Customer Reviews for

Bury This

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    This is a very realistic murder mystery. This book seems to be w

    This is a very realistic murder mystery. This book seems to be written a lot from the minds of the characters more so than just a storytellers perspective. This book does skip around a little (it is written in parts) but it all comes together nicely in the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    A compelling and totally absorbing book, with echoes of The Kill

    A compelling and totally absorbing book, with echoes of The Killing and Twin Peaks. Totally pitch-perfect. Great story and setting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    I got a hold of a copy of this and was excited to read it, but s

    I got a hold of a copy of this and was excited to read it, but sure I wouldn't love it as much as HICK. I was crazy about HICK, to be true.
    Two words: Blown away.
    This writing is so beautiful, dark, sometimes funny and just singular. I can't think of anyone else who writes like this. It feels like you are just floating from one characters innermost thoughts to the other, seamlessly. 
    Portes is dark, there's no question. There's a cruelty to her writing that's rather shocking but never for the sake of being shocking. It's an understanding of humanity at it's lowest level, in its most intimate, fearful moments.
    This is Portes' second novel and I can't wait to see the rest. This is powerful writing. This book will haunt you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    A RUTHLESS MASTERPIECE That probably sounds like HUGE hyperbole

    A RUTHLESS MASTERPIECE
    That probably sounds like HUGE hyperbole but read this novel and tell me different. Words can hardly express how traumatized I am by this beautiful, poetic, stunning piece of fiction. I think I might have underestimated this author, actually, as I loved HICK but didn't really see this coming. This novel BLINDSIDES you. The characters are following me around, particularly Shauna Boggs. There is such pathos there.
    I'm really intrigued by her male characters. This novel's Jeff Cody is as exquisitely flawed as the Eddie Kreezer character in HICK. Her male characters are broken in such fascinating ways that even when they do horrible things it's impossible to abandon them.
    A lot of times second novels really are a make or break thing. With BURY THIS, Andrea Portes shows she is no lightweight and is, indeed, a singular voice for her generation. Where others go snarky or ironic, she goes right in with humanity, beauty, poetry and a kind of ruthlessness as astonishing as it is beautiful.
    I am now a huge fan and will be following this author with a keen interest. HICK was great, and I adored it. But this is haunting me in a way I would never have foreseen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    I was a big fan of HICK. Like I read it about 3 times, actually


    I was a big fan of HICK. Like I read it about 3 times, actually. I was excited to read this but worried it wouldn't be as good. HICK had a huge effect on me. 
    Wow. I was not disappointed. I felt like BURY THIS was in a way MORE brilliant than HICK, in that the story and the characters are just more mature. 
    The writing is so dark, but precise. She does not mince words, yet there is such poetry here. It's a stunning combination. 
    Some of the passages near the end of the book should be framed and put on the wall. This is a write who somehow manages to walk the tightrope between dirty and transcendent. It's a real one-two punch, and it's hard to resist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2015

    I couldn't finish it.  I read about two-thirds of the way throug

    I couldn't finish it.  I read about two-thirds of the way through.  He writing is okay.  Even interesting at times.  But she has a few things just wrong: Caterpillar equipment is YELLOW, not ORANGE!  A Lt Colonel is addressed as "Colonel", not as "Lt. Colonel."  I'm sorry, but she should do her homework a bit more if she wants to be realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    This is one of the best reads i have had in a long time. Did not

    This is one of the best reads i have had in a long time. Did not want to put it down. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Loved this book! Loved the pace. Literally zipped through it (

    Loved this book! Loved the pace. Literally zipped through it (kept looking for any moment in my day to find the time to read it). I'm a reader. I read all types of books. However, I'll be honest, I really only like well written books. Andrea Portes nailed this one. This was a wonderfully fast pace tale with jump off the page characters. The details were meticulous and I thoroughly enjoyed the book. Can not wait for Andrea Portes's next novel! This is a definite must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    This prose is astonishing. There are some passages that should b

    This prose is astonishing. There are some passages that should be framed and put in the Smithsonian.

    Not for the feint at heart, however. The subject matter is as gritty as it is beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    very disjointed book

    I do not recommend reading this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1