Customer Reviews for

By Design

Average Rating 3.5
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

How to write a book review instead of a book report

I gave it 5 stars because i did not want to lower the authors rating with my post ... its a free book friday selection so its all good as far as i'm concerned ...people here need to understand that a book review is RADICALLY DIFFERENT from a book report .....we don't n...
I gave it 5 stars because i did not want to lower the authors rating with my post ... its a free book friday selection so its all good as far as i'm concerned ...people here need to understand that a book review is RADICALLY DIFFERENT from a book report .....we don't need to include a synopsis of the story that is what the overview in the description is for . A good book review need only answer a few questions 1 was it good ? 2) Why did you enjoy it ? (I.e realism of charachters , humorous qualities ,likeability of charachters, emotional connections etc ).How long was it? And would you read it again? Most importantly do not put plot spoilers .this is how you write a good review .all these long detailed ones found here read like high school book reports not reviews ...you prove you've read the book ....while ruining it for potential future readers

posted by MrsTrip on September 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

INFINITY & BEYOND

I have not read this book yet, but felt compelled to write about the long reviews. If I see a long review I just "skip" over it. BUT the review the Anonymous May 30, 2013 left was more than just long it was to INFINITY & BEYOND !!! I do believe B&N could put ...
I have not read this book yet, but felt compelled to write about the long reviews. If I see a long review I just "skip" over it. BUT the review the Anonymous May 30, 2013 left was more than just long it was to INFINITY & BEYOND !!! I do believe B&N could put a end to this by limiting how many words or lines are allowed to a review. Just saying....

posted by 8372715 on September 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    It took me a while to read this one and I¿m not sure why.  I thi

    It took me a while to read this one and I’m not sure why.  I think the very beginning might have been a little slow but once I got into it I just couldn’t put it down.  I’d try to find a stopping point to do those mundane, everyday things (like cook and eat) but I’d get to the end of a chapter and find myself compelled to keep reading.  By Design is an engaging story not only about finding love, but also about finding yourself. - Full review available at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch on Wordpress. 

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Interior Designer hopeful, Emmie Brewster, is stuck in a job goi

    Interior Designer hopeful, Emmie Brewster, is stuck in a job going nowhere. Her boss, Wilma, is a monster to work for and her boyfriend is cheating on her. She starts surfing her high school classmates on the web and yearns for their success. Just when she thinks she’ll be stuck in this rut forever the most gorgeous man enters her office. After days of wish filled fantasies about the mystery hunk she discovers he is having an affair with the popular girl from high school that has just returned to their home town.

    Suddenly something clicks and Emmie decides she is going for what she wants. The mystery man, which she learns name is Graham, tells her overbearing boss that he wants Emmie as the lead on his design project. With her quirky friends by her side Emmie struggles her way into the life she always desired. Will she have to face it alone or can she win the man of her dreams?

    This was a fun, entertaining story. I enjoyed watching Emmie fight her way into the life she has always wanted. Jayne Denker wrote true friendship, strong characters and Emmie as a young woman embolden by her stagnant life. By Design was a great contemporary romance and a perfectly delightful book.

    This ARC copy of By Design was given to me by Kensington Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication May 16, 2013. 

    6 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    : )

    I enjoyed this book. Will look for more by this author.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Yes

    I am not usually a fan of romance novels but this one was sweet. No bodice ripping. I liked it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    quick fun read

    not to deep, what will happen next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Cute story

    I thought it was pretty cute. It was a very quick read and kept me coming back everytime I put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Touching and fun

    Great read! A few grammatical errors but they did not detract from the story. Definitely one I will read again. Very easy to relate to the characters .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    A fun read!

    I enjoyed this book quite a bit. Loved the characters and appreciated that they had real life personalities and problems. Laughed out loud a few times. Will definitely read more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Great guilty pleasure book

    It is rare that a romance novel makes me start laughing hysterically, but this one did, and not from implausible plot points or cardboard cutout characters. Unlike most novels, where the characters just float through life with no visible means of support even when they allegedly have jobs, in this one there is a sense of realism about Emmie's horrible boss and Trish's rowdy family. I was afraid Emmie would turn out to be the kind of wet-dishrag character I despise, but she ended up sprouting a backbone fairly quickly.
    This one had wonderful female characters. I have to admit, I almost liked Trish better than Emmie. I loved the repartee among the characters. The fact that I love the old screwball comedies may have some bearing on that.
    While this book did not involve pet leopards or escaped convicts or Cary Grant, it was an excellent light read. Would definitely read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Good Read

    This was a good read. I got it for a free frida read, but it took me a while to actually read it. There was so much going on with certain characters that I really didn't know what would happen. I would read more books from this authoer, and despite some of the female characters making me shake my head at how naive they could be (but it sure kept me reading) I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Good Book

    Really enjoyed reading this one. Made you forget what was happening around you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    **** This book was easy to read and delightful storyline, at tim

    ****
    This book was easy to read and delightful storyline, at times difficuly to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Good Story

    An easy read with a good story and likable characters. Has a few surprises too. Glad I didn't really look at the cover much because that is not how I pictured them to look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Cute story

    I liked the story and the funny things that happen. I also like how the author tied her thoughts together with the other people's actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Recommended

    Light reading but a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Cute

    Easy, fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Entertaining

    I was relieved it wasnt too sappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Good read.

    This is the first book I've read by this author. I was a little frustrated by the lack of communication between the main characters, but love won out in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Entertaining romance novel

    Jayne Denker has written an enjoyable book for lighter reading. Her characters intrigued me with their all-to-human traits, their good hearts, and their mistakes. I enjoyed it and would recommend it as a fun romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Enjoyable story

    Enjoyable, light reading. A nice book to relax with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4