Customer Reviews for

By Reason of Insanity

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Singer Does It Again

Randy Singer gets better with each new legal thriller he writes. His latest not only educates readers about the insanity plea, it also takes them into the minds of criminals and lawyers. Well-developed characters, authentic scenes and a surprise ending make this page...
Randy Singer gets better with each new legal thriller he writes. His latest not only educates readers about the insanity plea, it also takes them into the minds of criminals and lawyers. Well-developed characters, authentic scenes and a surprise ending make this page-turner another one of Singer's books sure to hit the big screen one of these days. Randy is also a pastor and legal professor, but he is never preachy or teachy... just entertaining.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A ltlle disappointed.

Way too long and unnecessarily over complicated.

posted by 6961409 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I never saw it coming!

    I actually had the pleasure of attending a presentation made by Randy Singer a few years back. He was quite engaging, a very interesting speaker to follow, and eloquent. I vowed to read one of his books, and now wonder why it took me so long to do so! He has moved into my elite group of favorite authors and I MUST read his other books. "By Reason of Insanity" grabbed me from the first paragraph. I found it's characters to be very real, but not perfect, and the storyline was plausible. I thought I had the climax of the story all figured out but I wasn't even close! What a thrill to read this book, from the first paragraph to the very last.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Singer Does It Again

    Randy Singer gets better with each new legal thriller he writes. His latest not only educates readers about the insanity plea, it also takes them into the minds of criminals and lawyers. Well-developed characters, authentic scenes and a surprise ending make this page-turner another one of Singer's books sure to hit the big screen one of these days. Randy is also a pastor and legal professor, but he is never preachy or teachy... just entertaining.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    A ltlle disappointed.

    Way too long and unnecessarily over complicated.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Look out John Grisham!

    SINGER is for real! His books have incredible clout! This is my third read thus far but I have already bought all the others. Nonstop excitement and thrills! You have got to try this author!
    Enough said!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    eBook version

    The book was really well written. The only problem that I had on my eReader copy was that some of the ends of sentences were left off. It didn't mess with the subject matter or the majority of the book but it was still frustrating to not be able to finish some sentences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    SHOCKED

    Well, this was my first digital eBook read on my iPhone and I wasn't sure if I was going to enjoy the read after experiencing audio books. The plot had lots of twists and turns to keep you wanting to read more. A very good drams mystery. The characters were interesting and I loved the ended and it was one I never expected. I would read more by Mr. Singer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspenseful!

    Many twists and turns in the plot. Great if you love a good murder mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    You'll Love This Jury Duty

    Attorney/novelist Randy Singer brings readers an interesting twist on the legal thriller genre with his latest release, By Reason of Insanity. Trial lawyer Quinn Newberg is becoming famous as he presides over the defense of a woman who is charged with the murder of her husband. Meanwhile, Catherine O'Rourke, a Virginia Beach reporter covering the trial for her employer, begins having strange visions that make no sense to her. Then she discovers that her visions are the exact details of a series of kidnapping and murders in the Virginia Beach area. The details of what her mind's eye sees is so exact that she soon becomes a suspect when she offers to help. Quinn Newberg is brought in to represent Catherine at trial because of his expertise in the much maligned insanity plea. This was the first novel of Singer's that I've read and I was privileged to read an advanced reader copy before publication. I was familiar with the author, just never gotten around to reading him. Boy, was that a mistake. By Reason of Insanity is one of the best novels I've read this year. And I've read a bunch. What I liked most about it was the twist of adding the supernatural/paranormal concept of visions to this genre. And the way the two main characters 'Quinn and Catherine' separate storylines intersect will not disappoint. Singer's writing is fast paced, page-turning suspense at it's best. He gives good attention to detail and along with the joyride you just might learn a thing or two about the law. This may have been my first Randy Singer novel, however, I can guarantee it won't be my last. I've read lots of comparisons of Singer to Grisham. Umph. I say move over Grisham and share the throne before you're removed from it completely.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    Another excellent book by Randy Singer                          

    Another excellent book by Randy Singer                                                                             

    Newspaper Reporter Catherine O'Rourke is a dedicated talented young lady even willing to go to jail to protect her confidential sources used when writing articles.  When she starts having disturbing dreams regarding a case in town she confides in her confidential source but the plan backfires when she finds herself in jail for murder.  Her lawyer with help from big shot Las Vegas lawyer Quinn Newberg works to save Catherine from jail.  After a turn of events that reveals the real killer life goes back to normal or does it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Fabulous!

    I could not out this book down. The suspense continued to the last few pages. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    A thriller including a big plot that keeps going until a more than satisfying conclusion

    By Reason of Insanity opens with a series of kidnappings and murders in Virginia Beach where Catherine O¿Rourke, reporter for The Tidewater Times, captivates her audience with breaking information that no other news or media outlet has. Her source, one Jamacus Webb, police detective, working on the cases. Cat basks in her celebrity until she is hauled into court and commanded to reveal the identity of her source or go to jail. Cat protects her source and chooses jail. In jail, Cat suddenly starts having visions¿creepy, terrifying visions that detail the recent murders. Murders committed by The Avenger of Blood. Through these visions, Cat comes upon information that only the killer could know. After telling Jamarcus about the visions, she becomes a prime suspect in the case and is soon arrested. Though incarcerated, she can somewhat understands the arrest as it¿s hard even for her to believe she has seen these visions. What Cat can¿t understand and has no explanation for is the forensic evidence that is produced, corroborating her guilt. She seeks legal representation from capable local attorney Marc Boland, but this case is too big for one attorney. Enter Las Vegas attorney, Quinn Newberg whose specialty is the insanity defense. A defense that Quinn thinks fits this case just fine, as he doesn¿t begin to believe in Cat¿s visions. This begins a twisting, turning ride to the conclusion, where The Avenger of Blood is finally revealed. And this is where I stop telling you about the plot before I give away a nice juicy tidbit that you¿ll want to find for yourself. You¿ll have to trust me when I tell you that the ending is not only very unexpected, but very creative, as well. By Reason of Insanity is a thriller by all definitions of a thriller including a big plot that keeps going until a more than satisfying conclusion. The reader is presented with a nightmare through Cat¿s incarceration and struggle to defend herself. Cat faces a problem bigger than she is and one that could happen to all of us. The story is filled with unexpected surprises that keep the reader on the edge of their seat as they wait to see what happens to Cat. This would be enough to make By Reason of Insanity a thriller, but Singer provides a sub-plot for attorney Quinn Newberg that rivals Cat¿s struggles. Though Quinn is not faced with time behind bars like Cat, he is responsible for keeping his sister from being incarcerated and his niece from losing all hope. Couple this with unexplained visions by Cat and you have a plot that races right to the shocking conclusion. Singer does an excellent job of starting with drama and ratcheting up the tension and turmoil in Cat¿s and Quinn¿s life as the book advances. This author really knows how to make his characters suffer. Though an attorney, Singer does not overpower the story with excessive courtroom scenes, but delves into the characters¿ personal struggles. At the same time, Singer gives the reader an insight into the use of the insanity defense in today¿s judicial system. If you are in a mood for a legal thriller, that goes beyond the courtroom and delves into the intense personal struggles and life-changing events of the characters, you will definitely want to pick up By Reason of Insanity.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    this is a terrific thriller

    In Virginia Beach, The Tidewater Times reporter Catherine O'Rourke covers the homicide trial of Annie Newburg Hofstetter, accused of murdering her husband Richard in premeditated cold blood. Her renowned attorney Quinn Newberg uses the insanity defense of a woman pushed over the edge by physical and mental abuse. Thanks to weeping Juror 5, the case ends for now in a mistrial.----------- Over the next few months The Avenger of God has been kidnapping and murdering Tidewater residents whom the serial killer believes violated the Lord. Cat has some insider information, but when the court demands shereveal her insider anonymous law enforcement source to Detective Jamarcus Webb, she refuses and goes to jail making her part of the story. While behind bars, Cat begins to have distressing visions of these horrific crimes as if she was an eye-witness to the Avenger¿s vigilante justice. She tells Jamarcus what she ¿sees¿ and he thinks she knows too much not to be the Avenger. The police arrest Cat who hires Quinn to defend her even though his approach means he assumes his client is guilty.------------ Filled with twists, this is a terrific legal thriller that grips the reader from the moment that Juror 5 ends the O¿Rourke trial and never slows down as Cat prays that the Vegas legal magician can get her off the hook even if BY REASON OF INSANITY. The story line is fast-paced as Cat continues to get visions of the Avenger¿s serial killings. Although a romantic subplot between lawyer and client is somewhat muted, it still feels forced yet Randy Singer as he did with THE CROSS EXAMINATION OF OLIVER FINNEY brings up timely jurisprudence issues as he provides a fascinating look at the insanity plea.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3