Customer Reviews for

Burnt Mountain

Average Rating 3
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

an entertaining southern drama

In Atlanta, seventeen year old Thayer Wentworth is pregnant, but prenatal tests show that her unborn is severely malformed. Though she is heartbroken, she chooses an abortion. Thayer goes on to college where she meets and is attracted to extroverted storyteller Dr. Ae...
In Atlanta, seventeen year old Thayer Wentworth is pregnant, but prenatal tests show that her unborn is severely malformed. Though she is heartbroken, she chooses an abortion. Thayer goes on to college where she meets and is attracted to extroverted storyteller Dr. Aengus O'Neill. They marry.

When Thayer's affluent grandmother dies, she inherits her incredible Atlanta home not far from Burnt Mountain's Camp Edgewood where her father died in a car accident. She and Aengus take up residence in the luxurious mansion. However, he begins to recall upsetting memories from his childhood in Ireland that disturbs Thayer who fears her husband is losing his mind. At the same time she looks into has past at her mom and her first love Nick Abrams who broke her heart at Camp Sherwood Forest in North Carolina.

Burnt Mountain is an entertaining southern drama that fans of the author will enjoy. Thayer is an intriguing individual facing relationship issues. The story line is at its best when the focus is entirely on the heroine's inner turmoil although too many subplots are left dangling. Still she has decisions to make even if happenchance assists her on the most critical. Although not Anne Rivers Siddons's best work, readers will still appreciate touring the North Carolina Mountains with Thayer as their guide.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Burnt Out?

Let me begin by saying I am a major fan of Ms. Siddons, having read every one of her novels. And while I looked forward to reading this her latest book, I must admit it was a disappointment. While the writing is classic Siddons, the plot is anything but. The beginning i...
Let me begin by saying I am a major fan of Ms. Siddons, having read every one of her novels. And while I looked forward to reading this her latest book, I must admit it was a disappointment. While the writing is classic Siddons, the plot is anything but. The beginning is believable, if only predictable, but when it gets into Celtic mysticism the story becomes derailed. The character change in Aengus was so weird that it was not plausible and what precipitated it was not really explained, leaving too many questions unanswered. Due out last year, the publishing date was postponed many months so my assumption is that Siddons herself, struggled with this one. I won't go into any more details so as not to spoil it for other readers. I only hope that this is just a temporary slump & Siddons will be back in form with her next book.

posted by llamamia on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an entertaining southern drama

    In Atlanta, seventeen year old Thayer Wentworth is pregnant, but prenatal tests show that her unborn is severely malformed. Though she is heartbroken, she chooses an abortion. Thayer goes on to college where she meets and is attracted to extroverted storyteller Dr. Aengus O'Neill. They marry.

    When Thayer's affluent grandmother dies, she inherits her incredible Atlanta home not far from Burnt Mountain's Camp Edgewood where her father died in a car accident. She and Aengus take up residence in the luxurious mansion. However, he begins to recall upsetting memories from his childhood in Ireland that disturbs Thayer who fears her husband is losing his mind. At the same time she looks into has past at her mom and her first love Nick Abrams who broke her heart at Camp Sherwood Forest in North Carolina.

    Burnt Mountain is an entertaining southern drama that fans of the author will enjoy. Thayer is an intriguing individual facing relationship issues. The story line is at its best when the focus is entirely on the heroine's inner turmoil although too many subplots are left dangling. Still she has decisions to make even if happenchance assists her on the most critical. Although not Anne Rivers Siddons's best work, readers will still appreciate touring the North Carolina Mountains with Thayer as their guide.

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Silverpaw

    Hids in the shadows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Southern places

    Such an odd cast of character. Strange people and magic places. good read. again on my beach reading list because I will read this again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    GO BACK TO BLOOD BONE

    Now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Camp

    Still at soot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Darkkit

    Yolo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    To Brambleberry

    I appreciate your help and all and i uderstand you being locked out but you had no right to say a move. You are not in charge of that. So next time please ask or move to the next res.-kestrelmoon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Brambleberry

    She is very suspicious. I saw you try to muder those two cats. Why should I help you, if you tried to kill them? It doesen't make much sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Courtney------Things I forgot--------

    |Wolf Form| A pure white Omega wolf with eletric blue eyes|Personality| Rebellious. Tomboy. Funny. Happy. Suidical. Sadtastic. Loopy. Mental|

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Louis

    Name: Louis Peters. Gender: male. Age: irp 18 irl 17. Eye color: deep green with blue lining. Hair: light brown kinda long slight wavy. Likes: most everything. Dislikes: sl.uts...annoying ppl and spinach. Personality: fun....sweet...caring...protective...quiet at times

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Smugekit

    Giggles as she slides

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Blazekit

    Now its fun the way down look thats blazclan down we can slide down*slides down the mountain to result 1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Candace-Description/Bio

    Name: Candace Anastasia Knoll Gender: -.- If you really can't figure this one out...you are beyond help. Nick Names: Candy, Candy Cane, She-Who-Is-Awesome Height: 6,10 Yes, I am a bit tall. Weapon(s): Frying pan, golden dagger Species: Wolf shapeshifter. Personality: Goofy, random, out-going, feircely loyal to my friends, can be moody on certain rare occasions Friends: Daniel, Zane, Chris, Louis, Swag, Sakura, Miranda, Gabe? (Why are so many of mah fwiends DEWDS?????) Enemies: nonexistant. Likes: People, smiling, being goofy, hitting people with frying pans, Monty Python, Harry Potter, Hugger Games, Hunger Games, cows, unicorns, Oregon Ducks, ducks in general, ninjas, happiness, steak, pandas, Divergent, Daniel Radcliff, Emma Watson, green, blue, neon, turtles, NOVA, socks and much more... Dislikes: Green beans. Description: I am, as I already said, tall. I also have fairly long legs. Light brown, slightly curly hair, emerald green eyes flecked with gold. I have a fairly tan complexion, spotted with a few freckles. Wolf Description: A pure white she wolf with the same emerald green eyes, distinguishable only by my/its Oregon Ducks cap. Clothing/Outfit/Whatever: A green t-shirt with various quotes, patches, and pictures plastered/written/glued/taped on it, skinny jeans ripped at the knees, neon blue sneakers covered in names and quotes, and my trademark Oregon Ducks cap. (Nu. Im no fashion queen. I don't try to be.) Extras: A silver locket hanging around my neck and a golden watch. Tattoos: A pheonix surrounded by orange flames and a tiny symbol of the Deathly Hallows. Occupations: Sister, friend, girlfriend, actress, athlete, cheer-upper, weilder-of-frying pans, lover-of-cows, awesome person, etc. Favorite Quotes: "I do know everything, I just cant remember it all at once."-Unknown "I WILL NOT CALM DOWN!!!!"-Hermione Granger "If we die for them, Harry, I'll kill you!"-Ron Weasly "Well I'm going to bed before either of you get us killed, or worse, expelled."-Emma Watson/Hermione Granger "If you want your children to be intellegent, read them fairy tales. If you want your children to be more intellegent, read them more fairy tales."-Albert Einstein "Keep calm, and lets go kill Voldemort."-Unknown "Moo."-A Cow....Anyways, THATS ME FOR YA!!!!!! If ya don't like it...tough jellybeans. Well, if you made it this far, wow...then you my friend, have a very long attention span...anyways, if this thing even posts, Im hoping to use up all th characters. Don't ask...I set random goals for myself...but for those of you who don't know, it is possible to go into the negative numbers, character wise...of course you can't post it but its still kinda cool...this is a really long post...by now I'm sure you're extremely tired of listening to me rant on about myself....well....tha part is over, but if im gonna use up all the characters, then i hav to keep posting...this is all very idiotic i realize now. I'll work on a very complicated exit...THAT'S IT FOLKS!!!!! THANKS FOR STAYIN' WITH ME!!!!! *Hunger Games salutes an invisible crowd then waves while walking off a nonexistant stage* Seconds later...*a bunch of screaming is heard back stage aong with a bloodcurdling moo, then a cow with a frying pan hooked on one horn runs across the stage, followed by Candace, leisurely picking jellybeans out of her hair* Well....BUH BAI FOR NOW!!!!! IF YOU HVE ANY QUESTIONS I WILL BE AT SCARLET LETTER...so now Adios, Toodle-oo, Oodle-too, snoitatulas (salutations) BUH BAI

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Autumn--forgotten other things--

    Hobbies: horseback riding, archery, reading, sketching/drawing, blsh blah blah. Mistakes: i wil never rp at moby dick. Sentence you might npt have understood: you can have yo werewolfs and,ect ect People you might remeber that were once her: Rose, Avalon, and Mia. THAT IS ALL!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Rose's info

    **NAME**- Rose **AGE**- 14 **HEIGHT**- 5'4" **CRUSH**- not telling. But I do have one. **RELANTIONSHIP STATUS**- single **DESCRIPTION**- medium blonde hair, with hazel eyes. With a silghtly curvy body, is more althectic looking with a flat stomach. Has a blue rose tatoo on her ankle. And a heart with stiches above her chest on the left side.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Dani, Tj, and Carter......changes

    Dani's dating Jacob and Carter's dating Shirley. Tj: DANI!! YOU FORGOT ABOUT MEH!! Dani: Nothing's changing about you. Ok......that's it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Claudia's pets

    Sparkle: fire breathing flying arctic fox; snowy: siberian husky that shoots icy wind outa her mouth; bigfoot: small dragon who shoots any type of food outa his mouth; glitter: white pegacorn with glitter in her tail mane and hooves; silverleaf: all white shecat with blue eyes grey chest tail tip and right front paw also has wings- mate: oreo: black and white tom with blue eyes- kits -shadowkit: black shekit with amber eyes; lilykit: mini version of her mom; moonkit: white tom with patches of cream on his pelt and yellow eyes.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Deme (Description.)

    Name: Deme Gracecey DelaCruze. (Pronounced Dem-MAY.) Personality: Bright and happy. Likes to cheer Calla up. Family: Calla. Kev. Big sister and little brother. I'm the middle child. Looks: Wavy deep brunette (almost black) hair that reaches her lower back. Big green eyes. Slim, curvy-ish figure.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2