Customer Reviews for

Burning Wild (Leopard Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 380 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Fans will appreciate this deep shapeshifting tale as Christine Feehan is at the top of her game with Jake's saga

Leopard shapeshifter Jake Bannaconni's memories of his parents are that of unloving cold and abusive; only his great-grandfather showered him with genuine affection as the lad can smell a lie. He learned early on they would never love him as he knows why they had him, ...
Leopard shapeshifter Jake Bannaconni's memories of his parents are that of unloving cold and abusive; only his great-grandfather showered him with genuine affection as the lad can smell a lie. He learned early on they would never love him as he knows why they had him, but Cathy and Ryann underestimated how much power their offspring has compared to them.-----------

Jake's pregnant former girlfriend Shaina Trent is in a tragic car accident with another vehicle containing a new bride Emma Reynolds. Everyone dies except Emma; the fetus she carries, and the fetus Shaina carries. The paramedics at the scene deliver healthy Kyle, Jake's son. Perhaps it is the tragedy, but Jake and Emma share a connection so he persuades her to move into his place where she nurtures his offspring Kyle. However, she may not be safe as his odious parents have plans for their grandson.--------------------

The opening sequence in which readers see first hand how his parents treat Jake sets the tone of a strong urban fantasy romance as the abused neglected child becomes the adult. Emma is terrific as she displays patience with Jake and showers Kyle with love as if he is her child; in fact as Jake observes she treats both their kids as her own. Fans will appreciate this deep shapeshifting tale as Christine Feehan is at the top of her game with Jake's saga.--------------

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

The Male Lead is Abusive - And That is NOT Romance

I really enjoyed the first book in this series and was excited to read "Burning Wild". I was immediately confused that Feehan would choose to base the book in Texas with a brand new character when she had established an exciting world in "Wild Rain" with a great base o...
I really enjoyed the first book in this series and was excited to read "Burning Wild". I was immediately confused that Feehan would choose to base the book in Texas with a brand new character when she had established an exciting world in "Wild Rain" with a great base of male characters to work from. But I kept reading in hopes things would improve.

As the book progressed what bothered me most was that Jake, the male lead, is an abusive male. He never physically hurts Emma (though he outright tells her he has considered it to test her loyalty) but he is mentally, emotionally and sexually abusive. There is nothing romantic about it. He sets out at the beginning of their meeting to find ways to tie her to him. He admits that he doesn't want to love her but wants her to feel tied to him. Throughout the book he continually references using his child and her child as tools to make her stay with him. He talks about wanting to get her pregnant with more children again as a method to force her to stay with him. He also uses sex as a tool to make her stay. It was particularly disturbing that during their first time having sex she repeatedly tells him "no" and he continues anyway. I don't care if he is so amazing in bed that he can make her body respond - if a woman says no then it means no. I'm not opposed to rough sex or domination between partners - but this went too far. Then when Emma is almost raped by another his first response is about how he feels betrayed. The few times she is let off his property it inevitably ends with him shaming her and making threats.

Jake treats Emma as a possession and fully admits that he sees her that way. His behavior is inexcusable. The abuse he suffered as a child was horrible, but that does not give him permission to be an abuser himself. I refuse to forgive his abusive behavior and rotten treatment of Emma because in the last three pages he finally lowers himself enough to say the word love. In real life if a friend or sister was in this kind of relationship we would not call it romance, we would call it abuse. We shouldn't call the book romance either.

posted by 1739277 on August 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will appreciate this deep shapeshifting tale as Christine Feehan is at the top of her game with Jake's saga

    Leopard shapeshifter Jake Bannaconni's memories of his parents are that of unloving cold and abusive; only his great-grandfather showered him with genuine affection as the lad can smell a lie. He learned early on they would never love him as he knows why they had him, but Cathy and Ryann underestimated how much power their offspring has compared to them.-----------

    Jake's pregnant former girlfriend Shaina Trent is in a tragic car accident with another vehicle containing a new bride Emma Reynolds. Everyone dies except Emma; the fetus she carries, and the fetus Shaina carries. The paramedics at the scene deliver healthy Kyle, Jake's son. Perhaps it is the tragedy, but Jake and Emma share a connection so he persuades her to move into his place where she nurtures his offspring Kyle. However, she may not be safe as his odious parents have plans for their grandson.--------------------

    The opening sequence in which readers see first hand how his parents treat Jake sets the tone of a strong urban fantasy romance as the abused neglected child becomes the adult. Emma is terrific as she displays patience with Jake and showers Kyle with love as if he is her child; in fact as Jake observes she treats both their kids as her own. Fans will appreciate this deep shapeshifting tale as Christine Feehan is at the top of her game with Jake's saga.--------------

    Harriet Klausner

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Pleasant Surprise

    I have been disappointed in Feehans last couple of books, but this has turned that around. I thought it was better written than her recent ones and didn't have all the same phrases repeated over and over again. I couldn't put it down. It is a little bit more hard core in the sex department, though.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Burning Wild

    this is a great book. The sad childhood of a man who learns how to be a better man not just because of his wanting to be different than those who raised him but for the woman he wants. A woman who loses her husband only to find that the man who pulls her and her unborn child from a burning car brings life back to her. She helps to raise his child and teach him to be better man than he thought possible.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    First Feehan ever read, but it won't be the last!!!!!!!!

    The story was new, the characters were strong but sensitive, loving but sexual at the same time. The main characters would die for one another and the story was fabulous. Have purchased many, many more since this one and will continue to try her way of writing. Would recommend to anyone wanting to be one of those books readers who won't put it down until it is finished!!!!!!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book Christine has written yet!

    I love all of Christine's series and have read every book! This book has the same paranormal wonder as all her books have, but it almost feels like it was written by someone else. If you thought she had very strong alpha males before, wait till you meet her newest hero. She also shows that her heroines can be just as strong when needed. I have loved all of her books, but I know some have said her books have become a bit reduntent. If you are one of those, try "Burning Wild". You will find all the things you love about her books with a totally different flavor and twist.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    WOW

    Good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    need more of this series, These do not come out quick enough for

    need more of this series, These do not come out quick enough for me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    ONE OF HER BEST IN THIS SERIES

    Christine Feehan has outdone herself in this one. I really enjoyed the way this one moves so quickly. I was really impressed with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    I loved this book! I know the male lead is controlling but I rea

    I loved this book! I know the male lead is controlling but I really liked it, maybe because I'm such a controlling person that I enjoy the male character in my fantasies that way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    check it ouuuuutttttt

    i love this book so much. the action the passion all of it is amazing and always keeps you guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing!

    I loved this. Classic tale of the damaged hero redeemed by love, only better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    This book is a great beginning to the series.

    I started the Leopard Series with the last book so was hoping this book would be the start of a great series and it is. Ms Feehan has an excellent imagination and she brings her Leopard people to life in a creative and realistic manner. I hope she writes more about the Leopard people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book is a must read!!

    I found this book hot dangerious, and steamy.It is amazing to watch a woman tame a man's heart at the same time the man assumes he's a monster.Christine Feehan knows how to get you hooked on her books and make you coming back for some more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Win!

    All I can ever ask for in a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Great first book in series!!

    Earlier reviews stated that this was not the first book, however according to Christine Feehan's website it is. Loved the Dark Series & now a fan of Leopard Series!!!! Love Christine Feehan!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Super Hot, a must read!

    I'm a big fan of all Christine Feehans books. But I have to say her Leopard Series books rock! All of them are total page turners, I can't put them down when I'm reading them. They are all just so erotic, and exotic, I could read them over again and again. I can't wait till she writes another one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    Best damn book I ever read

    This book kept me up all nights. I coud not put it down. I loved the main charactors and the hot sex they had.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I have fallen in love with all of the characters

    I have read this book five times its like the story transports you to another relm. Its a keeper!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another good one from Christine Feehan!

    Even thou I really enjoyed her other Leopard Series books. This one I felt was far better than her other two books. I loved the two leads. And this story took time to developed. Their feelings for each other took years not weeks or months. I felt this relationship was more real. Christine Feehan hit this one out of the park.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you love paranormal romance ... this book is for you!

    Christine Feehan has a written three books about Leopards and all three of them are romantic, passionate, and so creative. Burning Wild is the 3rd book and you won't want to put it down! Can't wait for book #4!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11