Customer Reviews for

Butchers Hill (Tess Monaghan Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Da fudge?

    Why am i here Silv?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Here?

    Really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Green eyes

    Sweep the clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Fangs of Night

    Slither in and watches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Bloodmoon

    Scanned the area for any traces of Panthetkit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Great vacation read

    Living in Maryland, Lippman's books are fun to relate to the places in her books. The stories are intriguing enough to keep my interest, but not necessarily challenging or thought provoking. Her characters are believable and situations are believable which makes them fun reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    A good series...

    I got introduced to Tess Monaghan when the first of the series, "Baltimore Blues" was offered as an ebook for 99 cents and now I'm hooked. Ms. Lippman presents a good cast of characters amidst the background of the city of Baltimore with its unique landmarks. I enjoy reading her and will do more of it in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I love this series of books. Kept me guessing through the whole book. I am looking forward to reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps Getting Better!

    With each Tess Monaghan book I read, the more I like her. In Lippman's first book, "Baltimore Blues," I was disappointed in Tess's character, coming to dislike her as much as I dislike Stephanie Plum in Janet Evanovich's books. She seemed bumbling, unintelligent, and generally unlikable.

    In "Butcher's Hill," Lippman has Tess juggling two cases, which means two separate storylines for us. Lippman does a marvelous job balancing the two stories without neglecting or overdoing either of them. While both cases where underwhelming for my taste, I enjoyed watching Tess develop into a stronger, sharper, independent woman while she still struggles with her own flaws. I was pleasantly surprised at the turn of events at the end of the book, although I felt the ending was a bit rushed. I think the case involving Luther Beale seemed a bit rushed at the end and I feel like it could have ended a little more gracefully.

    I'm very pleased with Lippman's books and her further development with Tess. I look forward to reading more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Private investigator Tess Monaghan's first official client is Luther Beale, known as the Butcher of Butchers Hill. Five years earlier, Luther was imprisoned for shooting a young boy vandalizing his car, and Luther wants Tess to find the children who witnessed the shooting so he can make amends to them. Almost immediately, two of those children are found murdered and the police target Beale as the killer. Tess's second case, which becomes a parallel investigation, involves a sophisticated fundraiser who wants Tess to find the child her sister gave up for adoption thirteen years earlier. Tess soon finds herself chasing clues on two cases based on deception, one of which will lead Tess back to her own childhood.

    Tess Monaghan is a refreshing character; an athletic woman with flawed characteristics and a dysfunctional family who strives to do the ethical thing. Lippman provides two mysteries based on misconceptions and falsehoods which the reader will enjoy trying to solve along with Tess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2000

    No Awards for Butcher Hill

    This book presents uninteresting, transparent and two-dimensional characters. The story line is predictable once the author reveals her glaring political bias. I bought this book because it won an award. Now I have to question the integrity of the Agatha Awards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3