Customer Reviews for

By Grace and Banners Fallen: Prologue to A Memory of Light

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I just finished reading this wonderful chapter. Its is beautiful

I just finished reading this wonderful chapter. Its is beautiful and terrible, how I figure the final book must be.If you area fan of the series and want a primer while waiting out the last 4 months do yourself a favor and spend the $2.99.I'll re-read this several times...
I just finished reading this wonderful chapter. Its is beautiful and terrible, how I figure the final book must be.If you area fan of the series and want a primer while waiting out the last 4 months do yourself a favor and spend the $2.99.I'll re-read this several times in the next few weeks trying to uncover the secrets.

posted by WarderAK on September 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

This should be free!

This prologue is available for free online! And no, it's not an illegal scan but a legal, copy right protected release from the publisher at the behest of the co-author Brandon Sanderson. This here is just a blatant display of greed from B&N to charge for something that...
This prologue is available for free online! And no, it's not an illegal scan but a legal, copy right protected release from the publisher at the behest of the co-author Brandon Sanderson. This here is just a blatant display of greed from B&N to charge for something that's supposed to be free!

posted by 16692111 on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    This should be free!

    This prologue is available for free online! And no, it's not an illegal scan but a legal, copy right protected release from the publisher at the behest of the co-author Brandon Sanderson. This here is just a blatant display of greed from B&N to charge for something that's supposed to be free!

    23 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Short

    Entirely too short for the cost and hype of the upcoming book.

    Story was well done but needed more depth

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    I just finished reading this wonderful chapter. Its is beautiful

    I just finished reading this wonderful chapter. Its is beautiful and terrible, how I figure the final book must be.If you area fan of the series and want a primer while waiting out the last 4 months do yourself a favor and spend the $2.99.I'll re-read this several times in the next few weeks trying to uncover the secrets.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Gotta be kidding me

    I've been reading this series sense it was first released starting with the eye of the world in hardcover. I was one of those people who never got rid of a book once I got it. And my house was running completely out of wall space. But when the nook color came out, I jumped on the ebook band wagon whole heartedly. I even gave away all of the over 2500 paper backs and 500+ hardcover books taking up all of our wall space. And sense then I've already built up a collection of over 150 books on my B&N account. Many of which are rereads of series I had in the past. The wheel of time being one of the first that I got and read through again. And having to wait till april 9th, to get this final book really makes me angry. I've invested many hundreds of hours on this series. Every time a new release was scheduled I have always gotten out the previous books and reread them to be sure I don't forget something from earlier in the story. I've done the same this time, having started two months ago. I finished up the towers of midnight last eve and was looking forward to seeing how Rand covinces everyone else in the need to release the dark lord. Also am a tad itchy to see how Morrian returning will change things. But now I have to wait there months to find out. Not to mention the time I wasted rereading this again that I could of used to read Tad Williams shadowmarch serires and Martens a game of thrones series.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    I'm sad to see the series end. This is truly a master pice.

    I'm sad to see the series end. This is truly a master pice.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    5 stars because 6 wasn't an option...

    If you are wavering over whether to spend the money now or just wait until January and spend it on the whole thing, please take my advice and BUY THIS PROLOGUE! This is the first one I've actually purchased and I can tell you it was worth every penny! Beautifully written, thoroughly engaging, and guaranteed to put you right where the action is. It's a great place to be with the Last Battle looming over Dragonmount...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    I love this book and cant believe its ending!

    I absolutly think that this book will inspire people as it inspired me to not let evil win you over and have hope for a new tomorrow. Mat gradually learns how to be responsible and I think learns to love. Lan oh Lan if only I was 20 years older. Lan finds that sacrfice doesnt always work in battle. Rand has to learn to let go but can he? Perrin you sweet thing I findly learned that you are really a wolf. Guys whatever you thought of Perrin is all think agian he is sweet and vicious and totaly in love with Falie. No doubt about it. Min is amazing in this book, so is all the girls Rand love. I think the battle stratagy was very smart and the plots woow! I have to say Robert and the other guy no how to write a book. This series was special and I cant compare any other books with it. Can you? The only thing I had a problem with this book is the whole 3 girls sharing a man in every way! Its creepy and disfunctional! What message are you tring to send to all the guys Robert Jordan! Other then that I give it a five stars easy. <3

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    April Ebook release.

    The book was released Jan. 14th. Why do we have to wait until April for the Ebook? I know this is the publisher, not BnN, but there shouldnt be a 4 month wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Release date

    The ebook release date is apr. 18th, the hardcover release date was jan. 8th

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Amazing

    One of the best series of all time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Liked

    I have waited sense 1993 for this book and quite ancious to get my hands on this book. I know I will start at the beginning of the series at volume #1 and go through to the very last page of this final volume can't wait.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    All good things must come to an end.

    I could cry cause Its over. But closure is a relief. Thankyou Sanderson. I love your work and who better to write the final battle of an epic series? Wasnt sure how to rate. It was a good book in itself well written, and i enjoyed it. But it was obviously not Jordan. The intricate peprsonalities and relationships between characters lacked Jordans depth and complexities. In some ways i still feel left hanging- there were all these loose ends. Unfinished business. Questions unanswered. It would take more than one book to come full circle and tie-up so many sub-plots that Jordan juggled throughout the series. Dont think it could be done much better in a single book to an epic tale that Sanderson didnt create.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Fears alleviated

    I found myself sucked into The Wheel of Time about 17 years ago when a fellow soldier handed it to me in the barracks while saying, "Hey. You like to read don't you?" After all these years of waiting year after year for the next installment, my fears about the Grand Finale have at last been alleviated despite my worries about the series and the family of Robert Jordan. The only drawback to this is that I have now been drawn into yet another author to chase after as I anxiously await everything published by Brandon Sanderson just as I have awaited each and every Wheel of Time installment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Great book

    Great prelog cant wait to read the whole thing. Sucks it not on ebook yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Great Book

    Finally the ending, it was very good, couldn't put the book down. Thought Sanderson did a good job at wrapping up the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Very excellent Prologue

    This prologue is very different from the other Wheel of Time books. Given that it is the last one, the pace is quite fast all things considered. I enjoyed it however and think it will fit the rest of the book just fine once I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Why can't I buy this book???

    The sample of the book was awesome, but its after the release date and the full version is still not available. Why??? I have been waiting forever for it! :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Can't purchase the whole book i purchased the prologue so shows up as purchased Need Heip

    How can i purchase if i purchased prologue

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Love it

    I was worried about a new author, but it really does hold up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Banners

    Amazing on every level

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3