Customer Reviews for

Burning Up

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Burning up ( book review)

Author Charoline B. Cooney
When Macey goes to visit her grandparents she always takes the "shortcut" to get there. Everytime she runs by the foundation of burnt down barn. WHen her history teacher assigns a History report she decides to do a report on the barn...
Author Charoline B. Cooney
When Macey goes to visit her grandparents she always takes the "shortcut" to get there. Everytime she runs by the foundation of burnt down barn. WHen her history teacher assigns a History report she decides to do a report on the barn. What comes next is the digging up of the cities worst secrets.
When she decides to take on the project she also takes on a new friend Austin. First when they attend a community service project in the slums they become friends through a very interesting situation to say the least. What follows is alot of work and frustration between Macey Austin and the rest of the community. Bringing up past actions against the first African American teacher in the school in the late fifties. When her Grandparents are no help she does what ever it takes to avenge Mr. Silbeys accident and her friends death.
I recommend this to anybody looking for a mystery that keeps you guessing right up til the end. It is an easy read that you can follow and get into.

posted by harry76HF on March 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

this book stunk

I expected this book to be good. I thought there was going to be a good romance between Macey and Austin, but it turned out to be a dud. Dont' get me wrong, I love Carolyn B. Cooney, but this just wasn't her best book. I still have no idea why this book was rated 12 a...
I expected this book to be good. I thought there was going to be a good romance between Macey and Austin, but it turned out to be a dud. Dont' get me wrong, I love Carolyn B. Cooney, but this just wasn't her best book. I still have no idea why this book was rated 12 and up.It didn't have anyhting bad in it.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Very Mouth Watering

    Burning Up Jeff Weck, 1999, 230 pg., $5.50 Carolyn B. Cooney ISBN 0-440-226-2 ¿¿¿¿¿ This is a book with a lot of an emotion and heart behind it. This book takes place in a small quiet town in Connecticut that has a secret behind it one that there not about to be let fond out. This is not a book for the weary. With much knowledge behind the book you can tell they know what they¿re talking about. It¿s also a love story with the blossoming love between Austin and Macey. The book seems to emphasis nicknames too much every page there¿s Grac, Mac, or Aus. Still it doesn¿t make the book hearendus this is still a book with romantic suspense and seriousness to it by incorporating inner city violence into the mix. This is a constant roller coaster with loops, twists, and turns that will turn you emotionally upside down. The authors style is unmatched she keeps you turning the pages. You feel as your right there every step of the way thought every good, evil, horrible, and choragus step the character makes. As an example from the book As Austin and his friends were stuck in the burning church he thinks, ¿I don¿t deserve this I¿m rich and¿ white I don¿t deserve this.¿ This is one of those books you can¿t put down and shouldn¿t. This is really a tremendous book. That¿s why I gave it four stars. Robert Drury, 8th grade Willow Creek Middle School, Portage, Indiana

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    Wow!!

    I'm a sophomore in High school now, but last year I needed to find a book to do my last book report of the year, and I was having trouble. So i went down to the local barnes and nobles and went in search of a book. I saw this book, and read the description on the back. I figured, hey it's a book, it'll do. Anyway, I started reading it, and I finished it in like literally 4 days. I thought it was an awesome book. It was very well written and showed much emotion and dedication. I loved the book. Anyway, after I read the book, i went back to the bookstore and looked in search of more books by Caroline B Cooney, and since then have read about 3 or4 more books of hers. Oh yeah, by the way, I ended up getting a 96 on my report.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Burn up with a good book!

    Burning up is a great book! I am doing it for a Language Arts book report. At first, I only picked it because it had 200 pages, but then I fell in love with the book. I think you should read Burning Up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    A burning review

    I thought the book '' Burning Up '' was a very interesting book because it had a lot of action and it showed a lot of emotions. When I say a lot of action I mean that it was about many diffenent topics. The characters were full of emotions that would come out at any time. This book was mostly about being honest and true to everyone.One of the characters suffers some life changing events,but some can be fixed but some can't.Overall I thought this book was awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2003

    Burning up rocks

    hey everyone, burning up is a great book!!!! i read it once and i fell in love with it. I am doing a book report for Language Arts and i choose the book burning up. i choose this book because it is the only book that inspires me. this book teaches me that' if you have a special someone and you think that they are perfect, well they really arnt. they can be someone that you think never does anything wrong, but your wrong because, they can do something that can harm the rest of your life!!!! but you just dont know it!!!!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2003

    One of my many faves!

    This book is one of the best books I've read in a long time. It had parts that you didn't expect, and parts that you knew you were coming. I wasn't expecting much when I began the story, but the suspense picked up later on. I would recommend this to all my friends, but they've already read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    Not so hot

    This book could have been so much better than what it was meant out to be. I wanted more mystery than a lesson in racism. The mystery literally 'Burned Up.' It's not worth the dough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    burning up..

    it was okies..not the best..kinda boring.. especially the parts when shes talking about all tha history stuff..i juss kept on reading it bcuz..the back of the book made it sound so fun..so i expected it to get better..the onli exciting part was when she saw the news..and was wondering if it was venita..suspense..^^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2002

    " Great mistery with a twist of romance!"

    " I thought that this book was a good book because, their is romance, mistery, and a lesson of raceism. I would recomed this book to everyone."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2002

    This book is a great book!

    I think this book is the best, it's baste on a story about the differents between blacks and whites; and a girl named Macey. And she and her friend Austin helps her solve a mystary about a black teacher that taught in their town a couple of years ago. NOw back then was when blacks didn't have a lot of hiring jobs for them and he was lucky that he got this teaching job. The teachers name was Mr. Sibley he taught science at the school,and the school in their town and a lot of the parents didn't like him teaching there children because he was a black. The reason why they are wondering about this man was because a couple years ago their was a barn that got on fire and he lived upstairs in that barn. And in one of her classes they had to do a reaport about something in their town and she chose the barn because it was across the street from her grandparents. so she and austin go and ask people about if they knew anything about this guy and what happend. this is a great book so all of you should go and read this. and i would recommend this book to anyone that likes mystary books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2002

    THIS BOOK WAS THE BEST ONE I'VE EVER READ>>........

    I loves the book & i know that everyone says this ....but i really could'n put it down.....i woke up early on school mornings just so i could read it....it really was the best book i ever read....but IT HAD THE SUCKIEST ENDING EVER!!!!! i hope caroline b. is reading this b/c i want her to make a sequel...or another chapter about Aus & Macey.....i wanted them to have a happy ending to their relationship!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2002

    an ok book

    This book was fun to read but it dragged out everything and repeated itself to many times. That is all. WEEZER RULES Daniel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    Im a babe

    This was a great book for my english independent reading project! I am actually giving an oral on it in two days...what fun...my teacher is really mean and wierd and evil and i dont want to fail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2001

    I Loved This Book

    I loved this book! It was exciting and I never wanted to put it down! The whole time I was thinking if Macey would find out who started the fire and if her relationship with Austin would work out. I thought maybe it was her Grandparents but I never knew! I would recommend this book in a heartbeat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2001

    This book is hot in more ways than one

    This book is great! The title and cover attracted me to this book, but it was the plot that really got me hooked. I love how Cooney doesn't just use fire in the literal sense. Macey a great character, she has alot of heart. And the steamy romance between Macey and her neighbor Austin adds to the exciting plot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2001

    Hot!

    'Burning Up' was a wonderfully written book by Cooney. I loved how a simple school project turned out to be a family discovery for Macey. I loved the characters in this book. I liked the suspense and drama and also how Cooney managed a little bit of romance into the storyline between Macey and Austin. I literally could not put it down. You have to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2001

    Great Book

    The book was wonderful, outstanding, excellent, superb, super de duper, fabulous words cannot describe how wonderful this book is once I started it i couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2001

    Outstanding Book

    Burning Up is a wonderful story about a girl that lives in a rich town, and has to do reasearch on a local-history project. She decides to do it on a barn that burnt down not too long ago. This is a compelling story of a girl finding out about racism, friendship, and love. I really recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    Great Book

    Was very intresting. Loved the plot and how racial profiling was in the story. I would recommend this book to anybody!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2001

    YOU GOT TO READ THIS BOOK

    This book was so cool. I loved how it was kind of a love story but also a mystery. I thought this was almost a adventure. Macy reminded me of me! I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3