Customer Reviews for

Burnt Mountain

Average Rating 3
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

an entertaining southern drama

In Atlanta, seventeen year old Thayer Wentworth is pregnant, but prenatal tests show that her unborn is severely malformed. Though she is heartbroken, she chooses an abortion. Thayer goes on to college where she meets and is attracted to extroverted storyteller Dr. Ae...
In Atlanta, seventeen year old Thayer Wentworth is pregnant, but prenatal tests show that her unborn is severely malformed. Though she is heartbroken, she chooses an abortion. Thayer goes on to college where she meets and is attracted to extroverted storyteller Dr. Aengus O'Neill. They marry.

When Thayer's affluent grandmother dies, she inherits her incredible Atlanta home not far from Burnt Mountain's Camp Edgewood where her father died in a car accident. She and Aengus take up residence in the luxurious mansion. However, he begins to recall upsetting memories from his childhood in Ireland that disturbs Thayer who fears her husband is losing his mind. At the same time she looks into has past at her mom and her first love Nick Abrams who broke her heart at Camp Sherwood Forest in North Carolina.

Burnt Mountain is an entertaining southern drama that fans of the author will enjoy. Thayer is an intriguing individual facing relationship issues. The story line is at its best when the focus is entirely on the heroine's inner turmoil although too many subplots are left dangling. Still she has decisions to make even if happenchance assists her on the most critical. Although not Anne Rivers Siddons's best work, readers will still appreciate touring the North Carolina Mountains with Thayer as their guide.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Burnt Out?

Let me begin by saying I am a major fan of Ms. Siddons, having read every one of her novels. And while I looked forward to reading this her latest book, I must admit it was a disappointment. While the writing is classic Siddons, the plot is anything but. The beginning i...
Let me begin by saying I am a major fan of Ms. Siddons, having read every one of her novels. And while I looked forward to reading this her latest book, I must admit it was a disappointment. While the writing is classic Siddons, the plot is anything but. The beginning is believable, if only predictable, but when it gets into Celtic mysticism the story becomes derailed. The character change in Aengus was so weird that it was not plausible and what precipitated it was not really explained, leaving too many questions unanswered. Due out last year, the publishing date was postponed many months so my assumption is that Siddons herself, struggled with this one. I won't go into any more details so as not to spoil it for other readers. I only hope that this is just a temporary slump & Siddons will be back in form with her next book.

posted by llamamia on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an entertaining southern drama

    In Atlanta, seventeen year old Thayer Wentworth is pregnant, but prenatal tests show that her unborn is severely malformed. Though she is heartbroken, she chooses an abortion. Thayer goes on to college where she meets and is attracted to extroverted storyteller Dr. Aengus O'Neill. They marry.

    When Thayer's affluent grandmother dies, she inherits her incredible Atlanta home not far from Burnt Mountain's Camp Edgewood where her father died in a car accident. She and Aengus take up residence in the luxurious mansion. However, he begins to recall upsetting memories from his childhood in Ireland that disturbs Thayer who fears her husband is losing his mind. At the same time she looks into has past at her mom and her first love Nick Abrams who broke her heart at Camp Sherwood Forest in North Carolina.

    Burnt Mountain is an entertaining southern drama that fans of the author will enjoy. Thayer is an intriguing individual facing relationship issues. The story line is at its best when the focus is entirely on the heroine's inner turmoil although too many subplots are left dangling. Still she has decisions to make even if happenchance assists her on the most critical. Although not Anne Rivers Siddons's best work, readers will still appreciate touring the North Carolina Mountains with Thayer as their guide.

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Burnt Out?

    Let me begin by saying I am a major fan of Ms. Siddons, having read every one of her novels. And while I looked forward to reading this her latest book, I must admit it was a disappointment. While the writing is classic Siddons, the plot is anything but. The beginning is believable, if only predictable, but when it gets into Celtic mysticism the story becomes derailed. The character change in Aengus was so weird that it was not plausible and what precipitated it was not really explained, leaving too many questions unanswered. Due out last year, the publishing date was postponed many months so my assumption is that Siddons herself, struggled with this one. I won't go into any more details so as not to spoil it for other readers. I only hope that this is just a temporary slump & Siddons will be back in form with her next book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    Very disappointing!

    Full of undelivered potential. The characters were quite interesting but the story was very disjointed. I felt let down when the story ended abruptly with an epilogue instead of story completion. There were too many unresolved story lines. I have been a Siddons fan for years and have read all her books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    I am disappointed.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Really terrible

    The worst anne rivers siddons book i have ever read. What a letdown and a waste of money

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    very unsatisfying

    The plot was absurd and at the end it totally feel apart into nonsense.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Alright

    I adore this author. I've enjoyed everything written by her. But this book was disappointing. Strange ending, and not a good kind of "strange."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Big Disappointment

    Having read many books by this author, I was looking forward to a slightly formuleic but satisfying Southern novel-the set up was there but the ending blew-i think she had a deadline and just rushed it. This was a waste of money and time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Somewhat simple... no substance

    This was my first book by Anne Rivers Siddons. I read it for a book club that I attend. It did not keep my interest and I found that it lacked "guts" and substance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Simply Awful

    What a huge disappointment. The worst book she has written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Not worth reading

    I rarely write reviews, but I often read them. I wish I had read the reviews before wasting my money on this book. I thought the first half of the book was well written and had good potential, but then the plot, characters, and story essentially walked the reader off a cliff. The ending seemed to just suddenly appear with very little resolution. I was left feeling cheated as if someone had ripped out several chapters. In fact, I threw the book away rather than giving it to a friend or good will.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Sickening

    I felt sickened by the outcome of this marriage. In this respect I would have to call it a powerful story.
    But Aengus Oneill is a pervert and for that reason I found the book vulgar. It is a dark, dark book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    any book by Siddons promises to be a great read...

    Reviewed by Janet J for Readers Favorite


    Natalie Goldberg makes this comment about southern writers: ¿Often when a southerner reads, the members of the class look at each other, and you can hear them thinking, gee, I can't write like that. The power and force of the land is heard in the piece. These southerners know the names of what shrubs hang over what creek, what dogwood flowers bloom what color, what kind of soil is under their feet."

    ¿I tease the class, ¿Pay no mind. It's the southern writing gene. The rest of us have to toil away.¿¿

    And on the subject of southern women, Blanche McCrary Boyd says: ¿My sister says Southerners are like other people, only more so."

    Anne River Siddons¿ "Burnt Mountain" paints detailed portraits of three generations of one family of southern women: Grand (grandmother), Crystal, her daughter-in-law, and Crystal¿s daughters Lily and Thayer. Crystal and Lily are more like sisters; Thayer resembles her father and Grand in her face and in her soul. They are all, as Boyd says, strong personalities who are like other people, only more so.

    After her father¿s untimely death due to an auto accident, Thayer lives in numbed misery, feeling unloved by anyone other than Grand, until she finds peace, exuberance and freedom at summer camp in the North Carolina mountains. However, her last summer there, when she is seventeen, ends in tragedy, betrayal and heartbreak. In a daze, Thayer goes on to attend a liberal arts college high in the mountains of Tennessee, only returning to her true nature when she meets Angus, an unconventional and passionate Irish professor, whose personality seems bigger than life.

    Crystal¿s lifelong ambition is to live among the ¿right people¿ in Atlanta, which she sees as her only possible destiny. When circumstances disappoint her, she grooms Lily, her favorite, for the perfect high society life of a southern woman. Instead, Lily elopes with a football player named Goose.

    It is Thayer who inherits with Grand¿s stately home just outside of Atlanta, where every day in the summer she and Angus hear the children singing on the bus that is headed for the nearby summer camp on Burnt Mountain. This brings unsettling and haunting memories of summer camp and her father¿s death on the mountain to Thayer. At the same time "Burnt Mountain" pulls Angus deeper and deeper into its dark forests and their promise of ancient magic.

    As always, Siddons¿ prose is lush and richly descriptive. Her characters are flawed, colorful and believable. She infuses the book with vivid sensory images of the south and its traditions.

    This audio version is well done. The story itself works well until the last section of the book, when I felt there was a jarring disconnect leading to the rather bizarre and confusing ending, which didn¿t seem to fit with the rest of the carefully constructed plot. It feels as if several chapters of critical plot development are missing for the reader who is deeply involved in the story.

    Still, the book is well worth reading, and perhaps the reader¿s imagination can guide their interpretation of the storyline on a more logical path to the conclusion.

    I am a great admirer of Siddons' work ("Peachtree Road", etc.) and I look forward to reading more of her books. With the rich combination of southern locales and characters and her gift for storytelling, any book by Siddons promises to be a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Not her best work

    This is probably the fifth or sixth Anne Rivers Siddons book I have read. I loved the others, but did not like this one at all. Most of the characters were just unlikable and the plot became very choppy towards the end. Not a very satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    This was the first book I have read by the author. It moved a

    This was the first book I have read by the author. It moved along with some good plot twists and turns until the ending then it became silly. You go from this young woman who is in love with a man who becomes a lunatic. It was a very strange ending and as I said before silly. Was there sexual abuse happening at the camp, were the boys becoming robots under the spell of Aengus? It really was a rediculous ending. Then all of a sudden Thayer's camp boyfriend comes back into her life. If this is an example of Ms. Siddon's writing then I think this will be my only book that I will read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Silverpaw

    Hids in the shadows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Snow

    Pads to result 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Southern places

    Such an odd cast of character. Strange people and magic places. good read. again on my beach reading list because I will read this again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Not as good as other Anne River Siddons books

    Not as good as most of Anne Rivers Siddons books. She is one of my favorite authors and I have always loved her books, but this one doesn't stack up to her others. In fact, it didn't seem as if I was reading one of her books as I read it. It was rather a strange story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Did you read this?

    Thayer did not choose an abortion. She was clueless. She thought her mother was taking her to the doctor to confirm her pregnancy. Her mother arranged the abortion without her consent. The baby was not malforned. That was a lie her mother told her. She was tricked into being anesthetized and aborted without her knowledge or consent Her response to this? Cry and go to bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6