Customer Reviews for

The Butler: A Witness to History

Average Rating 3
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(84)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

A wonderfully detailed book about the butler who served for deca

A wonderfully detailed book about the butler who served for decades in the White House. At times it seems like a promotion for the movie, but the writing is solid and the story is strong.

posted by IzzyBIB on August 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

102 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

Where is the book?? 85 pages of the movie promotion. Mr. Eugen

Where is the book?? 85 pages of the movie promotion. Mr. Eugene Allen was neglected. I wanted to read about Mr. Allen and the 34 years he worked in the White House. NOT!!! Very little story about Mr. Allen. The photographs were nice, but I thought I bought a book....
Where is the book?? 85 pages of the movie promotion. Mr. Eugene Allen was neglected. I wanted to read about Mr. Allen and the 34 years he worked in the White House. NOT!!! Very little story about Mr. Allen. The photographs were nice, but I thought I bought a book. Please don't buy this book you will be greatly disappointed. I think we could get a better story about Mr. Allen on Google and reading the net.

posted by Barbara001 on August 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Where is the book?? 85 pages of the movie promotion. Mr. Eugen

    Where is the book?? 85 pages of the movie promotion. Mr. Eugene Allen was neglected. I wanted to read about Mr. Allen and the 34 years he worked in the White House. NOT!!! Very little story about Mr. Allen. The photographs were nice, but I thought I bought a book. Please don't buy this book you will be greatly disappointed. I think we could get a better story about Mr. Allen on Google and reading the net.

    102 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Totally disappointing.  I should have read the reviews,but then

    Totally disappointing.  I should have read the reviews,but then who to believe - the 5 star or the 1 star?  I would give no stars for not delivering anything more than an advertisement for a movie.  There is nothing about Eugene Allen except some photos - he is virtually a side line to a book that is supposed to be his story.  This is all about how a movie got made and the back story, not about a man's experiences in the White House.  I expected much more from a journalist.

    89 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    There's no story here. I was very disappointed. Way too much m

    There's no story here. I was very disappointed. Way too much money for such little substance.

    66 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    What a waste,

    Will never buy another book without reading the reviews. Was in no way what I was expecting. Not a book at all. Just a glorified add for the movie. Don't waste your money or time.

    65 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Terrible

    What a waste of money. This book wasnothing but an infomercial for the movie.

    61 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    $8.99 for 85 pages?

    Nice advertisment for the upcoming film. Not much content otherwise. I expected a history lesson and was so let down I gave up on page 62.




    37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Not about Mr Allen.  Potentially a great story biography or fict

    Not about Mr Allen.  Potentially a great story biography or fictionalize.  They really missed the boat!  DO NOT waste your time or money.  Very disappointed.  

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Terrible

    What a waste of money. Nothing but a few pages about the treat Mr. Allen. Most of the pictures were in my wife's People magazine this week! Don't waste your money on this shell of a book.

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I really wanted to like this book, but it just read as a long ad

    I really wanted to like this book, but it just read as a long advertisement for the movie. I was definitely disappointed.

    30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    I was going to buy this book, but thanks for all the reviews, I

    I was going to buy this book, but thanks for all the reviews, I saved my money

    29 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderfully detailed book about the butler who served for deca

    A wonderfully detailed book about the butler who served for decades in the White House. At times it seems like a promotion for the movie, but the writing is solid and the story is strong.

    19 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a darn good book filled with insight and observation spa

    This is a darn good book filled with insight and observation spanning three decades in the White House. It isn't just a White House book though. There is great insight into equal rights for all races.

    18 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    I want a refund!

    What a waste of money. Is this a paper trailer for the movie? Should have read the reviews first. Shame on B&N charging 8.99 for a poorly written short story. Cancel that one star!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Dont buy

    Not really what you think you are buying

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Too bad I bought this before most other reviews were out. It is

    Too bad I bought this before most other reviews were out. It is indeed a long, expensive advertisement for the movie. How disappointing, and a disservice to Mr. Allen. Just a convoluted and lengthened version of the author's original magazine article to hype the movie. Very unsatisfying. I, too, would expect more from a journalist with Mr. Haygood's credentials.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    I agree with the other reviews. This was a few pages of a movie

    I agree with the other reviews. This was a few pages of a movie promo. I was looking in my emails from B&N to see if this was just a introduction to the actual book. Very disappointed. This should have been offered with the sale $1.99.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Cannot tell you how disappointed I was in this book.  Complete w

    Cannot tell you how disappointed I was in this book.  Complete waste of time and money.  I was really looking forward to a good read.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    Very disappointed that this is not what it seems advertised to b

    Very disappointed that this is not what it seems advertised to be. I agree with others that it seems to be an advertisement for the movie - however we never find out the "script" for the movie.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Total waste!

    No book, what a ripoff. Don't waste your time or money.
    I was excited to read this wonderful man'story about working at the White House.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    What happened? I was expecting to hear Mr. Allen's story. Inst

    What happened? I was expecting to hear Mr. Allen's story. Instead, I got tedious info about the making of the movie. I was disappointed with this purchase. Buyer beware!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11