Customer Reviews for

By Blood

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating

Great read that explores therapy and the Holocaust from a different perspective than any other book I have read. Deeply moving and memorable. Hope she writes more that incorporates the psychological elements.

posted by 8545005 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book started off great. Unusual story that quickly gets gri

This book started off great. Unusual story that quickly gets gripping. Liked it a lot until the end. 
When I finished the last page I was astounded. No ending. It just stopped. I must have missed something.
I go back and reread the last few pages. What?????
Great book w...
This book started off great. Unusual story that quickly gets gripping. Liked it a lot until the end. 
When I finished the last page I was astounded. No ending. It just stopped. I must have missed something.
I go back and reread the last few pages. What?????
Great book with awful ending.

posted by reilly1 on February 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Fascinating

    Great read that explores therapy and the Holocaust from a different perspective than any other book I have read. Deeply moving and memorable. Hope she writes more that incorporates the psychological elements.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brooding Mystery

    It is the 1970's and a disgraced professor has come to San Francisco, awaiting the judgement of his college. A tenured professor, there is an allegation of improper student contact, and now he must wait for the wheels of collegial justice to grind out his fate. Knowing that it will take months, he has fled to another city where he is to work on research and papers. It is an unsettled time in San Francisco. The peace and love generation has given way to terrorists similar to those who kidnapped Patty Hearst. The Zodiac killer is stalking the streets. There is unease everywhere, including the professor's mind.

    He takes an office in a cheap location, and there he finds his solace. He is placed next to a psychiatrist's office, and the construction is so cheap that he can hear through the walls. Not everyone; for most patients there is a white noise machine. But one patient, the one that the professor begins to think of as 'his patient' wants the machine turned off and he can hear everything she says.

    The patient is caught up in the same identity crisis the professor has fought his whole life. Both feel they don't belong anywhere, that there is something unique about them that sets them apart and makes them unlovable. The patient believes it is her past as an adopted child. The professor comes from a family rife with mental disease and suicides. Both struggle to determine if they are a product of their genes, fated at birth to become what they are, or if they have the strength to define themselves apart from their heredity.
    The professor has spent years in therapy and has removed himself from that setting. Yet he finds himself drawn into the struggle of the patient as she confronts her adoptive parents. He uses his research skills to find her birth mother and the truth of her background and mails the results to her pretending to be a clerk at the adoption agency. He then sits back and waits to see what will happen, if his gift will enable the patient to move forward with her life or if the truth of her background will swamp her.

    Ellen Ullman has written a brooding tale that draws the reader in hypnotically. Set in short chapters, the hour long therapy sessions are juxtaposed with the actions of the professors. The story rackets up the suspense as the truth is revealed a bit at a time. Will the therapist have the skills to free the patient, and the professor who looms in the background and is just as needy? This book is recommended for all readers, an atmospheric tale that will not soon be forgotten.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    This is one of those books where you don't know if you are going

    This is one of those books where you don't know if you are going to be able to get into it and then you are hooked big time.  The whole psychiatric play between the patient the listener, and the psychiatrist herself is worth the read.   The addition of the Holocaust mystery along with the psychological drama makes this a very engrossing story. and it leads to an engrossing story...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Page turner!

    Wonderful. Loved it! I couldn't wait to find out about "the patient" and of her "mysterious origins".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    This book started off great. Unusual story that quickly gets gri

    This book started off great. Unusual story that quickly gets gripping. Liked it a lot until the end. 
    When I finished the last page I was astounded. No ending. It just stopped. I must have missed something.
    I go back and reread the last few pages. What?????
    Great book with awful ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    The narrator seems to be a man who is so unhappy in his own work

    The narrator seems to be a man who is so unhappy in his own work that he uses voyeurism to escape. It is an interesting subject with a unique point of view. 
    While i found it generally gripping, there were moments (generally in the beginning) where the story seem to drag on and I felt I was forcing myself to read on, instead of being pulled to the next page.
    In all I am very glad I finished to book, the feeling I had from the conclusion of the the story was well worth it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    So-so

    I really wanted to like this book. The plot device of having the narrator listening to the secondary main character's therapy sessions through the wall was a really interesting concept. However, I felt the book didn't deliver. I felt we never got enough answers about the narrator himself and the book ended somewhat abruptly (which does make sense in the context of the book, but left me hanging a little bit). I also did not expect this book to be so heavily focused on the history of World War II. I have no problem with it, I just didn't think the summary of the book made it clear, so I am noting it here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    Not done yet in fairness -- but I don't feel like finishing.  Ma

    Not done yet in fairness -- but I don't feel like finishing.  Maybe i jsut don't care all that much about Freudian analysis as a plot revealer.  Maybe suddenly in the next chapter it will get "gripping" and be the promised "page turner'.  I think it is very awkward writing Father hates Catholics, Grandfather hates Jews , oh woe what is to bcome of me?  type thing. I just want to shake the patient and tell her to go live her life. So I am impatient with this book so far. Going to start skipping and scanning but... "Notable Book of the Year"   it is not. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Interesting Read

    The book started out a little slow, but then the story really developed. About 159 pages into it, I could not put it down. There are themes in the book that really made me think. I enjoyed is book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Keeps you absorbed and then some !!!!!!!!

    Anyone who has ever had any experience with psychoanalysis in any capacity will be enthralled immediately. Great read.!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1