Customer Reviews for

Bush at War

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Can Get Boring and Hard to Read.

    This book is interesting at many points, but it can get very boring. It is written as a journal, that keeps track of President George W. Bush's life almost day by day, for the days immediately following the attacks of September 11th. The book starts out very good, but that's the climax of the book. The book starts off at its climax, and just dies from that point on. The book starts out with the terrorist attack of September 11th, and is very interesting, but the rest of the book is very hard to read. It has less detail, and a lot of it is repetitive. At least half of the book is saying that Bush is either writing a speech, talking about classified information in a meeting, or traveling to a different state. There is also good information in this book as well, that is very interesting. People should read this book for that good information, and also to see the tragedy of this time in a completely new prospective. I really liked reading about this from the prospective of someone high up in the government. If you can focus on the interesting facts, like the threats and military strategies, the book is possible to get through. If you don't focus on the interesting facts, than the book could be very hard to read. The book has a lot of information in it, and can be overwhelming unless you pick out certain details. The major message is to inform the audience on what President Bush did after the attacks, but a lot of the facts are very broad and almost seem like propaganda in a lot of cases. It seems like Bob Woodward may have wrote this book to influence people to agree with his opinion. Knowing that though, if ignore the instances where you feel like you're being persuaded than you can understand the true meaning of the book. The book is about how Bush reacted to the attacks in a political, military, and executive fashion. He reacts in a political fashion by confronting the public with speeches and visits. He reacted in a military fashion by deciding to go to war right away, and creating a new strategy for war. He did this by doing a bombing campaign, and started by destroying the bottom of the loop of the Taliban and al Qaeda first. He would than work his way up to their main leaders. He reacted in an executive fashion by having multiple meetings a day, to make decisions about what to do and how to do it. This book is interesting at some points, but it can get very boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    As Usual Woodward Delivers

    Woodward delivers a spellbounding account of the first days on the War on Terror that was fought with much anticipation and bungling from the White House, CIA, NSA, military on down. I read this book when it first came out and didn't understand the full implications of this books' meanings because of its reporting on the divisions between Powells' State Department and Rusmfeld's DoD. It was remarkable, like wine, that after reading you can tell that time is the only real indicator of truth. In time, we realize these two inevitably conflictual personalities will bungle the worst foreign policy disaster in American history--the Iraq War, and like children, accuse the other of the misfortune on the ground. As the ground war in Afghanistan seemed to be going so miracuously well, we clearly lost our concentration very quickly on this most critical of geopolitical regions who has a way of throwing out foreigners--such as the Soviets, Pakistanis, Mongols, Persians, the list goes on. And it seems we might be next as ISI, that most corrupt of foreign intelligence agencies, will ultimately be the nail in the coffin for the American empire, as they were for the Soviets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    A Sycophantic Hagiography

    It's sad to see Bob Woodward sink so low, from honest reporter to sycophant of the rich and powerful. His book is a glorification of a group of inglorious zealots lead by a narcissistic mental lightweight. Woodward¿s whitewash is especially ironic given how badly Bush¿s ill-conceived war has turned out. Most painful is knowing that the president¿s mindless egotism has cost thousands of innocent lives and hundreds of billions of dollars. Worse is the fact that all of this tragic waste could have been avoided had the president ever bothered to pick up a book in his life or at least listen to his own experts. The book entertains like so many trite and wholly fictionalized television dramas, only it¿s painful to read when one knows the terrible truth of what has actually unfolded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    Compelling Account Again By Woodward

    As you would expect,Woodward deliveres an impartial accounting of activities, strengths and weaknesses inside our national executive leadership team following September 11, 2001. It is a compelling read and reinforces the value of our First Amendment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    Very intensive look at Bush's Administration

    I enjoyed this book a lot. It presents the facts, not the defending of the Bush Administration. Great book for anyone that wants to know what really happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    A Window On To The Oval Office

    Bob Woodward makes the reader feel like a fly on the wall in the Oval Office during a period where many wonder if 'the principals' had lost their minds. This shows them as rational human beings carrying out the tasks assigned to them, even if some of them do have moments where passion prevails over reason. Bush, for his part, comes across as more assertive than his public image. There is also a squirrely edge to him which is disconcerting. There may well be more that went on in the immediate aftermath of 911 than what appears here, but Woodward has dug deep enough to paint a detailed picture of the planet's most powerful people at work and it is fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    Inside Look at the White House in a Time of Crisis

    This is an excllent book that I would highly recommend. It provides a detailed and insightful look at how the Bush White House team reacted to the 9/11 tragedies and in the end how it began to prepare for war in Iraq. The level of detail is fascinating and the candor with which some the Bush cabinet speak is remarkable. The book is a very easy read (I read it in little over a week). Great book that I would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    OUTSTANDING!!!!!

    THIS BOOK IS NOT ONLY WONDERFULLY WRITTEN; INFORMATIVE, ENGAGING AND EASY TO FOLLOW, IT ALSO HAS FACTUAL BACK UP BY NUMEROUS SOURCES MENTIONED THROUGHOUT THAT ARE CONSISTENT W/ ONE ANOTHER. YOU WONT FIND ANY CONCOCTED 'THEORIES' OR BIASED JOURNALISM HERE. PICK IT UP!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    Educational

    I recommend the book for anyone who struggles to understand the problems facing the Middle East as well as the rest of the world. I noticed one review said it was boring,I strongly disagree maybe you should head to the front lines.. this book is informative on all the different religions, countries, and political agendas that the US has to deal with when facing a crisis of this magnitude.You also get a personal view of the different personalities that possess power in the US.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    I read it a second time.....

    I read this book a second time just to see if maybe it was any more enjoyable than the first and I can honestly say it was not. Oh well I tried. Sorry Bob.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Not too bad...

    A great book for readers looking to get inside the White House... It is dry at parts, but there's a lot of cool anecdotes and inside info... Now I know what the acronyms FUBAR and WAG mean...hehehe. Probably not so good to read now, the material is staggeringly outdated. It was difficult to focus on Afghanistan when there were bombs going off in Baghdad at the same time... but an interesting read...!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    Question the truth!

    Using words like Megalomaniac and Schizophrenic, to describe a President that manages his cabinet by provoking his subordinates, could be considered inflammatory or at least very subjective. So read the book, for yourself. I am overwhelmed with concern over the complete lack of foresight by this administration, however I can offer no speedy remedy- sorry folks. A great concern arises about the only two stable figures in the book- Powell and Rice. What will happen to the world should they ever resign? So many questions come out of reading this book. Who are the "evil doers" history will remember? Does the goal justify the means? Summary; Good news is we cured the disease, bad news is the patient died.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    The Best Available Information

    Once again Mr. Woodward has taken on a political issue and done extensive research to provide us with an exhaustive compilation of available facts surrounding an issue affecting all of us today. There is more in-depth and background information provided here which offers us a "front row" seat in the planning and implementation of policies relating to the terrorism situation. What the casual reader must keep in mind however (and this comes from first hand experience) is that there is a voluminous amount of classified information that will never be released in our lifetime which directly affects the decisions which the principals in the book make. We will not at any time publish information in a book which can be read by the objects of a military offensive. Hey, Mr. Woodward hasn't even revealed who 'Deep Throat' is. Remember him/her?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    OVERRATED!

    If you like reading meeting minutes, this is the book for you! I found very little in this book that would be even closely considered insightful or informative, mainly a documentary of who said what at secrity council and other, high level administration meetings. Next time, I'll just watch CNN. I was hoping for a lot more from a writer of Woodward's reputation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    NOT A FAN OF BUSH, BUT THIS BOOK DOES MAKE YOU THINK

    I purchased this book as a way to get the shipping discount. It made me wonder what things would have been like if Gore had become President. It also made me wonder if Bush hadn't become President, would any of this terrorist stuff be happening. Either way ,It is an inteligent book and one worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Interesting But Propagandaish

    Overall, it is a pretty good book providing the story from Sept 11 to through the war on Afganistan. However, Woodward relies completely on interviews from Bush and his staff and meeting information given by them. No external verification or research is cited so it should probably be called Bush's Version of the War on Terrorism. Some key things are left out for what would appear to be political reasons. For example, it would seem obvious that Israel helped the US with intelligence and it seems likely that Bush would have consulted his father on some key decisions albeit probably without giving lots of details. Cheney's influence is downplayed which I think was intentional. Still, it's a pretty good book if taken with a grain of salt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    NRC Writes Book!!

    Bush at War suffers from teenage crush level perspective. Steely eyed George marching thru admiring underlings where the measure of virtue is the distance from positions deemed to be "Clintonian". My problem with Woodward's book is that it makes for a boring book. Surely these events had to have more doubt and drama than this book brings to the table. You can barely stay awake for through page after page of writing and word usage that makes it difficult to tell page one from one hundred. If I hear the term "boots on the ground" one more time I might just get a pair. I'm very proud of myself and my patriotism for getting through this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    RARE INSIGHT INTO OUR PRESIDENT

    As one who did not vote for George Bush and was almost always embarassed by his verbal gaffes, I found Bob Woodward's book to be an eye-opener. Assuming Mr. Woodward is truly an unbiased and non-partisan reporter of the facts, I find his interviews with and quotes of G.W. Bush to be refreshing, at the very least, and illuminating at best. The president comes off "smelling like a rose," as do certain other key members of Mr. Bush's inner circle. Contrary to my earlier impressions of the president as a tongue-tied, inarticulate pol, whose misuses and limitations of the English language were legion, I came away impressed again and again by his thoughtfulness and articulateness. So too, with George Tenet of the CIA. I remember that one of the shortcomings of Woodward's book, according to a New York Times reviewer, was that only the key players in the Bush inner circle who gave a wide berth to Woodward, came off in a favorable light. And, conversely, those who granted limited access to the author came away in a more negative or neutral light. Since I already had some pre-conceived biases as to the individuals I "liked" and those I did not, the book only served to validated those "feelings." As one who lived through Watergate, and is a contemporary of Mr. Woodward's, I thoroughly enjoyed the book and its perspective on politics in present-day Washington. As an undergraduate student in Washington, D.C.in the late sixties, I appreciated the sometimes humorous local color of "provincial," southern Washington, D.C. that Mr. Woodward paints from the vantage point of a keen fifty-something observer and a resident of the D.C. area. When I typically like a book, I seek out other titles by the same author. This case is no exception. I intend to attempt to read some of Woodward's earlier books, including -- especially -- his portrait of Fed chairman Greenspan. Having worked at the New York Fed and still familiar with specialists at the FRB, I suspect I will gain some insight from that account as well. In short, I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2002

    Best book since Geneva Nights

    I'm not a bush fan to say the least, but Woodward is without question a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    Interesting Read

    Trying to figure out President Bush's strategy in regards to Iraq is certainly curious. I'm of the belief that Iraq is a danger and it is a matter of self preservation for our country. But seeing other possibilities to Bushes motives as well as exploring the possible consequences of going to war are truly facinating and thought provoking. Though I'm not 100% in agreement with the tone of this book I must say that Bob Woodward is an exceptional writer and it's worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2