Customer Reviews for

Burning Up

Average Rating 4
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Burning Up Is Smoking HOT

    Burning Up by Susan Andersen delivers a snappy sexy story of love and second chances.

    Bad girl Macy O'James barely had the ink dry on her high school diploma when she bolted for the bright lights of LA. She left her mistaken bad reputation behind her and made a name for herself as a music video queen. Macy dropped everything to go home to Sugarville, Washington to help out her family. She knew it would be rough facing the town folks since they won't let her past die. But for Macy family comes first and she thinks she can put up with just about anything. Macy's is meets the fire chief Gabriel Donovan on her first night in town and boy does he gets her smoldering.

    Gabriel Donovan left the big city firefighting behind him for the much quieter work in Sugarville. He is a no fuse kind of guy and likes his woman calm and peaceful. Those two things do not describe Macy O'James. As much as he tries to ignore the spark between himself and Macy, they can't be in the same room without being scorched.

    Gabe and Macy give into desire thinking that if they fall into bed they can move on with their lives. Neither planned on anything beyond Macy's short time in Sugarville but they are surprised how quickly they are becoming to been something to each other. Can Gabe convince Macy to give her hometown and its people a second chance?

    Burning up is smoking hot. The chemistry between Macy and Gabe is hotter then any of the fires that Gabe puts out for a living. Both have past that have put up walls around their hearts and watching those walls tumble down is heart warming. This book is a must read for any romance fan. Susan Andersen writes books that are keepers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Really liked this bok

    Great dialogue, liked the chacters. This one is a hit!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    cute story

    cute story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    It was a great book but kinda disappointed it was only 266 pages. But thats just me, i like them longer. Despite the page length you dont miss out on a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Great read, just loved it.

    This book is wonderful. It is a part of a series and I recommend all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Quick fun read!

    This book had good concepts but it didn't do it for me in comparison to a few of her other ones. I liked how she tackled how people dealt with their not so great childhoods differently, how they grew and matured. I also liked the "don't underestimate people or judge them by their cover" issues. I enjoyed the aunt and uncle and sometimes wished there were more about them as well as some other supporting characters. The mystery behind the arson ended rather anti-climatically. And the romance was dragged out, borderline too frustrating, and not as hot as others she's written. I still love reading her books, and it's a good, fun, easy read in between heavier books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    You won't want to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Cute romance

    Pretty typical Susan Andersen - likeable characters, good chemistry, ending seemed a little rushef to tie everything up neatly *very enjoyabke quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One Hot Firefighter!

    This was my first book my Andersen and I loved it. And who doesn't love a sexy firefighter. The back story of Macey was sad at first but in the end she over come her insecurities and made out with the sexy man. This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Feel Good Book That Sizzles!

    This was my first Susan Andersen book. It was on a display at my local BN store, so I took a chance. Being that I have a fire chief of my own at home, I was curious to read how this brave and loyal man was portrayed. Susan does a good job of depicting the life of the chief and his crew. The sexual tension in this book manifests into a debacle of cocky dominance and sassy wistfulness. As Gabe and Macey slowly let the walls down around their hearts the story culminates into a fire storm of heart pounding pleasure and an intense love story that will have you rooting for this meant to be couple. I highly recommend this book for romantic readers. It has it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I really liked this book!

    I thought this was a fun, touching, romantic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Burning through the Pages

    I really liked this book. I thought that it was very good and I really liked the twist. I wasn't expecting any of what happened in the last fifty pages.

    I thought it was good but it was kind of predictable. I knew that they were going to fall in love and something was going to come between them, which is why the twist did so much for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    Totally recommend!

    I love Susan Andersen and all her books. This book is it for me. It is my new favorite. The characters were strong and the writing was sharp. I will definately reread this book over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    Very enjoyable!

    Not the best Susan Andersen book I have ever read, but still a very entertaining read. There were several small plot-lines going on in the book...a couple of which, I wish had been developed more. And there were a couple of twists that I didn't see coming at the end that made it interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OH>>>MY>>>GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ok this was one of the funniest books i have ever read! the main charaters Gabe and Macy were soo sweet i loved the fact that Macy slowly revealed her true self to Gabe and learned not to hide behind costumes and make up, and of course i like how gabe learned to release his "inner" fercity when it came to Macy XD but of course i also liked the second romance with Grace and jack so cool! this is my third book ive read by this author shes awsome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    Loved this book!

    This book is so good! It has romance, a little mystery and plenty of humor. I highly recomend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    heated contemporary romance

    Macy O'James was the outsider known as the Sugarville, Washington tramp who nobody was caught dead with due to guilt by association. Upon graduating from Sugarville High School, Macy immediately fled town. She became a steamy video star in Los Angeles though she never stripped.

    When her cousin is hurt in a car accident, Macy returns home to care of Janna as she recovers from her injuries. When she and the town's Fire Chief Gabriel Donovan meet, the attraction is ultra hot though he pretends to ignore her when his friend Deputy Sheriff Johnny Angelini pulls her over. His reasoning is to chill his desire is he has reinvented himself into a properly behaved adult since his wild childhood. However, neither he nor Macy can cool the ardor.

    Living up to its title, this is a heated contemporary romance starring two people with bad reputations falling in love. Though bad girls returning home with a reputation is not new, Susan Anderson provides a fast-paced tale; from the moment Angelini pulls the steamy video tramp star over, fans will enjoy Burning Up with Macy and Gabe as the heat is on in Washington State.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10