Customer Reviews for

Bush at War

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Bob Woodward, very catching and readable reporting

    Mr Woodward experience shows and has graduated considerably, this is a truly revealing and thorough account. The research vastly extends beyond any other similar reporting. Dont hesitate, get it for educating yourself alone if not to be enlightened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Necessary reading

    Bob Woodward's insight into the Bush Whitehouse ¿ at this time of international tension ¿ is more than insightful. It is necessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    Not Bush At War

    I give this book 5 stars because it is timely, interesting, and well written. But, what's happening is not "Bush At War". It is us at war. It is America and American's at war. Please know, Mr. and Mrs. America, that those who desire the fall of America not only hate our government and our way of life, they hate us, personally, and want to see us and our children -- all of us -- dead. And they don't need to use nuclear weapons on us and our cities. They simply need to use people carrying a small vial of anthrax or smallpox, secretly given to them by someone like Saddam Hussein who has the stuff, hates America, and wants to destroy us, sneak into the USA along with the thousands of other illegals and drug dealers that do so every day through Mexico, Canada, small boats, and small planes, and bingo, millions will die. Can we stop a lot of those who invade our borders? Yes. Can we stop everyone? No. And we'll never in a hundred years find a few small refrigerators full of anthrax and smallpox hidden underground somewhere in a huge country like Iraq if it has a Hitler-like leader who wants to get us by whatever means of lies and deception he can dupe on us and the rest of the world. We will only be "safe" if they have a leader who would not wish to destroy other human beings. Though I enjoyed Mr. Woodward's writing, he didn't get his arms around understanding why President Bush is doing what he's doing. If you do want to understand why Bush is doing what he's doing (and I hope to God every thinking American now realizes they crucially need to), then I have no qualms or hesitation in immediately recommending a book that will help you do so, a book recommended to me as an excellent, easy read called "West Point: Character Leadership Education, Developed From The Readings And Writings Of Thomas Jefferson" by Norman Thomas Remick (West Point used as a metaphor for America). Bob Woodward's "Bush At War" is an excellent piece of journalism. Be sure to read it. But, I think you should also be sure to read the Remick book if you want to get your arms around understanding our President's historically critical thought processes and philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Painfully difficult to get through

    Very disappointing.... Nothing here unless you are an ostrich searching for light. Woodward's failure comes from writing as though he owed the Bush administration for access to top political leaders. A ghostwriter for the Administration could not have done a better job. In the end, the research done amounts to no more than what could be found in newspaper accounts. The "secrets¿ revealed are little more than weak watercooler discussions among the ¿boys." Woodward has lost his opportunity for a profound historic accounting of what really happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Alright....

    Bob Woodward's new book "Bush at War" was somewhat interesting as a means of documenting the president's war on terror. But, what seemed to be truly dry was the writing. The subject material was interesting, however at times it seemed like Woodward hastily hacked this one out in time for the Christmas shopping season. Please Bob, try harder next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    Woodward overstates

    The author overstates the internal conflicts of the Bush administration, as well as misinterpreting the meaning of the Fox News Pres.'s memo to President Bush. Woodward is a well established liberal writer, formally with the Washington Post, and does not present an objective view on these issues. I would not recommend this book to anyone who calls themselves an 'independant' or a 'moderate.' Woodward does not present objective arguments and his research heavily relies on "unnamed sources." Not much of a surprise considering the author's past record.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    CNN Rehash

    Unless you've not seen the light of day or television over the past 15 months this book offers little not previously featured on CNN - in painful detail. Mr. Woodward does an admirable job rehashing known material, and maybe that's all we should expect from a journalist mindset. However, I was hoping for a real in depth perspective on the obvious outsider status of Colin Powell for so long in the current administration, or Bush's ideas on many of his domestic "War on Terrorism" policies. Especially at a time when there is a real thin line emerging between privacy(civil liberties), and security. Instead Woodward is hands off on the domestic front other than to say we're basically at the mercy of the world's madmen, and boiling down administration riffs to petty Frat-boy jealousies. A nice overview if your looking for a 90 day history lesson on ten minutes ago. If your looking for answers? You'll be left with more questions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    INTERESTING

    If you want to know a little bit more about our president than the little clips we see on the nightly news, this book will fill in the blanks. And we get a lot more in depth look at Terrorism and War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    A hero of action

    This one's a great buy for anyone who is interested in the man and the war. Patriotism at its best, thoroughly enjoying, provocative, supurb, and thrilling. Also suggest a great new book called Dreams: Gateway to the True Self--its very inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2