Customer Reviews for

Busy Body (Agatha Raisin Series #21)

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Go Aggie!

I received this book on Thursday and finished it on Friday. Aggie is vulnerable, nosy and right in the thick of things again. A very fun read.

posted by Suetalk on October 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This Agatha Raisin mystery is one of my least favorite, with a

This Agatha Raisin mystery is one of my least favorite, with a very fragmented story meandering in many directions. There's more focus on Agatha Raisin's personal sex life than the mystery. Agatha just had hip replacement surgery but it somehow does not stop her fro...
This Agatha Raisin mystery is one of my least favorite, with a very fragmented story meandering in many directions. There's more focus on Agatha Raisin's personal sex life than the mystery. Agatha just had hip replacement surgery but it somehow does not stop her from going headlong into chasing another new man in town. She is about to have sex with the guy and she thinks she should have gotten a Brazillian wax job! Her soon to be partner asks her if she has had any sexual diseases and states that he prefers women with no hair......on their nether regions! So does that sound like a Miss Marple to you? Me neither. Agatha Raisin, in addition to being rather promiscuous at 55 years old, is really really nasty. When she finds out the guy has been murdered, she's RELIEVED because she won't have to face the embarassment of a failed one-night stand!! She cold, calculating and self-absorbed. Her only reason for wanting to solve the crime is to get close to her perpetual on-again, off-again lover, James Lacey. They illegally break into homes and tamper with evidence. If you like this sort of book, then go for it. You might want to check your locak Library first. As you can tell, she's not Miss Marple!

posted by AnnMostly on April 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Go Aggie!

    I received this book on Thursday and finished it on Friday. Aggie is vulnerable, nosy and right in the thick of things again. A very fun read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    This Agatha Raisin mystery is one of my least favorite, with a

    This Agatha Raisin mystery is one of my least favorite, with a very fragmented story meandering in many directions. There's more focus on Agatha Raisin's personal sex life than the mystery. Agatha just had hip replacement surgery but it somehow does not stop her from going headlong into chasing another new man in town. She is about to have sex with the guy and she thinks she should have gotten a Brazillian wax job! Her soon to be partner asks her if she has had any sexual diseases and states that he prefers women with no hair......on their nether regions! So does that sound like a Miss Marple to you? Me neither. Agatha Raisin, in addition to being rather promiscuous at 55 years old, is really really nasty. When she finds out the guy has been murdered, she's RELIEVED because she won't have to face the embarassment of a failed one-night stand!! She cold, calculating and self-absorbed. Her only reason for wanting to solve the crime is to get close to her perpetual on-again, off-again lover, James Lacey. They illegally break into homes and tamper with evidence. If you like this sort of book, then go for it. You might want to check your locak Library first. As you can tell, she's not Miss Marple!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    I didn't think there could possibly be a more annoying character

    I didn't think there could possibly be a more annoying character than Lyn Hamilton's heroine until I found the heroine, of the Iris House mysteries. Then I didn't think there
    could possibly be one worse than Tess in Iris House until along came Toni Gilmour in the Agatha Raisin Mysteries. That one has caused me to stop buying the Agatha Raisin mysteries and to view the next Hamish Macbeth with dread for fear Beaton has felt compelled to introduce a permanent, secondary character, full of angst with which the reader is expected to sympathize, and which changes Macbeth's character and detracts from it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    A light read, not my favorite of the series, but they can't all

    A light read, not my favorite of the series, but they can't all be great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    You won't be disappointed.

    You can always be assured of a fun read with M. C. Beaton whether it's Agatha solving cases in the Cotswolds or Hamish Macbeth keeping the highlands free of crime.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, As Always!

    M.C. Beaton's 21st entry in the Agatha Raisin series doesn't disappoint. The reader feels right at home with the familiar village supporting cast: the kind and concerned vicar's wife, Mrs. Bloxby, the dapper sometime-suitor Sir Charles Fraith, the regulars at Agatha's detective agency, and others. The mystery is so-so (and not much of the story actually occurs at Christmas) and the writing is pretty basic, but the gentle humor and Agatha's never-ending quest for a mate never fail to provide a few hours of entertainment. I recommend the first in the series below, along with all others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Can't resist this character!

    Have enjoyed this series so much and chuckle about the quirks of Agatha as she goes about attempting to understand other characters and solve a mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    eBook Buyer Beware

    I think I received a condensed version of the book. Disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Brash & enjoyable as always

    A fun lot of characters in Agatha's village, and a new village in driving distance with many of the same characters, but with different names! The huffy minister who doesn't enjoy seeing Mrs Raisin arrive and stickers for rules seem to be everywhere Mrs Raisin goes. You'll wonder who "did it" up until the last page of the book (not really), and at every page turn you'll think you figgered it out. On top of all that, Aggie gets a proposition...not a proposal...to move in with on again-off again sack buddy Sir Charles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Love, men, murder and adventure

    Agatha never stops feeling the heart throbs of "perhsps" love as she journeys through her adventures - now we have new staff and a new side of Agatha, a softness for young love that enters the picture - Agatha and Charles' relationship is on a new route, scarry but happening. Poor Agatha's cats, they never seem to get enough of her with all her dashing to and fro and Mrs. Bloxby definitely has her hands full watching over Agatha!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Agatha is the best!

    If you haven't read an Agatha Raisin story you don't know what you're missing. If you have, I need say nothing more as you already get it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    a light read for mystery fans

    This is the first of this series that I have read. I will read at least one more to see if the entire series is good enough to buy. This one was mildly interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Agatha, dear Agatha - -

    what have you gotten yourself into now? Agatha is a complicated character, but I can certainly sympathize with her in many ways. The men in her life are wimps and more bother than they are worth. Her life seems a bit cluttered and I do find myself wishing she would "get a grip"; a little less OCD perhaps. I am adicted to the British cozy and her stories detail much what I have come to enjoy about village life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a superb entry in a great British investigative series

    Mircester health and safety board officer John "Grudge" Sunday prevents the annual putting up a Christmas tree atop the Carsely church tower by threatening court action against Vicar Alf Bloxby. This tradition has been part of the holiday season for years in Cotswolds. Two angry groups (Our Ladies Society and Odley Cruessis Society) meet to decide what to do when wealthy fuming Miriam Courtney publicly states what many are feeling when she proclaims she wants to kill the odious Grudge.

    When someone stabs Grudge to death near the meetings of two ladies' groups, the police look closely at Courtney, as she threatened the victim. Distrusting the cops to look for any other suspect though so many had grudges against the dead inspector, Courtney hires private investigator Agatha Raisin to prove her innocence. As Raisin and her junior sleuth Toni Gilmour make inquires, an unknown adversary bashes in their client's head.

    Agatha Raisin is even more cantankerous than usual as her Christmas holiday to flee tradition by visiting Porto Vechhio in Corsica proves so boring, she fled for home with a sore throat that made her even more ill mannered. Soon afterward, the middle aged sleuth works a murder mystery for a client who becomes the second victim. Readers will enjoy the case and how over her ex husband she is, but Raisin's love life remains a mess. This is a superb entry in a great British investigative series (see There Goes the Bride) as no one tames the shrew.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2