Customer Reviews for

Bury the Lead (Andy Carpenter Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    I'm hooked

    I just happened to find this author by chance. As an attorney I naturally enjoy reading books about lawyers. Guess I'm hoping to find some bit of wisdom I can use along the way. David Rosenfelt makes Andy Carpenter the kind of lawyer you'd enjoy hanging with and wanting to be his second chair. I've read his first 3 books and will run the table on this author. He's very witty, develops his characters wonderfully, and is a devoted Golden Retriever lover. In my humble opinion, if I had a choice between Grisham and Rosenfelt, I choose David Rosenfelt hands down. The only regret I have is that I didn't discover his work sooner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Totally good reading

    Love the characters, stories, humor and the dogs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Andy sounds cute & he is very funny

    This is my 3rd book in the series...I have bought them all on ebooks! The author keeps me coming back for more,funny & this one had you going in circles trying to figure out whodoneit!!My only complaint is why book 4 hasn't come out in an ebook...Jean Heming
    P.S.wish I could meet Andys dog,Tara

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read

    For those readers that have read Andy Carpenter novels, this one has all the same elements. Andy is faced with defending a seemingly "doomed" client charged with murder and with nothing to go on as far as a defense. All the usual characters are present; including Laurie his girlfriend (and his private investigator), Kevin who runs the laundromat, Marcus the unstoppable bodyguard and investigator and of course Tara the dog.

    Like all other books in the series before and since what makes this book work is Andy's first person narration and usual side comments that usually mean the opposite of what he actually says out loud. In this one a reporter has been contact by a serial killer who tells him about murders he has committed and some he is committing. The reporter becomes a type of celebrity because everyone wants to read his column. Eventually, something happens to make the police believe that the reporter is in fact the serial killer. They do not believe him that the killer told him all the details he knows, but that he actually did the killings.

    Enter Andy and his team to the rescue. As Andy gets more involved he finds that the case may lead to Dominic Petrone (the recurring Mafia Don in these books) and that Andy could put his own life in jeopardy if he says too much.

    I would have rated this book higher but it had one of those endings where when everything is resolved it is just too far-fetched. Also, the book is very short (I read it in one sitting). A fun read nonetheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    A Leader of the Pack

    While in the checkout line at Barnes and Noble,I saw this hardback listed as a bargain book. Never read Rosenfelt so what the heck. This guy is unbelievable. Andy Carpenter is a hoot and the book is one of the best I have ever read. A blend of humor and courtroom banter that is priceless. If you enjoy the crime genre you MUST read books by Rosenfelt. After completing this one I ordered books 1, 2, and 4 'this one is #3'. I have not been disappointed. I suggest you read them in order and 'Open and Shut' is the first. I rank this guy up there with the best around, what a treat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    A chilling thriller

    The women in North Jersey are panicking because a serial killer is on the loose, a sociopath who strangles women from behind with a scarf and then cuts off their heads. His victims have been an elderly grandmother, a prostitute and a businesswoman. A reporter on Patterson¿s local newspaper Daniel Cumming is the only person who the killer communicates with and he has become a part of the story as much as he reports it................................ Daniel¿s editor, Vince Sanders, is overjoyed because the circulation of the paper is rising at a fantastic rate but something is bothering him so he calls lawyer Andy Carpenter to represent the paper and Daniel. When the killer informs Daniel where to find the next victim, he races to the area but he gets hit on the head and loses consciousness. When he awakens the police treat him like a suspect and after they find two hands and scarves with blood on it, they arrest Daniel. Vince begs Andy to represent his reporter and he acquiesces even though he isn¿t sure Daniel is innocent................................... There are many surprising twists in this exciting legal thriller which the author handles with panache and a sense of stark realism. The characters are off beat originals especially the protagonist who has inherited $22 million dollars yet his idea of a good time is spending a day watching football, playing with his dog and having fun with his significant other. He is a high profile lawyer who usually wins cases but this one means calling in favors. The ending is a surprise that readers will think about for a long time...................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    I laughed out loud1

    Andy Carpenter and friends at it again to solve another crime. Very fast-paced, witty, with twists and turns. Fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Great series!

    Great series! Funny, friendly good guys. Author follows a pattern that is enjoyable and comfortable, but not cookie-cutter. Have read the previous and bought the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    DAVID ROSENFELT'S ON A ROLL

    Attorney Andy Carpenter is at it again with another oddball case filled with confusing leads. I am definitely a huge fan of David Rosenfelt, and he only gets better and better with each book. Again, you don't see what is coming up until it hits you in the face. Great, great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    READING THIS BOOK IS LIKE HANGING OUT WITH OLD FRIENDS

    Rosenfelts books are fun to read, his observations about characters and events draw the reader into a world that could easily be your own backyard. His humor is engaging. His main character is romantic without being sappy or wimpy. Men can relate to him and his relationship to his remote control, his dog and his team while women will wish their own partners all had a bit of Andy Carpenter in them. The court is a game he plays masterfully,we wish more lawyers were like that. He solves his crimes taking all of us on round about trip...and we are all satisfied at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Unlike the First Two - slow read

    David Rosenfelt jumped to the top of my favorite authors. His first two books are wonderful, but this one falls short of the mark. Unlike the first two, the beginnning is very slow. I didn't get caught up in the story until the middle of the book (and usually I've put a book down by then). But because I read his first two books, I kept plugging along with this one. He's still a wonderful author, but this book was a real disappointment, since I know what he's capable of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3