Customer Reviews for

Butterfly Messages

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A delightful, enchanting Sunday afternoon read¿.so subtly, so a


A delightful, enchanting Sunday afternoon read….so subtly, so artfully, I must say, more of life’s little lessons in an easy ‘Southern’ dialog, moving the reader, once again, to see oneself and a reminder to not live life forward, projecting what the outcome will be…li...

A delightful, enchanting Sunday afternoon read….so subtly, so artfully, I must say, more of life’s little lessons in an easy ‘Southern’ dialog, moving the reader, once again, to see oneself and a reminder to not live life forward, projecting what the outcome will be…life has many twists and turns and the outcome can be a marvelous surprise! That’s the way ‘real life’ is…it’s a surprise; just live your very best life each day allowing for opportunities of challenge and the altering direction.

I recommend this charming book to readers of all ages, enjoy unveiling yourself in many of the excerpts… then pass it on to your daughters or your granddaughters…sooner or later their lessons will be learned.

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

STORY PULLS YOU IN

This is an interesting take on a love story. While I appreciate that this book was fiction, it lost stars because the author attributed every happening to anything BUT God. I would hope that if karma and butterflies could send messages, surely God could. Despite this un...
This is an interesting take on a love story. While I appreciate that this book was fiction, it lost stars because the author attributed every happening to anything BUT God. I would hope that if karma and butterflies could send messages, surely God could. Despite this unfortunate fact, this was a very good story.

posted by 10505488 on April 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    STORY PULLS YOU IN

    This is an interesting take on a love story. While I appreciate that this book was fiction, it lost stars because the author attributed every happening to anything BUT God. I would hope that if karma and butterflies could send messages, surely God could. Despite this unfortunate fact, this was a very good story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    A delightful, enchanting Sunday afternoon read¿.so subtly, so a


    A delightful, enchanting Sunday afternoon read….so subtly, so artfully, I must say, more of life’s little lessons in an easy ‘Southern’ dialog, moving the reader, once again, to see oneself and a reminder to not live life forward, projecting what the outcome will be…life has many twists and turns and the outcome can be a marvelous surprise! That’s the way ‘real life’ is…it’s a surprise; just live your very best life each day allowing for opportunities of challenge and the altering direction.

    I recommend this charming book to readers of all ages, enjoy unveiling yourself in many of the excerpts… then pass it on to your daughters or your granddaughters…sooner or later their lessons will be learned.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    I enjoyed reading your novel. You did a great job!!

    It was interesting and exciting and I couldn't put it down until I read the whole thing.

    C. Tripp

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Loved this story

    Great story brings alot of things to think about and how you handel them and how you move on with your life and live for today be greatful for what you do have in your life

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Three and a half maybe a bit of 4 stars

    I read this book following two books I considered 5 star reads, so I was not as impressed as reviewers before me. Not sure if I will recommend as the book left me feeling very sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    "Butterfly Messages" by Jamie Tingen is a bittersweet

    "Butterfly Messages" by Jamie Tingen is a bittersweet love story that will have readers wondering "what if" about sweethearts and circumstances in their past.

    Annette Mardis
    Former newspaper reporter and editor; freelance writer and editor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    I really loved this book. I cried and laughed. This book reall

    I really loved this book. I cried and laughed. This book really meant a lot to me. I could relate with this whole book.
    LISA HALL- Kentucky

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Tender, insightful, suspenseful and current in today's world.

    Who wouldn’t like a “do-over” in life? Jamie Tingen’s first novel, Butterfly Messages, digs into the whys and what-ifs of such a possibility. It reaches deep down to that soft spot in your soul which longs to recapture the exhilaration of first love but is paralyzed by fear of the pain it could also bring. Every twist and turn unravels more of the mystery of Magnolia Gardner’s painful past, her hidden secrets and…her future. The colorful Southern characters are lively and real, as are the life lessons so entertainingly intertwined in this timeless love story of rediscovery. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2014

    This was a beautiful love story with just the right amount of &q

    This was a beautiful love story with just the right amount of "grit" behind it. I thoroughly enjoyed it and hope to read more by the author soon. It was shorter than most books, but in this case I was happy for that because I think a longer novel would have been overkill for the story. This was perfect. Solid 4 star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    To scavenger hunt people!!!

    Go to dead and alive result one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    ?

    So much for getting this book. Another one ruined by rude selfish, inconsiderate, egotistical plot spoilers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite “Butterflies kno

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    “Butterflies know more 'bout living than humans.” Butterflies have a short life span. But they know to make the most of the time they have, and not to look back. Scratch was helping Mag move out of the cottage when he shared that bit of wisdom with her. The cottage just wasn’t the same without Ash. She first met Ash when she was seventeen. Lily, her best friend, accused her of having dreamy eyes for him. When he asked her to marry him she said yes but the next day he disappeared out of her life only to return many years later. He needed her by his side. They had never stopped loving each other but their time together was much too short.

    I truly enjoyed this book and yet I find it very difficult to share a summary without giving away too much information. Jamie Elizabeth Tingen offers readers a tale that will bring tears, smiles and laughter. Scratch is a secondary character and yet he makes the book. He is uneducated and yet he may be the wisest character in the book. Scratch has a deep wisdom that came from his dad. Mag is a multidimensional character. She carries pain and a secret deep within her. Ash is hard to describe. He never stopped loving Mag but allowed himself to be manipulated. Mag and Ash learned a lesson in this tale: hold on to today and forget about yesterday. In my mind’s eye I could picture the old cottage and the mountain. I fell in love with this story and did not want it to end. While the ending was not the one I wanted, it was a very satisfying ending. This is a tale you won’t want to miss.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1