Customer Reviews for

By Order of the President (Presidential Agent Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What if

I have read most of griffin's books, starting with the U.s. Army series, thru the U.S.M.C. series. This was a continuation of the fine military writing this author has done.

I was help captive by the realization of what if something like this good be done. Do ...
I have read most of griffin's books, starting with the U.s. Army series, thru the U.S.M.C. series. This was a continuation of the fine military writing this author has done.

I was help captive by the realization of what if something like this good be done. Do we have a group that only the president controls. If so, would they only handle military problems or could they be used in other ways. I can picture a few places and circumstances I would like them to solve. But back to the book.

A group of radical, hijack and kill 2 pilots. They then proceed to fly across the Atlantic with plans to fly the airplane into the Liberty Bell, in Philadelphia. A tall order for anyone. But Griffin has created another excellent hero in Capt. Castillio. He manages to outfox the doers and also out think the many intelligence organizations.

The story leads the reader on many journeys, from Germany to Texas, to Iraq and other worldly places.

I have put my self right alongside all Griffin's characters and rode, jumped, wadded thru marshes, Spent frigid nights with both Lowell and McCoy in Korea. And I will spend many days and nights with Castillo.

posted by jokell on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

BORING

It looks like this book has had pretty good reviews. The only thing I can guess is the people rating this book highly are military or ex-military. I can understand someone appreciating an author because that person gets his or her facts straight, however knowing your fa...
It looks like this book has had pretty good reviews. The only thing I can guess is the people rating this book highly are military or ex-military. I can understand someone appreciating an author because that person gets his or her facts straight, however knowing your facts doesn't mean you can write well. I found little things that bothered me right away such as the time line being off. The terrorists kill the pilot at one time and then there is a point in the book where they are referring to it and that discussion is occurring at an earlier time. Kind of hard to be talking about something that happened when it hasn't happened yet. The more significant aspects of the book that got to me were the LONG flash backs. They just aren't needed to that degree to develop a character. It threw the flow of the book way off. I bought the other books in this series at the same time I bought this book, but this book was so boring that I wont bother reading the others. My bad for buying multiple books by an author I haven't ever read before. Granted, there are authors who write excellent books and then other titles they write are just dogs, but when the first book that I read was this bad I just don't think I want to bother again with this author.

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What if

    I have read most of griffin's books, starting with the U.s. Army series, thru the U.S.M.C. series. This was a continuation of the fine military writing this author has done. <BR/><BR/>I was help captive by the realization of what if something like this good be done. Do we have a group that only the president controls. If so, would they only handle military problems or could they be used in other ways. I can picture a few places and circumstances I would like them to solve. But back to the book.<BR/><BR/>A group of radical, hijack and kill 2 pilots. They then proceed to fly across the Atlantic with plans to fly the airplane into the Liberty Bell, in Philadelphia. A tall order for anyone. But Griffin has created another excellent hero in Capt. Castillio. He manages to outfox the doers and also out think the many intelligence organizations. <BR/><BR/>The story leads the reader on many journeys, from Germany to Texas, to Iraq and other worldly places. <BR/><BR/>I have put my self right alongside all Griffin's characters and rode, jumped, wadded thru marshes, Spent frigid nights with both Lowell and McCoy in Korea. And I will spend many days and nights with Castillo.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    The details will put you to sleep.

    I found this book a terrible read and truly had to fight to get through it. I feel bad for any non-military readers who try to get through it as the titles and abbreviations are going to make your head spin, and if that doesn't then all the flashbacks and jumping around that Griffin throws in certainly will.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    BORING

    It looks like this book has had pretty good reviews. The only thing I can guess is the people rating this book highly are military or ex-military. I can understand someone appreciating an author because that person gets his or her facts straight, however knowing your facts doesn't mean you can write well. I found little things that bothered me right away such as the time line being off. The terrorists kill the pilot at one time and then there is a point in the book where they are referring to it and that discussion is occurring at an earlier time. Kind of hard to be talking about something that happened when it hasn't happened yet. The more significant aspects of the book that got to me were the LONG flash backs. They just aren't needed to that degree to develop a character. It threw the flow of the book way off. I bought the other books in this series at the same time I bought this book, but this book was so boring that I wont bother reading the others. My bad for buying multiple books by an author I haven't ever read before. Granted, there are authors who write excellent books and then other titles they write are just dogs, but when the first book that I read was this bad I just don't think I want to bother again with this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Action Packed....another great read by Griffin

    It's been a long time since I've read a series by W.E.B. Griffin, and I ask myself, "Why?" These books (Series of any title) by Griffin give me the action and drama I look forward to reading in my down-time. They are well-written, seemingly accurate, and adventurous. Can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    Thanks W.E.B. Griffin!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Recommended

    Great read! The Presidents Series is fun, and filled with some serious action!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Not Vince Flynn

    I love mystery thrillers, especially Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Ted Bell, Tom Clancy...etc. I was hoping W.E.B. Griffin would be along those lines, but he's not, not anywhere close. Unfortunately.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    Loved IT

    I thought this was a great book,unfortunatly I read the seires out of sequence starting with The Shooters then Black Ops.I personaly think this series is much better than Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell.I'm looking forward to reading some of Griffin's other series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Very entertaining; however there are so many characters, one has to read slow enough to absorb them, less you have to re-read.

    Griffin does a wonderful job in this series; keeps you wondering what's going to happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Couldn't turn the pages fast enough!

    Its been awhile since I've read a book by Mr. Griffin and that is my loss. I try not to get too much into "serial" novels but this one, if the first book, is any example seems to hold a lot in store for me. The president in this book appears to be very presidential, something this country now sorely lacks, and gives Major (Agent) Castillo a tasking and then stands behind his man and makes things happen. I hope we'll see a lot of these characters in the follow on books (three of which I went out and purchased today!).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    'The Corps' in the 21st century

    As he did in his series on the Marine Corps, WEB Griffin again gives us a fable of the fabulously wealthy in the service of their country. Instead of the Pickerings, we have the Old Texas Money Castillos, and instead of the Japanese we have Islamic radicals, but the formula is pretty much the same except, of course, we don't yet know who wins this war. Could that be why Griffin skipped the end of WWII and went straight to Korea in his novels of the Corps?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    A writer for all seasons

    Having read all the Police Honor series, I started in on By Order of the President and didn't stop till I finished it. It took a weekend. It's a'Great Read', that's the adjective that best describes the novel. No matter the subject matter, Mr. Griffin holds one in the grip of a plot, with a page turner that keeps the adrenaline flowing. One is captivated by the characters and subplots. I can see a follow-up novel with many of the characters. Go for it Mr. Griffin...I'm waiting with baited breath.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    I have read every one of Griffin's series with the exception of

    I have read every one of Griffin's series with the exception of the badge of Honor, and while I can see where some might be put off by his attention to detail, that same attention to detail is what attracts many of us to his books. His characters grow from one book to the next, and while I will admit the flashbacks may be long winded, they are necessary to understand where Castillo came from. I have read the entire Presidential Agent Series three times now and I still pick up little nuances every time I read them. Charlie is one of my favorite Griffin characters, right next to Ken McCoy!! I could not put this book down..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Good story

    I had read the second through fifth books of the series and found this to be consistant providing some informative background for the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Dapplesong

    Dapplesong walked in. She had some feathers and started pile. 'There!' She thought 'now our nests will be soft'. She grabbed some and put it on her nest. "I will go hunting" she thought aloud. The calico warrior left the den. •~•Dapplesong•~•

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Skystep

    She snapped her head in the direction of the argument. -Skystep

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Birdstrike to servaljump

    Good night. Try to get a little sleep

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Servaljump

    She shut her eyes tightly, unsure if she could take any more

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Windwing

    He briskly padded out, wonderng why she was upset with him.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Silverflow

    Losses concience. (Is there)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Skyleaf

    She yawned, and glad for the warmth in her nest, fell asleep. Skyleaf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8