Customer Reviews for

But I Trusted You and Other True Cases (Ann Rule's Crime Files Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

First Book

All I can say is OMG!! This is my first true crime book and I am hooked on Ann Rule. I'm going the wrong way in her series (I just got done with book 13) The way she writes I feel like I know the victims of these crimes. It is touching and very sad at the same time.

posted by Texanreader on January 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not As Good as I Expected

But I Trusted You is the fourteenth volume in author Ann Rule's "Crime Files" series, where she takes a novel length case, makes it the main focus of the book and throws in several "smaller" type cases as well. As much as I have enjoyed Ms. Rule's previous efforts, But...
But I Trusted You is the fourteenth volume in author Ann Rule's "Crime Files" series, where she takes a novel length case, makes it the main focus of the book and throws in several "smaller" type cases as well. As much as I have enjoyed Ms. Rule's previous efforts, But I Trusted You left me wanting and a bit disappointed.

Let's start with the feature length case, which concerns the murder of teacher Chuck Leonard by his estranged wife Teresa. I personally did not find anything noteworthy with this case, whether it be that the actual case was a "by the book" spousal homicide or too much was left on the editing room floor. I wish there had been more background on both Chuck and Teresa and would have been happier if this had been one of the "shorter" cases included, allowing room for another true crime case to be included in this volume. I also thought the title did not coordinate with the case, as Chuck and Teresa were already separated and initiating divorce at the time of Chuck's death and neither Chuck nor Teresa trusted the other.

The second case profiled "Death in Paradise" was a very interesting case but without a firm resolution. I felt as though the story was just skimmed on the surface and the ending left me feeling unsatisfied. Perhaps this would have been a better "featured" case, but with more information on all parties concerned. The title of this book, however, did fit the alleged facts of this case.

The title also fits "Sharper Than a Serpent's Tooth", the third case profiled. This case was very sad to read as the laws of the 1970s prevented the victim from obtaining the protection she was seeking. Any parent reading this story will have a feeling of dread putting yourself in the victim's shoes.

"Monohan's Last Date" deals with the most vicious and cold blooded killer in the book. I felt this case had more detail than any other highlighted in the book.

"Run as Fast as You Can" seemed out of place in But I Trusted You. The killer and victim had no prior relationship and no trust issues. Perhaps the victim felt safe due to location and time but, again, it seemed an odd choice given the theme of the book.

Both "The Deadly Voyeur" and "Dark Forest: Deep Danger" dealt with individuals who ultimately put their trust in the wrong people, with fatal results. I did not like the somewhat ambiguous ending of "Dark Forest: Deep Danger" though.

Ann Rule's earlier Crime Files were fantastic, well written slices of true crime. Finishing this book, I couldn't help but wonder if she was scraping the bottom of the barrel with these. Don't get me wrong - - Ann Rule has long been my favorite true crime writer and she remains so. Her book on the Diane Downs murder investigation and case, Small Sacrifices, is one of the best written and accounted true crime masterpieces out there, as well as her tale of the Ted Bundy case, The Stranger Beside Me. For that reason, I always have very high standards for her books and this one just didn't quite peak for me.

But I Trusted You is a decent enough book and will certainly do if you are looking for a true crime compellation but I expect more from my Queen of True Crime.

posted by LHedgpeth on October 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    First Book

    All I can say is OMG!! This is my first true crime book and I am hooked on Ann Rule. I'm going the wrong way in her series (I just got done with book 13) The way she writes I feel like I know the victims of these crimes. It is touching and very sad at the same time.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not As Good as I Expected

    But I Trusted You is the fourteenth volume in author Ann Rule's "Crime Files" series, where she takes a novel length case, makes it the main focus of the book and throws in several "smaller" type cases as well. As much as I have enjoyed Ms. Rule's previous efforts, But I Trusted You left me wanting and a bit disappointed.

    Let's start with the feature length case, which concerns the murder of teacher Chuck Leonard by his estranged wife Teresa. I personally did not find anything noteworthy with this case, whether it be that the actual case was a "by the book" spousal homicide or too much was left on the editing room floor. I wish there had been more background on both Chuck and Teresa and would have been happier if this had been one of the "shorter" cases included, allowing room for another true crime case to be included in this volume. I also thought the title did not coordinate with the case, as Chuck and Teresa were already separated and initiating divorce at the time of Chuck's death and neither Chuck nor Teresa trusted the other.

    The second case profiled "Death in Paradise" was a very interesting case but without a firm resolution. I felt as though the story was just skimmed on the surface and the ending left me feeling unsatisfied. Perhaps this would have been a better "featured" case, but with more information on all parties concerned. The title of this book, however, did fit the alleged facts of this case.

    The title also fits "Sharper Than a Serpent's Tooth", the third case profiled. This case was very sad to read as the laws of the 1970s prevented the victim from obtaining the protection she was seeking. Any parent reading this story will have a feeling of dread putting yourself in the victim's shoes.

    "Monohan's Last Date" deals with the most vicious and cold blooded killer in the book. I felt this case had more detail than any other highlighted in the book.

    "Run as Fast as You Can" seemed out of place in But I Trusted You. The killer and victim had no prior relationship and no trust issues. Perhaps the victim felt safe due to location and time but, again, it seemed an odd choice given the theme of the book.

    Both "The Deadly Voyeur" and "Dark Forest: Deep Danger" dealt with individuals who ultimately put their trust in the wrong people, with fatal results. I did not like the somewhat ambiguous ending of "Dark Forest: Deep Danger" though.

    Ann Rule's earlier Crime Files were fantastic, well written slices of true crime. Finishing this book, I couldn't help but wonder if she was scraping the bottom of the barrel with these. Don't get me wrong - - Ann Rule has long been my favorite true crime writer and she remains so. Her book on the Diane Downs murder investigation and case, Small Sacrifices, is one of the best written and accounted true crime masterpieces out there, as well as her tale of the Ted Bundy case, The Stranger Beside Me. For that reason, I always have very high standards for her books and this one just didn't quite peak for me.

    But I Trusted You is a decent enough book and will certainly do if you are looking for a true crime compellation but I expect more from my Queen of True Crime.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    But I Trusted You and other true cases. By Ann Rule.

    I bought this in hopes of finding a quick read, as I was on the road bouncing from trade show to trade show and needed something besides the usual boring television to watch. I'm glad I bought it and now am looking for more books by the same author.
    This book is a terrific read for those of us who love true crime stories and figuring out HOW some of the people in our world turn out to be so mentally twisted. these stories are wonderfully written with intrigue. The author makes the crime come alive with just the right balance of true court proceedure and story telling. Each of the subjects operate their own special kind of dimented perversion and yet somehow still manage to get away with living in an everyday world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Really good!

    Another great book of true-crime stories by Ann Rule! The author is very detailed and thorough in her research and always manages to tie in coincidental dates and/or anniversies. Very intriging and frightening true stories; scary to realize some of the convicted criminals Rule is writing about are soon to be up for parole-hearings. Very in-depth background information; Rule is very knowledgable not only in the crime field but also in regards to psychology. Several fascinating accounts of murders and other horrific crimes solved. I would recommend any of Ann Rule's books; they are all engaging and really interesting. I can't wait for her next book to come out later this month!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Ann Rule's books are the best

    This book and all of Ann Rule's writings are the best, none can compare to the way she brings her real subjects to life on each page. Keeps you turning the page for the next part of the story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    It was lacking the 'center photos'

    I always turn to the center of the Ann Rule books, especially if it's an old case. I love to see the big wide ties and the detectives' mustaches! Anyway, I was surprised and felt cheated. Why is the e book lacking?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A real page-turner, from beginning to end

    I picked up Ann Rule's 'But I Trusted You' to help pass the time on a snowed-in weekend, and found it to be just as engrossing as her earlier works. I thought the most fascinating case file was 'Monohan's Last Date,' about a newly-divorced man in the '70s, who tried to get involved with the 'swingers' scene, and ended up being robbed and murdered by a psychopath. The case file of the title, is the longest and most in-depth in the book, about a woman whose greed led her to destroy a potential lifetime of happiness, with the click of a trigger.
    (I even let a few favorite TV shows pass, because I found the book so difficult to put down...)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    But I trusted you and Ann Rule has a clue

    Intriguing, occupying, stratigic and mystifiying.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Ann Rule's e-books

    I too have just recently been given a nook and am also curious if Ms. Rule's books contain pictures. You see, I'm only a very limited credit amount and even though I LOVE her books, for me, having the pictures of the victims & detectives allows me to become trully "vested" in the story. If these books don't contain the pictures, I will buy the paperback & save my credit for other items.
    Any answer someone could give me would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanking you in advance. M

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    My Daughter Loves The Book, You Have To Check It Out, Highly Recommended

    I Got This Book For My Daughter For Christmas, She Is A Big Ann Rule Fan, Has A Lot Of Her Books. The Only Writer She Likes Reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    ann rule does it again

    another good read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was good, but not the best that Ann Rule has ever writ

    This book was good, but not the best that Ann Rule has ever written. I found the stories to be intriguing but again, not as good as some of the other true crime cases that Rule has written about. My favorite one was probably the last one. C+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    You never disappoint me Ann...

    You never disappoint me Ann...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Martha

    Some of the crime files books available on Nook HAVE the pictures in the back of the book. This one does NOT. My comment is just an FYI. I do believe that Ms. Rule should know better about the editions published for E-readers so that she is aware of this problem. Not having the photos takes away a lot of the pleasure in reading Ms. Rules's books and may just cause many E-reader fans not to buy it from B&N.

    That being said this book is another hit from the absolute Queen of True Crime novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Anne Cruel

    Dead Bundy was funny about not disclosing the details but you do that so dont it is becoming a sick and obvious pain but you know he was a sweet man right he was no profiler. But his glory days are done cause I am and his final cluster is at peace. Why because they are found. Sorry You Loose. Ball in your court or my book is devastating to your friend!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Ann at her usual best

    Always a good read. I've read them all and this one does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Tv The 3rd degree

    Another great book by peterson. How in the would can this guy turn out such good material in such short order. Keep them coming.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7