Customer Reviews for

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee: The Illustrated Edition: An Indian History of the American West

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee - a most moving reprint

I think I need to read Dee Brown's book, Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, every year or two in order to remind myself of the cruelty of those who came before us. Are we still a cruel nation? I am certain that those dealing with Native Americans in the 19th century felt ...
I think I need to read Dee Brown's book, Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, every year or two in order to remind myself of the cruelty of those who came before us. Are we still a cruel nation? I am certain that those dealing with Native Americans in the 19th century felt there were not; but this book, most of it told from the perspective of Native Americans, screams that many were indeed cruel. Many American leaders, military, and citizens had no respect for the rights of Native American and they took not only their lands, but their very souls as they marched across the American continent. Though many of the pictures and art work do not always portray these native people naturally, they do add to a better understanding of the story that Mr. Brown wanted us to discover - "often another person's perspective is different from my own." Peace can only be achieved universally if we begin to understand that we are all different and should be treated with respect as to our own beliefs and life styles.

posted by KyLady on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is just one of those IMHOpinion comments, the Euro-american

This is just one of those IMHOpinion comments, the Euro-american
population will NEVER truely understand. Reading factual history may
educate the open minded on the "American Genocide". The Nde
did not learn from books, nor did my relatives, such as the Lakota...
This is just one of those IMHOpinion comments, the Euro-american
population will NEVER truely understand. Reading factual history may
educate the open minded on the "American Genocide". The Nde
did not learn from books, nor did my relatives, such as the Lakota, the
Navaho, the Paiute, etc ..all learned from our parents and or our
grandfathers, as they learned from theirs. I am glad that non-Natives
wish to learn the truth, and not remain blind to the truth. The one
sided supposed "history" taught in schools is close to
fiction, and if the truth is being brought into the education system I
say "it's about time". People should be appalled at the
atrocities committed, my own people, The Nde' were hunted and killed
right down to every man, woman, and even infants YET we remain.....hozho
nas lii (walk in beauty and peace ).

posted by One_Picky_Reader on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee - a most moving reprint

    I think I need to read Dee Brown's book, Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, every year or two in order to remind myself of the cruelty of those who came before us. Are we still a cruel nation? I am certain that those dealing with Native Americans in the 19th century felt there were not; but this book, most of it told from the perspective of Native Americans, screams that many were indeed cruel. Many American leaders, military, and citizens had no respect for the rights of Native American and they took not only their lands, but their very souls as they marched across the American continent. Though many of the pictures and art work do not always portray these native people naturally, they do add to a better understanding of the story that Mr. Brown wanted us to discover - "often another person's perspective is different from my own." Peace can only be achieved universally if we begin to understand that we are all different and should be treated with respect as to our own beliefs and life styles.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    Too bad everything mentioned in the book is true

    I have yet to read 'Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee', but just recently saw a cable-made movie of the same title. If the movie is played out as accurately as the book, ALL American Indians, including the Inuit, and Eskimo of Alaska were given a raw deal. And all this started in 1608 when the Pilgrims arrived at Jamestown, Virginia and Plymouth Rock, Massachusetts 'Ironically, Massachusetts is the only State that is still known by its original American Indian name'. Who the heck were we, in 1492, 1608, and 1620, and during various years after the Civil War, to basically demand that the American Indian be either surrender to the United States or starve and most likely die from it so we get thier land? If I understand all of my American history, had we not come to the Americas, right now I would be home in London, England. Or possibly Barcelona, Spain watching soccer. At that particular era in our minds, the United States Government was at it greediest. Didn't ALL of what we know as the United States (not including Hawaii) 'belong' to the American Indian?

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    THANKS FOR THE TRUTH!, a few of us knew, no one believed

    this book should be mandatory reading for all americans. the sand creek horor has been buried for years, now we can read the truth. well documented. i loan this book, give it away, anything to have it read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've read the book three times over the years since it was first published. It documents very clearly the practice of genocide by our forefathers and our government driven by greed. A very proud nation was, for all practical purposes, wiped of the face of the earth. I was recently pleasantly surprised to fine a local high school using this book for a history class. It should be mandatory reading in every school in the United States.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    Will The Real Savages Please Stand

    I read this book several years ago and lost the copy in one of my moves to another home. I purchased another copy and read it again and now that I am older I understand more of how the white man and his greed is like being tied to a rock at the bottom of a waterfall that never stops pounding at you. To this day it still hasn't stopped. This book gives a very detailed, accurate account of what Native American Indians had to put up with then and now, and what sacrifices they made when the arrogant white man started his lying, thieving, and robbing, not only their lands, but their life and livelihood as well. It's no different today, and it's still going on, but thank God Dee Brown wrote an accurate account of what really happened, instead of the fabricated lies that have been perpetuated by the whites for years and years.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Disturbing but good

    Disturbing but good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    A book to display, and to read with family

    This book is presentation quality with deep information and leads to analysis of the entire topic of native Americans in the USA. I gaave this to my son, who was amazed. His children put down their presents to read pages and pictures. We discused it all day. Thank you for a really wonderful book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    10 Stars if I could

    When I first read BURY MY HEART AT WOUNDED KNEE by Dee Brown in high school, then again in college, I felt like a lance punctured my Soul. This was before I saw my adoption file and learned that 25% of my blood flowing throughout my body is Shawnee. I must have known, because this book not only saddened me; my heart burned with a white coal anger that increased when I visited Wounded Knee and the reservation that Chivington created in the Badlands. Two-thirds of American Indians were killed by that murderous skunk and other military personnel between 1860 and 1890, one full generation.

    Brown wanted to tell the story from the Indian point of view, from the West looking eastward, because America¿s indigenous peoples had been pushed from their lands by our European ancestors through deception, broken promises, and whole scale massacre. It was time to tell the story ¿how the West was won¿ from the defeated gentle, proud people who cared for mother Earth by taking only her resources they needed for food, clothing, and shelter. They were the first true conservators of the land we call the lower 48. They were a great spiritual people too with each tribe having a different language, but virtually the same hieroglyphics and Elders that kept their histories reciting tribal events in lyrical oral histories. And Dee Brown used these oral histories, Council proceedings, U.S. Government documents (including treaties,) and eye-witness accounts to give us a richly textured panoramic history in thumbnail accounts beginning with Columbus to finally the massacre at Wounded Knee.

    The sub-title ¿An Indian History of the American West¿ is misleading, because to present 30 years in a 512 paged book is not a definitive history. Brown gives us snippets that flow as the Indian Tribes do, first out of New England, through the Midwest, across the Mississippi and finally through the Plains States. These snippets remind me of rich, textured pieces of fabric that when sown together they make a beautiful quilt of memories that inspires studious reflection, and perhaps discussion. He tries to answer why our European ancestors wanted to completely dominate the New World and ALL of its inhabitants. The tribes weren¿t even safe from military action during the Civil War, Gold was found in the Western Territories, and the Tribes were in the Way. Leaders like Andrew Jackson and the Blue coated Military men didn¿t help either. They hated the Indians. And their promised land past the Great Mississippi failed to appear due to the invention of the ¿Manifest Destiny.¿

    Back Elk says it best, ¿I did not know then how much was ended. When I look back from this high hill of my old age, I can still see the butchered women and children lying heaped and scattered all long the crooked gulch as plain as I saw them with eyes still young. And I can see that something else died there in the bloody mud, and was buried in the blizzard. A people¿s dream died there. It was a beautiful dream¿the nation¿s hoop is broken and scattered. There is no center any longer, and the sacred tree is dead.¿

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    A must read for everyone who is interested native Americans!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Truth

    The epitome of Native American histories written by a white man. A far cry from the biased and racist histories of American Indians taught in our schools for generations.
    I recommend this book to everyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking

    A heartbreaking and informative look at Native American life. Its the other side of the story and for me, filled in blanks left by high school history.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Just a great book

    Have read the book three times. Each chapter is like a short story, yet it all ties together. Great depth and feeling. A must for history buffs.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Wonderful Reading! Every human person should read this book!

    ...Wounded Knee was an excellent read. I first read about it when I was assigned to do a project for my US History class. I really felt sorrow and sadness in my heart for the people in the book. All in all, I still loved the story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    Masterpiece

    Cold-blooded truth of America's real history. A masterpiece of american literature...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    Every 'white' american should read this.

    If you profess to have any empathy towards Native Americans, this is required reading. From the opening pages that detail the rape of the country by Christopher Colunbus to the takeover by the explorers, it will shock you and hopefully make you think. I highley recommend this to anyone who would like to find out where their ancestors come from, for I feel that we all come from eventually the same place, and that we all are God's children in the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Finally Other People will know

    I am glad that other people will finally know the genocide of my people I am glad that I actually got the chance to read the book. It was recommended by my ap us history teacher because we need to write a book review for class .Although I am only 16 years old I was given a spoken version of the book and I am happy that the things that were told to me were very similar to that of the book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Awesome! A must read!

    I'm not much of a reader, but this book was unbelievable! I couldn't put it down. The accounts of history with all of the different tribes across the country were very detailed and exciting. It's history with a catch of story telling. It will captivate you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    How The West Was Really Won

    As a young man in the early seventies, reading this book stripped away once and for all the Hollywood mythology of the American West. Dee Brown has a genuine affection for the land and its peoples and it shows!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    American Patriots

    I read this book for a class assignment in my high school junior year. I believe that the graphic description of the patriotism of the American Indians followed by the bloody massacre at Sand Creek should be forever emblazoned in the minds of all Americans

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2000

    Facing The Truth

    I had never had a book impact my life as much as 'Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee'. The story line is based on excellent facts, and I had a difficult time putting this one down (in fact I've read it three times!). I am ashamed and embarrased of my white history. Reading this book was a hard awakening, but this is one book that I feel every white American should read. I was proud of the American Indians and cried with them as I read the gripping stories in this well written novel. I don't believe anyone has done better by the American Indian history than Dee Brown.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3