Customer Reviews for

The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful book.

I'll admit, when I selected this book to review, I was expecting an actual novel to read, like a full-length story. So I was kind of surprised when this small, nearly pocket-sized baby of a book showed up in my mailbox! Yes, it is a very quick read; Amazon lists it as h...
I'll admit, when I selected this book to review, I was expecting an actual novel to read, like a full-length story. So I was kind of surprised when this small, nearly pocket-sized baby of a book showed up in my mailbox! Yes, it is a very quick read; Amazon lists it as having 115 pages but each of those pages has maybe one sentence. It can be thumbed through in one sitting. But I don't think that was the intention. I do believe this is more of a gift book, something you get when someone in your life needs some inspiration and hope. Or to pick up for yourself when you're having a dark day and really need to find that little glimmer of hope. This is a really beautiful book, both visually and in its message. This would make a stunning addition to your coffee table. I definitely and highly recommend this book.

posted by anathica on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just not that into gift books

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Summary: Motivational speaker and writer attempts to drive home the point that any small action can have an eventual huge effect. He demonstrates this with one longer story of Colonel Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, who helped win the Civil Wa...
Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Summary: Motivational speaker and writer attempts to drive home the point that any small action can have an eventual huge effect. He demonstrates this with one longer story of Colonel Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, who helped win the Civil War and saved thousands of lives. But there were other people who made Chamberlain's life possible - others effected those others, as well, as so it goes on and on.

Review: While it's an interesting concept, The Butterfly Effect really didn't do anything for me. It doesn't make for a very good table or gift book. It's short and easy to read, which can be a plus, but it's not something I would ever want to read again. Much of it is exactly the same as the children's book version, "The Boy Who Changed the World," and I enjoyed the children's book much more. At least it has colorful pictures to make me happy. I'm just not a huge fan of pointless gift books. But if that's your cup of tea, you'll enjoy this book.

posted by HarmoniousGlow on October 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Beautiful book.

    I'll admit, when I selected this book to review, I was expecting an actual novel to read, like a full-length story. So I was kind of surprised when this small, nearly pocket-sized baby of a book showed up in my mailbox! Yes, it is a very quick read; Amazon lists it as having 115 pages but each of those pages has maybe one sentence. It can be thumbed through in one sitting. But I don't think that was the intention. I do believe this is more of a gift book, something you get when someone in your life needs some inspiration and hope. Or to pick up for yourself when you're having a dark day and really need to find that little glimmer of hope. This is a really beautiful book, both visually and in its message. This would make a stunning addition to your coffee table. I definitely and highly recommend this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    if you need encouragement or stimulation...

    Have you ever given any thought to how your choices and actions now might affect the future, even after you're gone? In 1963, Edward Lorenz presented a hypothesis that "A butterfly could flap its wings and set molecules of air in motion, which would move other molecules of air, in turn, moving more molecules of air-eventually capable of starting a hurricane on the other side of the planet." This gave birth to the idea of the "butterfly effect." Based upon this concept, New York Times bestselling author Andy Andrews uses a couple of examples and their effects in history-Col. Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, who held back the Confederate charge at the Battle of Gettysburg; and Norman Borlaug, who developed hybridized high yield, disease resistant corn and wheat for arid climates which saved two billion people-to remind us that every single thing which we do matters. "Is life just a lottery ticket, or are there choices one can make to direct his future?"
    Andy Andrews is a popular motivational author and speaker. When he was nineteen, he lost his mother to cancer and his minister father in an automobile accident within the span of a few months, and, as a result. spent several years homeless on the coast of Alabama. At the age of 23, he was given guidance by an old man named Jones, who told him, "With a little perspective, you can live a life of permanent purpose." Out of this advice, Andrews says that he came up with the "Seven Decisions." Touring the United States as a comedian, he opened for acts such as Kenny Rogers and Joan Rivers, and as his popularity increased, he started adding more serious tones, including his Seven Decisions, into his act. This began his transformation from comedian to professional speaker. The Seven Decisions eventually shaped the manuscript of his 2002 New York Times best-selling novel The Traveler's Gift.
    Since then, Andrews has spoken at the request of four different U. S. presidents, at military bases worldwide, and at the world's largest corporations. He has written over twenty books, including The Noticer and The Heart Mender, and sold more than 3.5 million copies around the world. In 2009, The Noticer became his second New York Times best-seller. His books have been translated into over twenty languages. The Butterfly Effect was released as a gift book to help people understand that our actions have value far greater than silver or gold. I enjoyed reading it, learning about both Col. Chamberlain and Mr. Borlaug, and considering how their actions had consequences far beyond their time. Andrews says, "Know that your actions cannot be hoarded, saved for later, or used selectively. By your hand, millions-billions-of lives will be altered, caught up in a chain of events begun by you this day." Whether you need serious encouragement to overcome a negative attitude or just a gentle nudge to stimulate your thinking as you journey along the way of life, you'll find it in The Butterfly Effect.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What You Do Matters. Every Move You Make, Every Action You Take...MATTERS

    I was supposed to have reviewed this book last year. I was given a link to an E-Book by Thomas Nelson Publishers and I had some upheaval in my life and just didn't have time to read it and then it expired. I was so bummed. I love just about everything Andy Andrews writes, and couldn't believe I just blew a chance to read this. Then someone was kind enough to give me a Barnes and Noble Gift Card and I used it to purchase the book. It was worth it.

    If you have never read Andy Andrews, most of what he writes is in allegory format (a truth wrapped inside a story). This was the way Jesus taught most things for a reason. Stories stick with us. I love Andy because he shares little tidbits of history, which I love. One of his favorite people in history is Joshua Chamberlain, a 34-year-old college professor turned Union Army Colonel. This man was given one task during a battle that ultimately changed the course of history for the U.S. Mr. Andrews has given us some of his story in some of his other books like "The Traveler" and The Noticer", but I don't remember him going into as much detail, and I have to tell you, he has turned into one of my favorite historical characters.

    This book is not a hard read. It took me about 15 minutes to read it cover-to-cover, but it is a book that everyone should read once, and then again and again as a way to remind ourselves that what we do matters, not just to us or our family, but could have long lasting impact that we can't even see.

    I also want to encourage you to put Andy Andrews in your To Be Read list. Motivate yourself and others around you to make everything you do count. It's up to you...Do Something!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    This book was absolutely amazing. I am intrigued with what is called The Butterfly Effect. If you have seen the movie then you kind of know what it is. If not, basically it is when any form of matter makes one move, it can change the life of everyone. The book goes into detail of examples that prove this to be true. It is amazing how one move by one person years and years ago can effect my life today at this very moment. It is a very inspiring book that tells you that you do matter. If you are going through something and are wondering why you are even alive then this book is for you, or maybe if you just want to be inspired then this book is for you too. I would recommend this book to every single person on the planet, it is really that good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Butterfly Effect

    I'm sure everyone's heard of the butterfly effect. Well, this book really puts it on the forefront and makes readers realize that their lives matter. Whether they give a command that will have historical significance, simply encourage someone, or stand up for a helpless person, all people can make a difference. Some stories in the book revolve around Civil War battles, politicians, science, and history in general. The shiny cover and overall optimistic message towards readers is copacetic. However, I'd like this book more if God and Jesus were part of "The Butterfly Effect." After all, if One Man's action's can be said to have had the most impact of the world, it would not be a soldier or politician--it'd be Jesus.
    http://brb.thomasnelson.com/reviews/blogger/2503

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Wonderful Book and Author

    This is a definite "get you thinking" kind of book. I have read a few of this author's other books and can recommend them all. This book is a 20 minute read that could change a lifetime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Do we effect the lives of others?

    The Butterfly Effect was an amazing book that demonstrated how lives can be interwoven and effect man kind in a positive way. Andy Andrews, uses various people who have somehow impacted the future of each other's lives. By one person doing something, another person was able to take the next step. It reminded me of the movie "Pay it Forward". This book demonstrated why we should try and help others, because you never know what good thing will result because of this action. This book was a fast book to read, and would make a wonderful gift for anyone. The illustrations in the book were beautiful. This book left me with a feeling that what I do in my life does matter. And that I should always strive to achieve new things. I wish the book had been longer, because I really enjoyed reading it.


    Disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their [...] book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Big Inspiration in a Small Package

    Simply amazing. I had the pleasure of receiving an early release Ebook of The Butterfly Effect by Andy Andrews and was immediately drawn in from the initial pages. I must tell you, I had the great fortune to hear in person Mr. Andrews gripping story that he so eloquently unfolds in the opening pages of The Butterfly Effect. Brought to life by his words in person, or simply jumping off the pages, this book will grip you and pull you in from the word go.

    By no means is this book a long drawn out version, but what it does have is a message with a weight if implemented in each and every persons life that has the pleasure to read it could change the world. The reality, as Mr. Andrews shares the information, it would not matter if you read the book or not, you are a function in this life be it good or bad.

    I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone. I don't believe that it is tailored to any one single audience. Or, should I say it is tailored to one audience and that audience is the world as a whole. A bit melodramatic perhaps, but the core concept that our actions have the ability to impact today and the future is mind blowing. Its very obvious mind you, but the series of stories and events that Andy backs up the goods with, should and will create real change. Bravo Mr. Andrews for a great, simple piece of work that is not only great to read, but a beautiful piece. Will maybe a great coffee table book at my home for years to come!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review of "The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters" By Andy Andrews

    The Butterfly Effect is a great book for for adults to learn how their life really does matter. It is an inspiring story of how one person can really make a difference in the world and how one person can influence another person and so on and so on to lead to an ultimate outcome for good. It's inspiring to know that history can be changed by one small little act from a common person that not many people have even ever heard of.

    It is known as the "butterfly effect" where one thing you do has consequences you may never imagine for everyone on Earth. This is a great story to show that we are all connected and that everything we do does matter because not only does it affect you personally but it affects everyone else in the world personally too. This book displays how to understand cause and effect and to remind us that there is a reason why you are here and you have a purpose even if you don't know what that purpose is yet. It's a good story to teach you that the decisions they make today and tomorrow are very important, not only for your own life but for the lives of others too. Thinking about others and how a decision or action could affect another person helps people both think about and put others ahead of themselves and help you become less selfish. This is a great book I would highly recommend. It's a true story which makes it even better. I am book review blogger for Thomas Nelson Booksneeze and received this book free of charge to write a review. All opinions are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Live a Life of Permanent Purpose

    Every single thing you do matters.

    It is too easy to get lost in the big world and think that what you do is insignificant. It is too easy to think that unless you're a president or a TV show star, no one except your immediate friends and relatives is affected by what you do. However, even if all you do is sweep the streets and other behind-the-scenes jobs, it matters! That is the main topic of the Butterfly Effect book by Andy Andrews, the New York Times bestselling author and inspirational corporate speaker.

    I loved how Andy used stories about common people to show how important the implications of what they did were for the world as we know it these days. Who knows, maybe the next person you'll help on the street by giving them directions will change the world.

    This gift book is ideal for Young Adults age group as well as older people.

    I would highly recommend this book because it touches upon a very important issue - in the age when the separation gap between people becomes wider and wider - some get extremely popular and some remain in the shadows - everyone needs to know that what they do affects their surroundings. and beyond.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    T

    Yqkl

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    the butterfly effect was a great book it is a reminder that every moment of every day counts and you never know when your courage is going to make the difference it inspired me to remember my actions can effect more than just me and i don't have to have the greatest thing to change the world sometimes all it takes to make the difference in this world is just the courage to act on what is right in your heart no matter the consequences or the risk because you never know who or what you could change

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    An inspiration gift book

    The Butterfly Effect is a gift book written by New York Times bestselling author Andy Andrews. This hard-bound book with glossy colorful pages aims to show how the decisions you make and the way you treat others have more impact than you may ever realize.

    I love inspirational books and Andy Andrew's examples of the different persona, both real and biblical, that changed the world through their simple acts had successfully inspired me.

    This is the kind of book that I'll give to a friend as a gift. It's a collection of easy to read short stories that wishes to open our mind to the truth that anybody can change the world in their own simple, courageous ways.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Amazing Read...

    This book is amazing. Once I started reading it I couldn't stop. It is a very easy read and only took me a short time to finish it. It's a small hardcover book that is beautifully designed and reminds us in a profound way that our lives have great value and the ability to change the world around us, no matter how routine or ordinary we may think they are. There is no mention of God or bible verses in it so it is a general market book. I think it is effective. The Butterfly Effect is a theory that if a butterfly flaps it wing causing a small air current and that air current connects with another air current, eventually it could cause a hurricane on the other part of the world. It's the same with what we do. Andy Andrews has put together a beautiful gift book that eloquently underscores why each and every life really does matter. It's a MUST read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Compelling Read

    A few years back we came across a movie by similar name. The butterfly effect is a book which gives us insight into how things have a tendency to grow larger with each small impetus given to it. Based on the hypothesis proposed by Edward Lorenz in 1939, this book goes on to demonstrate how a small gesture or nudge can create life altering reactions for many people. Basically this book attempts to answer the question in every ones mind consciously or subconsciously : Do I Really Matter?

    Author of the Children's illustrated book - The Boy who Changed the World, The Butterfly Effect makes for a compelling read, demonstrating that what we do matters. Andy Andrews demonstrates how one decision made by a man 150 years ago, has led to a revolution in agrarian life today. It's a story that will inspire courage and wisdom in the decisions we make, as well as affect the way we treat others through our lifetime. Andrews speaks over 100 times a year, and The Butterfly Effect is his #1 most requested story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Awesome Book

    Anything with Andy Andrews name on it I will pick up and read. He is very inspiring and always has a great message to tell. Just like his two new books "The Butterfly effect and "The Boy Who Changed the World" Both tell the same story but one is for adults and the other for kids.
    I love the butterfly effect; I have heard that story many times watching video of Andy tell the story, but it nice to be able to have it in a nice gift book that can be shared with all. The story short and simple but the message is powerful. Everything we do can have an effect on other later in life.
    The boy who changed the world is a great book that I can share with my children and with my oldest just starting school I can share the message that you can make a different in life and that your life matter to all. That God made you, and put you here on earth for a reason.
    With the holiday season so coming upon us these two books will make perfect gifts. I highly recommended pick them up. Thank you to Thomas Nelson company for my two advance copy of Andy's book.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    The Butterfly Effect by Andy Andrews

    This is a powerful and thought provoking book that could be read in one sitting. The Butterfly Effect talks about everything you do matters. That the small acts could have a huge impact on the world. The good or bad you do today could reap on the days to come. The actions you make today can effect tomorrow. Andy Andrews says, " Every single thing you do matters. You have been created as one of a kind. You have been created in order to make a difference. you have within you the power to change the world". Each person can do something great if they understand that what they do today matters.

    I believe that if you grab a cup of coffee and spend an hour reading this book you will walk away changed. This book was a great book that lifted my spirits and reminded me that today matters. This should be a must read for ever leader. I deftly plan on recommending this book to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully Enlightening Read

    Andy Andrews has captured the attention of the literary world again, with his writing of "The Butterfly Effect." This insightful read will grab you from the beginning and you won't be able to let go.
    This selection gives the reader the insight to realize that what we do, does matter, and in fact, the effects of what we do can and will be felt for eternity. A prime example of this theory, is the story of Joshua Lawerance Chamberlain, a schoolteacher from Maine, who finds himself leading a Union force during the battle of Gettysburg, during the American Civil War. His decisions and actions taken that July 2, 1863 had great impact on the outcome of that battle and probably the end of the war itself. The above is just one example of what you will read in "The Butterfly Effect.
    My favorite quote can be found right at the beginning and is by Any Andrews himself. "Every single thing you do matters. You have been created as one of a kind. You have been created in order to make a difference. You have within you the power to change the world." This quote says it all. We are in control of our lives and it's up to each and every one of us to use that power and to make the correct decisions and correct actions.
    Thank you Andy for another wonderful and thought provoking read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Think you don't matter? Think again.

    Have you ever thought to yourself "I just don't matter?" Do you sometimes feel like no one cares what you do? In this beautiful story, Andy Andrews tells us why every one matters. Decisions you make today will affect generations to come. You can be a positive force in the universe.

    "The Butterfly Effect: How your life matters" gives some real life examples of how one action affects every thing else. It is truly inspiring to read. I love how the author keeps reaffirming that you matter, that each of us makes a difference, and that we can all be remembered by our actions.

    The story begins by explaining what the butterfly effect is. It explains how a butterfly flapping it's wings causes a perpetual motion that could in theory start a hurricane thousands of miles away. Just as one action today could cause a revolution tomorrow.

    This is a wonderful book to give to your loved ones. It is reaffirming, uplifting, and inspiring. I love how it gives examples of real people to show that this is not just a theory, that each of us really does matter.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Simple Acts Have Lasting Effects

    Would you live differently if you knew that the actions you take today would impact generations to come?

    In The Butterfly Effect, Andy Andrews states that in 1963 a scientist postulated that a butterfly's wings, when flapped, could cause world events on the opposite side of the globe.

    Andy shares stories of heroes that shaped our future, because they chose to stand and fight. Once simple choice allowed the United States of America to thrive and be a game changer in two world wars - all because of one man - Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain.

    Two billion people fed because of a series of events in history. From Henry Wallace to George Washington Carver to who knows where the trail ends - these individuals shaped history and prevented famine. They did not wake up one day and say:

    "I'm going to prevent a famine today."

    No, they made conscious choices to help society and people in their generations, and as a result they helped prevent famines in generations far in the future.

    Just as butterfly wings could create change half way around the world, so do your actions and words change each of us in the future. Investment in a child today, could change his life today and he could grow up to save a nation. Caring for a widow today, could be the example that the grandchildren witness and they could give their lives to Christ because you cared enough to care for their grandmother.

    Today is only the beginning of your influence - choose which it will be - good or bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3