Customer Reviews for

Bushwhacked: Life in George W. Bush's America

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Populism and Prose, Texas Style

    Molly Ivins is as Texan as a Texan can be, and probably understands Texas politics better than most Texas politicians. 'Bushwhacked' is a thorough and well-written study of life in America during the first few years of the Bush administration, and, as she documents to some length, if you're not wealthy, it isn't been a great time. She spends much of the book documenting to detail the President's doings, from his time as Texas Governor to more current affairs. Sadly, this book's popularity will be determined based on one's political views. Those that count themselves partisan to President Bush will probably denouce this book as rubbish from a liberal madwoman, and those against Mr. Bush will trumpet any nuggets to support their distate of the President. The book has clearly been well researched, and while some personal examples of Bush policy gone wrong are, at times, a tad tiresome, they are instructive to what one hopes is unintended consequences of government policies. The sections devoted to Enron and Bush's other business interests are compelling in a 'follow-the-money' sense. Ivins does well with a hefty dose of her wit and humour as spoonfuls of sugar to make the less appealing parts go down smoother.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    FINALLY THE REAL TRUTH

    After only reading the first chapter I would have paid $100.00 for this book. It has really enlightened this family on the 'Bushies'. Thank you Molly Ivins. Keep up the good work. You are to be congratulated for telling the truth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    A Real Eye-opener

    As a well read independent voter, I thought I knew all I needed to know about the Bush administration before I read this book. Boy, was I wrong! Molly Ivins lays out an airtight case that would make anyone short of a corporate CEO cringe. Showing how President Bush's policy decisions effect the everyday life of average Americans makes the book's message hit home even harder. It's difficult to believe that the reviewers who gave this book one star actually read the same book I did. Perhaps they should try it again, with their eyes open this time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Wonderful!

    This is an excellent book, a book that not only tells the truth about the indignations of the Bush Administration, but also lays out a solution for the problems that Bush has incurred.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Molly nails Shrub

    Molly long history with bush back in texas gives her an insight into his warped ideology lacking in most observers. everyone in america should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    Good sense of humor

    I recently bought a lot of books online. And ended up returning all but two. I kept this, and ¿the nice guys guide to getting girls¿ by john fate. Both books were very insightful (different topics, but both were insightful). Not only are these books insightful, it also has a touch of humor that makes them both a great read. Though bushwacked has humor in it, it¿s truth and substance about our president and his policies may upset you. The good thing about this book is the way the author relates the bush administration:s failed policies to everyday amercain life. The book effectively depicts the small and scary things that have changed and also the huge ordeals we are all aware of, such as iraq. This book is definitely what we need in these troubling times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Always on Target

    Molly Ivins never disappoints. Well written and documented...couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Molly hammers the Dittoheads

    Molly brings a breath of fresh air to the stench-ridden decay that trails Bush Junior's systematic rape of America. And unlike the purile fantasies of the dittoheads, these facts have valid provenance. She NEVER writes in CAPS. (;)P Let's put the Bushies back under the rocks from whence they crawled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    almost old enough to vote

    Although im not totally into politics quite yet, this book gave me an insite on the scandals and corruption of our beloved government. You need neither be a democrat or republican to acknowledge Bush's terrible terms in office. How can people criticize this book? Somebody had to come out and speak their mind and Ivins just happens to have more balls then the rest of you to speak for what she believes in. Isn't that what America is based on? Society's morals and values have been distorted, so somebody had to come out and spark light through all the darkness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    a truthful account

    Speaking as both a resident of a conservation community and a believer in democracy, this book covered all the bases, from Bush's lousy environmental record, to his lousy corporate one. A factual and easy to follow account of our president.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    another lying rant from a yellow dog democrat

    The author's hatred of the Bush family, the GOP, and anything conservative is well-known. This book continues the distortions she started in Shrub. Don't buy it. It's an attack job, not a study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    Smarts and Heart (Molly, not Shrub)

    Molly Ivens is a terrific writer -- the tone is lively, and the facts are energizing (infuriating?). Like the Research Scientist, I lived through the Bush years in Texas; unlike him, I didn't have a job with a title and benefits. 'Compassionate' conservative ... NOT! Molly gets it right: life under Bush sucks for a real person with a real job and a real conscience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    EYE OPENING

    MOLLY IVANS GIVES US AN EYE OPENING VIEW INTO THE MIND OF A MANIAC; SHE NAILS THE INFANTILE ELITEISM OF BUSH AND THE PEOPLE WHO PULL HIS STRINGS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    'Drunken frat boy runs country into ditch'

    So, ok, I used a line from the book, but I couldn't think of one that described the state of our disunion any better. I discovered so many issues in this book that I had never even heard of that it was frightening. (I do consider myself relatively well-informed.) I think every voter should be forced to read this book before voting in the next Presidential election. I only wish they would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    Much ado about Nothing

    I'm sorry but this is just another liberal storyteller telling stories. Molly, you lost the election plain and simple. Yes, you won the popular vote, but lost the electoral vote. It's time to move on. Molly you failed to mention what would have happened to our country had AlGore been cheif post 9/11/01.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    I have a question.

    I gave this three stars so as not to upset the votes, but isn't this a forum for rating a book? It seems more people came here to argue about their own political beliefs rather than give potential customers a realistic view of content. I just wanted to say thanks for nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2003

    Geez

    This book is dumber than the picture that graces the cover. Classical propaganda.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    neocons- weeds around the shrub

    all you one-star reviewers out there - it is obvious to me that you have not read this book. you slam the book as lies and a waste of paper ignoring the fact that unlike coulter and her clones, every fact presented in this book is easilly validated, quotes are not out of context, and sources are not cut to fit. ivins is a professional journalist who has known the bushies her entire life. i just don't get it. i guess you one stars out there actually believe that democracy was only made to serve big money and big voices with small minds ( the religious right).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    Bushwhacked: Life in George W. Bush's America

    Molly and Lou have written a book that shows how Bush's policies help make the rich richer and the poorer even poorer. When he tells you he is helping you or working for you don't you believe him. He has the media on his side and they lie to us every day. All we have to do is look at our deficit, how he is trying to cut our wages, eliminate social security, medicare, they are fighting tooth and nail against any help for the people to financially be able to afford prescriptions, etc. All because it would hurt pharmeceutical companies, health insurance companies, etc. If you look at his administration, you will find that most of them have been CEOs of a pharmeceutical or oil or both or helped the tobacco companies, against saving the environment, etc. Condoleeza Rice was a director of Chevron for years and a big Pharmeceutical company, etc. (Get the book, Stupid White Men by Michael Moore, he lists the cabinet members and what they have done and represented-very discouraging for the Doug Jones of America) In the book, you will find an area that she talks about drilling for methane gas in Wyoming. She tells about them taking the water out but not putting it back and how the salt is destroying the soil, what she didn't tell you, because she probably didn't know at that time, was that the ranchers wells are now going dry and that many are now getting well drillers out to dig deeper wells in hopes of finding water (this is all the way into Eastern Montana). If they can't water their cattle, then they will have to quit raising them and then as the numbers of cattle go down it will trickle down to the consumer, because then they will be paying even higher prices. The land will be worthless, they will go bankrupt, but the drillers will be rich. They claim to be against abortion, but it doesn't matter to them, if through their lack of concern with the environment and the air quality, that they are killing people themselves, if it will make a dollar for them? They use the judicial system against the average person, use the media to spread their lies (we have not been told the truth since he has come to office, he tells the people he is working for them all the while he is stealing from them), Clinton worked hard to get better conditions for the working class and he comes in and shoots the programs down that Clinton established. Texas had a surplus when he came into office and then he left it with the biggest deficit that it had ever had just like what he has done with our country. He did to Harken what the people at Enron did, before the Enron fiasco, and got away with it. He was a great teacher for them. He is still protecting them. Clinton had set a cap on energy prices so that California wouldn't be price gauged by the various energy companies and Bush took the cap off and Enron went to town piling up the big bucks. Also, how many of you know that Davis and Bustamonte were suing the energy companies for billions to try and get some of it back and they just wanted to pay 25cents on the dollar instead and that Schwartzeneggar had a meeting with the people being sued before the election and as governor very likely, he will work with Enron so they don't have to pay it back. (Read the Drudge Report and you will get the story there.) Bush supported Schwartzeneggar. Bottom line, he helps the rich get richer and the poor get poorer. The majority of us are not in the rich category. Also, he installed the Patriot Act which needs to get repealed. The congressmen who do not vote for it to get repealed do not believe in the constitution and need to be replaced with people who do believe in the constitution. This can be scary because it really isn't partisan, because who knows who will be in control after the next election? Also, we need paper ballots that can be counted randomly before running through the machines they use to count them to see how accurate the machines are. And NO more denying the right of someone to vo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    A tremendous waste of time

    One star? If I could give it zero stars, I would. This book is so politically-biased, it provides no resemblance of truth or anything of value for that matter. I'm sure a good read for Michael Moore or Susan Sarandon, but not for anyone of rational mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2