Customer Reviews for

The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Series fan will want to read Rhyme's latest police procedural

    Police consultant and criminologist Lincoln Rhyme is a quadriplegic who uses his partner in life and work Amelia Sachs as his field eyes and ears. As a team they have solved more cases than healthy cops. His biggest issue is boredom, which is the state he is in right now; wishing he was in Mexico City where his nemesis Richard "Watchmaker" Logan is giving authorities a merry chase.

    Rhyme's ennui ends when he asks to consult on another case. A substation of Algonquin Consolidated Power and Light goes off line and the computer tries to get it running by diverting power from other locales. When another substation goes black, power is diverted to the original substation that went off line. That happens several times until a wire hanging out of a substation hits a bus destroying it and killing a passenger. This was an act of sabotage and it happens two more times. With the evidence so far gathered, Lincoln thinks a disgruntled employee performed the deed as the culprit is able to control substations. HSD and FBI believe terrorists are at work due to the electronic tech they find. When Lincoln reaches the end game, he realties how wrong he has been, but has no time to wallow as he must find a way to rectify his mistake.

    Series fan will want to read Rhyme's latest police procedural because he allows the audience to get close and personal with his inner most feelings; as he must decide between euthanasia, experimental surgery or the status quo. The mystery is cleverly executed and the suspense remains high throughout with the enthralled audience consistently kept off guard. The Burning Wire is Lincoln at his most complete best.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Must Read

    The closing story of The Watchmaker is one of Deaver's best works. A TRUE PROFESSIONAL, The Watchmaker is Rhyme's nemesis, the only perp to escape Rhyme's grasp...twice! The Watchmaker is the most diabolic pro hitter since the Coffin Dancer. No target is out of reach, no job is too hard. This book is GREAT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Burning Wire, an Electrifying Thriller!

    Electricity, we can't live with out it. We're as dependent on it as food, and the amount of information on electricity, the grid, and its technology in The Burning Wire reveals an enormous amount of research. I just hope none of the crazies reads it and decides to try some of the things Deaver devises. Linc works on two cases: one in Mexico with Kathryn Dance of the California Bureau of Investigation and Arturo Diaz, a commander of the Ministerial Federal Police to capture Richard Logan, the Watchmaker; and one in New York to capture and prevent an unknown perp from using the city's electrical infrastructure to kill. The target seems to be Algonquin Consolidated and its CEO Andrea, Andi, Jessen, and the motive seems to be personal, revenge for causing an employee to contract leukemia; however, things are not so simple. Lincoln, Amelia, and Ron, the Rookie, learn far more than they ever wanted to learn about electricity during the course of the investigation, and with every bit of information they learn, the stakes and tension build. Agent Fred Dellray goes contrary to character to take $100,000 of the FBI's money to pay an informant to look for leads; he feels he has lost his career when his informant fails to show. Fred's immediate superior is focused on the internet "Cloud Zone" and ignores all other avenues of investigation, including the street and Fred's CI's. The Burning Wire is truly frightening and a intense read, full of twists, turns, and mini-climaxes that end in a satisfying and hopeful conclusion. Definitely a keeper.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    All your favorites, back again

    I've been reading Deaver since the beginning, and I've always loved Lincoln Rhyme. This book was no different! Deavers twists two different cases (remember the Watchmaker?) into this thriller. I have to say the years I spent working for the power company helped me through parts of the tale, as the weapon of choice throughout the book is electricity (the Burning Wire - not a plot-buster.) Deaver's style draws you into one expectation after another; some rewarded, others not, so that the tale continues to make you guess. I wish Sachs and Dance had a stronger prescence here, but there are plenty of other well-written characters to move the tale along. Worth reading, if you've enjoyed the other Rhyme books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    I I love it so much i what to say

    I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Not the Best

    This Deaver book was very very boring. I kept trying to read it hoping it would take off. Hasn't yet. I give up!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    OUTSTANDING !!!!

    One of my FAVORITE suspense authors.
    And then add Lincoln Rhyme .... WIN WIN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Good, as always, for this genre. The characters keep adding layers in their relationships--a good thing.

    Deaver makes his characters come alive and manages to convey the action in a way that I doubt could ever be captured in a film! He somehow makes the tenseness leap off the page and into your mind. Perhaps the sign of a well-written mystery/thriller. Loved the "dangling participial" of whether or not Lincoln will go for broke in his recovery and what will be the ultimate outcome? I never miss a new Lincoln Rhyme. Also always timely in the crime du jour. Well researched, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    There are no words to describe how awesome this book is!!!

    It took me a long time to get through this book because I haven't had a lot of time to read lately but like any Lincoln Rhyme novel it was fantastic and I learned a lot like I usually do reading his books.

    The best thing about Jeffery Deaver is the simple fact that he is unparalleled in complex multi-layered plots. Some forensic novels can get overwhelming in the science. Some of his earlier novels in the series would do that because it was all new but at this point in the series it's more about the characters and catching the bad guys.

    More than once I felt myself holding my breath in suspense and once again he surprised me at the ending.

    Amazing author and amazing book. If you like this series it's a MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Jeffery+Deaver+at+his+best.

    Another+episode+with+Lincoln+Rhyme+and+Amanda+Sachs.+Set+in+New+York+City+and+centered+around+the+power+grid+that+we+all+rely+upon+and+it%27s+potential+as+a+terrorist+or+assasin%27s+tool.+Mr.+Deaver+never+fails+to+keep+me+entertained+and+guessing+with+his+well+planned+plots.+I+look+forward+to+his+next+novel+as+I+have+since+%22The+Bone+Collecter%22.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Great Read!

    fasr paced, entertaining. Lincoln Ryhme books are always enthralling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Disapointing.

    This may make me say "Goodby" to Jeffrey Deaver. I usually like the Lincoln Rhyme novels.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Good book!

    I love the Lincoln Rhyme series and while I liked some other of Deaver's books better, this was still a really good read. I enjoyed the suspense and also the dialogue between Rhyme and the other characters. Interesting look into how exactly electricity works. I would recommend all of Deaver's novels as well as the Jack Reacher series by Lee Child. You may also enjoy Night over Water by Ken Follet and the Cork O'Connor series by William Kent Krueger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not worth buying.

    When I saw this was a Lincoln Rhyme book, I bought it before reading the subject matter. It requires the knowledge of college level courses regarding electricity to understand the plot of this book. What has happened to Jeffrey Deaver? He is also writing Rhyme as obnoxious, petty, and close to being verbally abusive to everyone, including Amelia. Perhaps this book could have been saved if he had stopped with the explanation of all things electrical, and written more depth to his characters. I'm not sure if I will read another Deaver novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    not that great

    I'm quite disappointed in this latest Jeffery Deaver. I read it today but could not deal with the last 15 pages. I miss his older style, ideas and maybe I'm slightly over Rhyme and Sachs? I am taking a JD break and will stick to getting him in paperback from now on...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hardly A Shocker

    For me, this book was a slog of a read. I skipped over most of the dreary details that only a lineman needs to know, and still found little to like in the story. Too bad they killed off that guy from Scottsdale, he was one of the few likable characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It has a good hook.

    Deaver's latest hooks the reader early with the power of electricity and is an enjoyable read. I got a bit bogged down in the middle with 90 some pages of forensic/CSI minutiae that loses my interest when it's the primary focus. He is a master with plots and outlines, but I wish he'd spend more time writing and developing characters--I want to root for Rhyme more but he's mostly a surly crab while Sachs is so emotionless. I found myself wanting more of the villain while we trudged through the nerdy CSI stuff that you know won't lead to his capture. I love his multiple plot twists. A good novel overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    A good beach or rainy day read!

    This novel is entertaining and provides great escapism. It's not necessarily something to keep in the permanent library, but it is a book you might share with friends and is definitely a book for Lincoln Rhyme fans! The characters are those that we are familiar with and have come to enjoy. Expect a fast-paced thriller and you won't be disappointed. For those who have never read Deaver - I think you'll find a new author to enjoy, however, I suggest reading some of the earlier books featuring Lincoln Rhyme. You'll appreciate the characters, their development and story-line more if you read some of the other stories first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Captures the Reader

    The new Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs thriller captures the attention of the reader immediately as you imagine what could happen if some evil mastermind took over the electricity in the U.S. This is a book that you can't put down until you finish it...and the Nook's power lasted all the way to the very satisfying end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    Ridiculous Story

    The Burning Wire has got to have the most ridiculous plot ever. Not even Tom Clancy or Vince Flynn ever came up with using electricity as a weapon of death. Please Jeffery Deaver stop the technodribble because its getting silly.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13