Customer Reviews for

Burning Up

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Burning up ( book review)

Author Charoline B. Cooney
When Macey goes to visit her grandparents she always takes the "shortcut" to get there. Everytime she runs by the foundation of burnt down barn. WHen her history teacher assigns a History report she decides to do a report on the barn...
Author Charoline B. Cooney
When Macey goes to visit her grandparents she always takes the "shortcut" to get there. Everytime she runs by the foundation of burnt down barn. WHen her history teacher assigns a History report she decides to do a report on the barn. What comes next is the digging up of the cities worst secrets.
When she decides to take on the project she also takes on a new friend Austin. First when they attend a community service project in the slums they become friends through a very interesting situation to say the least. What follows is alot of work and frustration between Macey Austin and the rest of the community. Bringing up past actions against the first African American teacher in the school in the late fifties. When her Grandparents are no help she does what ever it takes to avenge Mr. Silbeys accident and her friends death.
I recommend this to anybody looking for a mystery that keeps you guessing right up til the end. It is an easy read that you can follow and get into.

posted by harry76HF on March 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

this book stunk

I expected this book to be good. I thought there was going to be a good romance between Macey and Austin, but it turned out to be a dud. Dont' get me wrong, I love Carolyn B. Cooney, but this just wasn't her best book. I still have no idea why this book was rated 12 a...
I expected this book to be good. I thought there was going to be a good romance between Macey and Austin, but it turned out to be a dud. Dont' get me wrong, I love Carolyn B. Cooney, but this just wasn't her best book. I still have no idea why this book was rated 12 and up.It didn't have anyhting bad in it.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Amazingly Amazing

    Thank you, Mrs Spears for having me read this book for Literature Book Group Circles! I LOVE it! I recommend it to everyone. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!!!!!

    Burning Up is a very interesting book. There are two main characters, Austin and Macey who are neighbors and really good friends. This is the main summary Macey is assigned a local history project and thinks about doing the old barn fire in 1959. She is in a Saturday Group with her neighbor, Austin. They were going to paint Sunday School rooms, but it all went wrong. One minute they¿re cheerful and happy, the next they¿re panicking and running from a fire! Austin catches a glimpse at Macey and her hair is on fire! He puts it out with his t-shirt. After the fire everybody is stunned and in shock, but Austin isn¿t. He figures out that he¿s crazy about Macey. What he doesn¿t know is that she¿s crazy about him, too. Macey does more research on her project and finds a lot of information that doesn¿t help her. Then she finds the man who was living in the barn. He tells her to be her true colors. She figures out what that actually means and in the end she says the sentence that explains it all. ¿There are other fires to put out.¿ I think the message that the author, Caroline B. Cooney, was trying to make is that not everybody is perfect and always be caring and show your true colors, even though your family¿s true colors may not be the same. I think that this book is truly wonderful and amazing because Caroline B. Cooney sends out the right message by saying always care and show your true colors, plus not everybody is perfect. I would absolutely recommend this book to people who like adventures, laughs, and just a little bit of sadness. This book is perfect for preteens, teenagers, and even adults!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Burning Up

    This book was so good! I wish that Macey an Austin got together. They wouldve sounded like a great couple. Plus Macey and Autin sound really in love! xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    review of a lifetime

    My thought when I first got this book was that it sounded ok. When I started reading I could not stop. It was amazing. A real page turner. I'm definatly going to read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    LOVE THIS BOOK!

    Macey ,a fifteen year old girl, has to do a project on history in her town. She is awestruck by a burned down building that she crosses everyday after school. She questions everyone about the night it was burned down, but can't get the answers! To her amazment, she find out that it belonged to the first black male teacher in her town. With the help of her friend Austin, she finds answers that she wasn't looking for. This book is great for anyone. It has prejudice and discrimination. I think the book would be great for black history month. This book shows you that everything isnt what it seems and no town is perfect! It really opens your eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2006

    One of the BEST books I've ever read

    Burning Up is one of the best books I've read. It was very interesting and made you think. It always left off with a great cliffhanger. I've never been much of a mystery reader, but this book got me hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Awesome Book for Teens

    What would you do if you friend was murdered? Fifteen year old, Macey had to deal with this, after her parents had moved out and she had been living with her grandparents. They became great friends when Macey¿s church group went to an innercity church to help restore it. While they were there a fired exploded in the church. Macey, Austin, Venita, and their friends were all painting and were trapped. Macey was the only one injured, she had minor burns and a small amount of hair. Venita and Macey then became great friends, although they had a racial difference. When the church returned and Macey¿s grandparents wouldn¿t let her go back. She then finds out that Venita was shot. She was torn and took out all of her anger on a school project. She started an investigation on the fire of 1959, which occurred in a barn down the street. The property, on the other hand, belonged to an African American. Her grandfather wouldn¿t even give her any information. Does she figure this mystery out? This book keeps the pages turning, by the good tone, easy pace, and great use of dialogue. This realistic fiction pulls you straight into the book, like you are really there. I think that this is one of the best books I have read. Caroline Cooney is a great author, I have read a lot of her books. She pulls you right into the story. I would prefer this book if you want a great fiction book with lots of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    This is the best book I have read! It's interesting, and a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    Wow!!

    I'm a sophomore in High school now, but last year I needed to find a book to do my last book report of the year, and I was having trouble. So i went down to the local barnes and nobles and went in search of a book. I saw this book, and read the description on the back. I figured, hey it's a book, it'll do. Anyway, I started reading it, and I finished it in like literally 4 days. I thought it was an awesome book. It was very well written and showed much emotion and dedication. I loved the book. Anyway, after I read the book, i went back to the bookstore and looked in search of more books by Caroline B Cooney, and since then have read about 3 or4 more books of hers. Oh yeah, by the way, I ended up getting a 96 on my report.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Burn up with a good book!

    Burning up is a great book! I am doing it for a Language Arts book report. At first, I only picked it because it had 200 pages, but then I fell in love with the book. I think you should read Burning Up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    A burning review

    I thought the book '' Burning Up '' was a very interesting book because it had a lot of action and it showed a lot of emotions. When I say a lot of action I mean that it was about many diffenent topics. The characters were full of emotions that would come out at any time. This book was mostly about being honest and true to everyone.One of the characters suffers some life changing events,but some can be fixed but some can't.Overall I thought this book was awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2003

    Burning up rocks

    hey everyone, burning up is a great book!!!! i read it once and i fell in love with it. I am doing a book report for Language Arts and i choose the book burning up. i choose this book because it is the only book that inspires me. this book teaches me that' if you have a special someone and you think that they are perfect, well they really arnt. they can be someone that you think never does anything wrong, but your wrong because, they can do something that can harm the rest of your life!!!! but you just dont know it!!!!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2002

    " Great mistery with a twist of romance!"

    " I thought that this book was a good book because, their is romance, mistery, and a lesson of raceism. I would recomed this book to everyone."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2002

    THIS BOOK WAS THE BEST ONE I'VE EVER READ>>........

    I loves the book & i know that everyone says this ....but i really could'n put it down.....i woke up early on school mornings just so i could read it....it really was the best book i ever read....but IT HAD THE SUCKIEST ENDING EVER!!!!! i hope caroline b. is reading this b/c i want her to make a sequel...or another chapter about Aus & Macey.....i wanted them to have a happy ending to their relationship!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    Im a babe

    This was a great book for my english independent reading project! I am actually giving an oral on it in two days...what fun...my teacher is really mean and wierd and evil and i dont want to fail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2001

    I Loved This Book

    I loved this book! It was exciting and I never wanted to put it down! The whole time I was thinking if Macey would find out who started the fire and if her relationship with Austin would work out. I thought maybe it was her Grandparents but I never knew! I would recommend this book in a heartbeat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2001

    This book is hot in more ways than one

    This book is great! The title and cover attracted me to this book, but it was the plot that really got me hooked. I love how Cooney doesn't just use fire in the literal sense. Macey a great character, she has alot of heart. And the steamy romance between Macey and her neighbor Austin adds to the exciting plot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2001

    Hot!

    'Burning Up' was a wonderfully written book by Cooney. I loved how a simple school project turned out to be a family discovery for Macey. I loved the characters in this book. I liked the suspense and drama and also how Cooney managed a little bit of romance into the storyline between Macey and Austin. I literally could not put it down. You have to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2001

    Great Book

    The book was wonderful, outstanding, excellent, superb, super de duper, fabulous words cannot describe how wonderful this book is once I started it i couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2001

    Outstanding Book

    Burning Up is a wonderful story about a girl that lives in a rich town, and has to do reasearch on a local-history project. She decides to do it on a barn that burnt down not too long ago. This is a compelling story of a girl finding out about racism, friendship, and love. I really recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2