BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee: The Illustrated Edition: An Indian History of the American West

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee - a most moving reprint

I think I need to read Dee Brown's book, Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, every year or two in order to remind myself of the cruelty of those who came before us. Are we still a cruel nation? I am certain that those dealing with Native Americans in the 19th century felt ...
I think I need to read Dee Brown's book, Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, every year or two in order to remind myself of the cruelty of those who came before us. Are we still a cruel nation? I am certain that those dealing with Native Americans in the 19th century felt there were not; but this book, most of it told from the perspective of Native Americans, screams that many were indeed cruel. Many American leaders, military, and citizens had no respect for the rights of Native American and they took not only their lands, but their very souls as they marched across the American continent. Though many of the pictures and art work do not always portray these native people naturally, they do add to a better understanding of the story that Mr. Brown wanted us to discover - "often another person's perspective is different from my own." Peace can only be achieved universally if we begin to understand that we are all different and should be treated with respect as to our own beliefs and life styles.

posted by KyLady on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is just one of those IMHOpinion comments, the Euro-american

This is just one of those IMHOpinion comments, the Euro-american
population will NEVER truely understand. Reading factual history may
educate the open minded on the "American Genocide". The Nde
did not learn from books, nor did my relatives, such as the Lakota...
This is just one of those IMHOpinion comments, the Euro-american
population will NEVER truely understand. Reading factual history may
educate the open minded on the "American Genocide". The Nde
did not learn from books, nor did my relatives, such as the Lakota, the
Navaho, the Paiute, etc ..all learned from our parents and or our
grandfathers, as they learned from theirs. I am glad that non-Natives
wish to learn the truth, and not remain blind to the truth. The one
sided supposed "history" taught in schools is close to
fiction, and if the truth is being brought into the education system I
say "it's about time". People should be appalled at the
atrocities committed, my own people, The Nde' were hunted and killed
right down to every man, woman, and even infants YET we remain.....hozho
nas lii (walk in beauty and peace ).

posted by One_Picky_Reader on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Awesome! A must read!

    I'm not much of a reader, but this book was unbelievable! I couldn't put it down. The accounts of history with all of the different tribes across the country were very detailed and exciting. It's history with a catch of story telling. It will captivate you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    How The West Was Really Won

    As a young man in the early seventies, reading this book stripped away once and for all the Hollywood mythology of the American West. Dee Brown has a genuine affection for the land and its peoples and it shows!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    American Patriots

    I read this book for a class assignment in my high school junior year. I believe that the graphic description of the patriotism of the American Indians followed by the bloody massacre at Sand Creek should be forever emblazoned in the minds of all Americans

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2000

    Facing The Truth

    I had never had a book impact my life as much as 'Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee'. The story line is based on excellent facts, and I had a difficult time putting this one down (in fact I've read it three times!). I am ashamed and embarrased of my white history. Reading this book was a hard awakening, but this is one book that I feel every white American should read. I was proud of the American Indians and cried with them as I read the gripping stories in this well written novel. I don't believe anyone has done better by the American Indian history than Dee Brown.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Everybody Should Read This

    Really enlightening and easy to read, covers primarily 1860-90, something from each of the regions in the U.S., some of the major figures involved (all sides), and ultimately how Native Americans were pushed onto reservations. Some things I definitely did not know, and it is much more informative than most versions of U.S. history taught to us in school. It was great to get an idea of the Native perspective on many of these country changing events. This was recommend to me by a woman I am in a non-fiction book club with, and I in turn now highly recommend this one as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    A tragic and heartbreaking true story. I did not realize the tr

    A tragic and heartbreaking true story. I did not realize the true extent of the mistreatment of the Native Americans by the settlers until I read this book. Most of the Native American tribes along with this land's natural resources were systematically destroyed by the U.S. Army and government because of greed.

    Well edited. It is a history book so I did find it a bit dry in places. Lots of great pictures of the Native Americans depicted in this book. Would recommend this historical classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Excellent Book

    I enjoyed it very much, very insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    This should be required reading for all Americans!

    This book is a classic by Dee Brown, one of many related to the settling of the West. Like all his books, it is impeccably researched and quite readable. I can't recommend it highly enough. Once you read it, you will rush (as I did) to read his other work.

    Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee details the many ways and many times that the US government lied to, attacked, and attempted to exterminate the Native American population of the Western US. I recently heard the term genocide applied to this period of US history and once you read this book, I think you will agree that it is very appropriate.

    I now have an entirely different perspective on the challenges which continue to rear their ugly head in the US Native American saga.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Fabulous book

    I'd heard about this all my life and didn't think I wanted to read it, but it's like Howard Zinn's People's History of the United States: you finally get to hear the Indian experience of it, and it ain't pretty. Makes you ashamed to be a white American.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    bury my heart at wounded knee

    would like someone to lend me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    A U.S. History Book Report Review; very good read.

    Heart broken: crushed with sorrow or greif. This is exactly how I felt after reading this book. It truly shows the horrors of what happend during the removal of Native Americans in the United States. This s a very touching book and really makes you think "what if this happend to me or my family?"
    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes history and learning about Native Americans. There is so much history packed into the pages of this book. For me, I liked it that way but other people may not enjoy it as much.
    Overall, I would say this book is a must read. It talks about a topic not necesarily known to as many people. None of the less, it is still an important event in our history and must never be forgotten. read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended for History or Everyday Read

    Edward Whitewolf Very Interesting Book Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee by Dee Brown Star Rating 5 Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee is a very interesting story about the Lakota Sioux in the late 1800s. This book gives a very detailed, story of what Native Americans had to put up with then, what they went through when the white man started lying to them, robbing their lands, and also murdering them. Dee Brown wrote an accurate story of what really happened, instead of the lies that have been told by the whites for years and years.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    AP World History Review; An Eye Opening Tragedy

    Dee Brown writes of the injustices done to the Native Americans by the invading whites. This book shows the Westward movement of the colonists from the Native American's point of view. Brown successful demonstrates the deception of the settler's and the evil brought on by the idea of Manifest Destiny. The book reveals the Native American's struggle against misrepresentation and deception. I would greatly recommend this book for those who have read elementary school, history book that shows the Native Americans as a petty resistance in the course to colonizing the West. Dee contradicts these history books that are slightly biased. the stereotype of the Native Americans being savages and the American generals being triumphant and glorious appears in most books and Dee Brown shows the other side of the story, the Native American's side.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    Buried My Heart As Well

    This is a probing and disturbing history of the American West and unveils in details the cruelity of man against man and especially white man against Native Americans. Hadn't felt such force within my soul since reading of the Cherokee Trail of Tears in Jerry Ellis' book, Walking the Trail, One Man's Journey Along the Cherokee Trail of Tears.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    What we didn't learn in school and aught to know

    This is a must read book for anyone interested in US history. Until reading this book in the mid 1970's my view of the west and native Americans came from John Wayne and John Ford westerns. This book changed forever my view of movie westerns and western iconography, and of the history of our western expansion. Besides being essential reading on US history it is also very well written, touching and engrossing. Each chapter can stand on its own. At the start of each chapter the author also provides a quick list of historical events occurring simultaneous to the events in the book, providing an interesting perspective on what follows. Please read Burry My Heart At Wounded Knee, you will be entertained and moved.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Made me Sad & Angry

    Even the most hardened person cannot read 'Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee' without crying and feeling angry while reading this remarkable book. It details, from the Native American point of view, the darkest and most shameful chapter in American history. I believe this book is the finest and most accurate account of the murder and destruction of the Native Americans. This book should be required reading for all students to learn about the real history of what happened to Native Americans.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2001

    Historic Reading

    This is a classic book that details a neglected part of American history. It shares insight to what the 'West' was really like rather than the westerns we see. Brown does a wonderful job writing this book. It read well full of timely perceptions and stories filled with sadness and moral teachings. I highly recommend this book. It is a favorite book of mine that I reread every once in awhile to remind me to be thankful and respectful of the land we live in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2001

    The battle of the Wounded Knee

    This book is a very awesome book I'am not going to tell you about it your going to have to read it to find out for yourself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    The best book i've ever read!!

    I think that Dee Brown did an excellent job describing the events that happened during this time period. The book depicts the massacres at Sand Creek and Wounded Knee. The outragous acts commited by the officers who were involved in the events are described in detail as should have been. I was impressed that Dee Brown seemed to be unafraid to hold anything back. She has let the public know the truth about what happened to the Native Americans during this time period. She describes the many treaties which were broken by the whites first, each and every time, and how the Indian people were forced to move from their native lands and put on reservations to 'get them out of the way of white settlement'. The author explains in this book, what most history books are afraid to tell in detail like she has done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2000

    A Must Read

    Dee Brown once again does an exceptional job of getting her point across with at very historically accurate book that does more than inform, it touches the reader emotionally, making this a book that I, and most other people will not forget. This is a book that should be required reading material for all students, it educated me more than any teacher ever has. I went into this book expecting another monotonous history book, but I found a book that I could not put down. The best way that I can describe this book is as an appaling look at the systematic elimination of the American Indians from the western frontier. This was a true, American Holocaust.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5