Customer Reviews for

By Myself and Then Some

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Life-affirming & worthwhile

Not your typical celebrity bio. Like its author, this book is elegant, wise and spirited. Bogart, Huston, Slim Hayward, Hawks, Robards, Streisand, Bernstein, RFK - they are all here. My favorite character: the author's wonderful mother.

posted by 14504300 on August 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Half Great and Half Really Bad

Please don't get me wrong about this book BUT my wife and I both read it and essentially had the same opinion. The first half of the book, up until Bogart's death, is GREAT. It's fast paced, reveals interesting facts and insights, and is immensely enjoyable. But afte...
Please don't get me wrong about this book BUT my wife and I both read it and essentially had the same opinion. The first half of the book, up until Bogart's death, is GREAT. It's fast paced, reveals interesting facts and insights, and is immensely enjoyable. But after his death the book becomes a never ending, over done discussion of all her friends dying. It becomes tedious and depressing reading that meanders all over the place. Read the first half of the book and then stop. I bet you'll find it more enjoyable than finishing it, strange but true.

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Life-affirming & worthwhile

    Not your typical celebrity bio. Like its author, this book is elegant, wise and spirited. Bogart, Huston, Slim Hayward, Hawks, Robards, Streisand, Bernstein, RFK - they are all here. My favorite character: the author's wonderful mother.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A love for Classic Hollywood

    This book is a wonderful read for anyone who is a fan of old "Tinsel Town". Reading this book feels as though you were sitting having coffe with the incredible Bacall herself. It offers insight into her life, as a starting actress, when she meets her great love, Bogart, and her life after his death. It keeps you going as it casually mentions many of the Hollywood Greats; Bogart, Monroe, Sinatra, Leigh, Gable, and so many more. It is a book that makes you travel back to a simpler life, and leaves you feeling as though you have had a peak into Bacalls own personal Diary. Bacalls allows you to laugh with her, and cry with her as she recalls her most personal moments.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Half Great and Half Really Bad

    Please don't get me wrong about this book BUT my wife and I both read it and essentially had the same opinion. The first half of the book, up until Bogart's death, is GREAT. It's fast paced, reveals interesting facts and insights, and is immensely enjoyable. But after his death the book becomes a never ending, over done discussion of all her friends dying. It becomes tedious and depressing reading that meanders all over the place. Read the first half of the book and then stop. I bet you'll find it more enjoyable than finishing it, strange but true.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Like sitting down to an afternoon lunch with Ms. Bacall.

    I've just finished the sample of this book, and although she is clearly not gifted as a writer, you definitely get the sense that you are reading Ms. Bacall's very own thoughts, and not the idealized spin of a ghost writer. Her remembrances are rambling and not well structured as she meanders through the details of her upbringing. Some may enjoy this style of writing; I did not. However I did come away from this sample liking Ms. Bacall more than I did previously, and I would like to know more about her. Bacall fans will probably love this book for the reasons I mention previously.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    First Three Disks Are Good

    CD: the first three disks are about her life getting into the business and her life with Bogart. The parts about cancer treatments in the 50's were interesting. She was very naive.
    She wrote this when she was in her late forties and divorcing Jason Robards.
    Then Lauren lived another 25 years and wrote the second part. The next three disks were done after 2003. Even her voice has changed. She goes through the deaths of her good friends, some you know, some you won't. Rodney McDowell, Sir John Gilgood (who was gay),Gregory Peck, Sir Alec Guinness (Obi One Kenobi) and others. The rest is her complaining about missing the good old day.
    She is still alive. I didn't realize that and decided not to look till I was done listening to it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Bacall me, on the line. Bacall me any, anytime

    This updated version of 'By Myself' is exactly what we Bacall fans were hoping and waiting for. Incorporating many of the anecdotes from '94's 'Now', this is the complete and up-to-date story of the lady's life, loves and career so far. Her regal presence and enduring strength and independence sing through on every page. It would be impossible to walk away unimpressed with the resilience and tough/sweet nature of our Grande Dame. There'll never be another Betty Bacall so this frank and earnest telling of her life is a completely unique read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!

    I was pleasantly surprised when I began reading this book. It's as if Lauren was my best friend and was reminiscing about her past with me over coffee. I laughed with her and I cried with her. The pictures inside the book give you a window into her world. She has definitely lived a long and happy life and I hope she has many more years to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Disappointed

    I felt as though Miss Bacall seemed very immature, especially before she married Boggie and after she had children. It seemed to me, the children were raised by 'Nannys' while she had endless parties or traveled. In fairness, I suppose, that was what most actors did and still seem to do.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Read this months before her obit

    It is very sad indeed how hard she tries to make her story a silver screen movie old style happy ever after. That she married a much older divorced man and had him dying hospice at home leaves her with most of her life fifty years dependent on his fame for hers. She seems to have little joy in her life after hollywood neither with son or grandchildren and it reflects in the writing as such disappointng and uncomfortable to read like a group therapy session

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Lauren Bacall was quite a treasure! This is an excellent book a

    Lauren Bacall was quite a treasure! This is an excellent book about her wonderful family and career...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    For some reason this auto bio came across as boring

    Why someone with stage fright could keep in the profession and why keep marrying alcoholics and such good friends with everyone and family disfunctional and seeing nothing wrong with leaving for months but so general as to be non descriptive. There is no humor ad great and good friends come across as dull too

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What an amazing woman. A true role model!

    I love Lauren Bacall as an actress and a person. She has such life in her and it shows beautifully on screen and in this book. This book had me laughing and crying. Truly unforgettable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I am not much of a writer or describe things well however, I can tell you this book is very enjoyable. Miss Bacall is very open about her life, family and relationships. There were a few things I thought she was vague about and that is her children's lives but, that could be because she wanted to keep the kids and grand kids private? Anyway, if you enjoy autobiographies about celebrities this is a real treat!

    Jane

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Great read!

    All u wanted to know!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2