistic fiction story along with a little secretive romance. -Logan Spencer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    This is the best book I have read! It's interesting, and a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Burning Up

    Burning Up Delacorte Press 1999 230 pgs $15.95 Caroline B. Cooney 0-385-32318-2 Fire. The one word which seemed to rule Macey Clare's life. The fire of 1959, 1997, and her own fire, inside, with Austin. Follow the adventure of Macey as she bounces back and forth into the past, where many people think she doesn't belong. Macey Clare, a 15 year old high school student, spends a lot of time with her grandparents. Macey is assigned a local history project and she decides to investigate the burning of a barn in 1959. As Macey begins her search for answers she notices her grandparent's dodging her questions, as if they didn't want her to know the truth. A fire of her own in a broken down church building only leaves her wanting more answers. Macey takes a path for the truth, her true colors, and finds a winding road full of twists and hurdles. Follow Macey's adventures searching through truth, racism, new friendships, and love, which sometimes seem to intersect. Burning up is a very good book and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys getting caught up in the lives of characters. This book includes many situations you can relate, like the search for truth and the struggle of love and racism. It keeps you reading and wanting more in the finial search and answer of the truth. Macey finally finds her true colors and attempts to put out the fire that has overcome her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    not great

    it was horrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    What was this author thinking?

    The author of the book Burning Up is Caroline B. Cooney. I thought that this book was not very enjoyable. It was not very exciting, and it felt like it was dragging on. The characters were not very realistic because I couldn¿t even imagine them being caught in a fire. I was left wondering what they looked like, or even if they were even in the book. There was no humor in this book: it was boring. The plot was predictable, like after the fire when she found out about the arson. You knew right away that she would go and check it out. The theme of the story is the same old story, something bad happen, and the main character goes and checks it out. I had no emotional reaction to this book. I had to force myself to continue to read it. I really didn¿t like this book. I would not recommend this to anyone unless you want to read a book that won¿t keep your attention. This book is quite boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3