BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Butterflies Are Free To Fly: A New and Radical Approach to Spiritual Evolution

Average Rating 3
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Thought Provoking

I don't necessarily agree with the author's cold and impersonal "Infinite I" theory, but like many religious or philosophical conclusions to the existence of self, it is nonetheless thought-provoking. The book is well-written, but certainly not without its inconsistenci...
I don't necessarily agree with the author's cold and impersonal "Infinite I" theory, but like many religious or philosophical conclusions to the existence of self, it is nonetheless thought-provoking. The book is well-written, but certainly not without its inconsistencies. I would recommend it to those not afraid to question individuality or ego, but would highly discourage those of blind faith to jump on this bandwagon. You'll only end up back in the theater if you do......

posted by Anasuya on November 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Did you know???

Stephen Davis was broke and living in a 1 bedroom apt with nothing but multiple failed marriages, multiple failed careers and a failed life to show for his 70+ years on this planet. He has "religion hopped", searched for the "new age" and "followed gurus" for most of hi...
Stephen Davis was broke and living in a 1 bedroom apt with nothing but multiple failed marriages, multiple failed careers and a failed life to show for his 70+ years on this planet. He has "religion hopped", searched for the "new age" and "followed gurus" for most of his life... each time believing with all of his heart and professing to the world... "THIS TIME I have figured IT out!" He is at it again! This book starts out fine and his analogies make you feel that maybe, just maybe he, is on to something... until you realize that EVERYTHING IN THE FIRST 200 PAGES is borrowed (LITERALLY) from someone else... he doesn't plagiarize... he tells you that he is borrowing the ideas, the concepts and the philosophy he is talking about! There is not ONE original thought or idea until... THE "Infinite I"! Allow me to save you the 1100+ pages of BS... he compares us (yes, you and me and every other human) to a helpless and meaningless "BIG TOE" that has no power to choose for ourselves, to think for ourselves, to decide what path to take and even goes so far as to suggest that every human tragedy, even those that man has done to hurt, destroy and torture one another IS NOT WRONG! (So, NO learning from our mistakes, NO wisdom, NO evolving through trial and error) He tells us that we are being controlled by the "Infinite I" and that we are to obediently observe... that's it! I guess if I were homeless, penniless, and confronting the end of a completely failed life... a life without anything to show for it... that blaming the "Infinite I" and not taking responsibility for my f' up life would be a comforting philosophy. THIS BOOK IS 'FREE' FOR A REASON! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!

posted by 6771953 on March 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Did you know???

    Stephen Davis was broke and living in a 1 bedroom apt with nothing but multiple failed marriages, multiple failed careers and a failed life to show for his 70+ years on this planet. He has "religion hopped", searched for the "new age" and "followed gurus" for most of his life... each time believing with all of his heart and professing to the world... "THIS TIME I have figured IT out!" He is at it again! This book starts out fine and his analogies make you feel that maybe, just maybe he, is on to something... until you realize that EVERYTHING IN THE FIRST 200 PAGES is borrowed (LITERALLY) from someone else... he doesn't plagiarize... he tells you that he is borrowing the ideas, the concepts and the philosophy he is talking about! There is not ONE original thought or idea until... THE "Infinite I"! Allow me to save you the 1100+ pages of BS... he compares us (yes, you and me and every other human) to a helpless and meaningless "BIG TOE" that has no power to choose for ourselves, to think for ourselves, to decide what path to take and even goes so far as to suggest that every human tragedy, even those that man has done to hurt, destroy and torture one another IS NOT WRONG! (So, NO learning from our mistakes, NO wisdom, NO evolving through trial and error) He tells us that we are being controlled by the "Infinite I" and that we are to obediently observe... that's it! I guess if I were homeless, penniless, and confronting the end of a completely failed life... a life without anything to show for it... that blaming the "Infinite I" and not taking responsibility for my f' up life would be a comforting philosophy. THIS BOOK IS 'FREE' FOR A REASON! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Don't waste your time

    Stephen Davis managed to take one drug induced idea and beat it to death for 1127 pages. I want my time back he stole from me.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Thought Provoking

    I don't necessarily agree with the author's cold and impersonal "Infinite I" theory, but like many religious or philosophical conclusions to the existence of self, it is nonetheless thought-provoking. The book is well-written, but certainly not without its inconsistencies. I would recommend it to those not afraid to question individuality or ego, but would highly discourage those of blind faith to jump on this bandwagon. You'll only end up back in the theater if you do......

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Bible

    Read the bible. It's the only truth you will ever need. CHANGED MY LIFE! JESUS is the way, the truth and the light. Take the challenge! I dare you. Leave all those other useless books alone.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Skip it....

    The author comes across as bitter, self-righteous, and condescending. I couldn't finish the book.not worth the time or the space on my Nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Makes you think...

    I enjoyed the book, but past a certain point it was too far out for me. I understood what the author was saying, and even had real strange experiences while reading this book. Very weird dreams and things did change for me if I followed this authors advice. It got kind of out-of-hand, although; and I put the brakes on. LOL I never finished it because I didn't agree with a great deal of this authors take on life. I will make you think!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Very hard to get into. Poorly written

    I keep trying to get into this book & just can't seem to figure out the key. It is slow, ponderous and relatively stupid.

    It sounds awesome so if someone has the magic button, please let me know.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    Can relate!

    I'm still reading this and a few other books at the same time.I like this book a lot.I think everyone should try this,because we all have been there,or are going to be there,at sometime,or some level in our path of living and learning.I almost have to say it's a "must read."

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Interesting read, to say the least...

    This was an interesting read, I enjoyed his movie theater metaphor, a spin off of Plato's cave...this author, like others, is simply stating his opinion on the matters mentioned in his writing. It is solely up to the reader to take from it what you wish, and use in your own way if you choose.
    I would totally recommend this read to those who are open minded and open hearted and who enjoy a good, radical idea every now and again!!

    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    This a must read book!

    I have really enjoyed this book. It is easy to understand. And the information rings true to me. Maybe if I would have read this book first I wouldnt have had to read the 100 other ones about my spirtual journey. This book has really helped me to see things in a whole new light.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    great book

    well the book was great i recomend it i really do! but i'm not going to tell u what the story is about so read the wonderful book and like it!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    A lot of good initial material from a crazy dude

    Seriously, this book is a.long read although very well written so it goes at a fairly good pace. The first 300-400 pages are actually written well and I feel anyone of any religion could benefit from reading the first third of this book. I would also say the author does a good job writing it and relaying the information and concepts he wishes to get across to the reader. I rated it two stars for several reason, I have to rate the first third of the book as five stars but the last two-thirds of the book would only rate, in my opinion, 1 star. So overall it didn't fair that well using this type of rating system.

    However, I would still recommend this book with the exception that the reader not read past a certain point and that that point will be obvious to them. The author uses quantom physics and recent discoveries in that field to suggest that the world we perceive as real is actually a holographic video style game where we, the human race, are players that our divine source of somekind plays for amusement and return loop feedback of our consciousness, feelings and emotions. The author bases this theory on a few premises which are obviuosly faulty to anyone who can think for themself. The author suggests that existing religions are based on faulty premises and this is why he trys to show the reader his theory of the truyth. But it will very quickly become appparent that his truth is actually a theory gone bad.

    Now while i agree with the author on many things and even some premises, i get a totally different outcome than his which is evidence in and of itself that theory is much more accurate than stating things in the book as truth. Also, the other thing I didn't like was the reference to Taoism as a.religion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Butterflys

    I love this book but idk what it is about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Definitely radical

    I've read this book a couple of times now and I still come back again and again to the same opinion...that I'm missing something. I can get on board with having no control in life, but some infinite I wanting to vampire my emotions is a little much. Okay, so nothing is real....hmmmm. There are some really hard things in life, beside divorces and unpaid bills, that an infinite I creation would not be deemed character building in my book. I cannot wrap my mind around say, something like violent crimes against children, as being an interesting hologram to create to see what the human moron will do. Whats more, the author says its done out of love, to reclaim power you've assigned "out there." Well, we wouldn't have to reclaim power unless it was first taken away. The "I" giveth and the "I" taketh away....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    For anyone who wants to really stick with new years resolutions

    Great book cant really put it down it was highly recommended by an intellegent person whose name i would rather not disclose. If you do read it let me know i am curious what u think.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    entertaining

    Kept me turning pages but not convinced about the hologram
    theory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Aewsome

    Fajjh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Awesome

    A must read for anyone searching for answers about their life...highly recommend to all that keep asking the same questions I have,,,why why why....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Very helpful

    Great book. No judgment. People in prison should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Some good information along with some odd theories

    I love the fact that the author introduces readers to the basics of quantum physics but I don't know if I can agree with his theories of how it all works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11