Customer Reviews for

By Their Father's Hand: The True Story of the Wesson Family Massacre

Average Rating 3.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The book By Their Father's Hand by Monte Francis explains and tells about the Wesson family massacre. It wasn't heard of because the fact that it was in Fresno and it happened shortly after The Scott Peterson trial and O.J. Simpson trial as well. I like this book overal...
The book By Their Father's Hand by Monte Francis explains and tells about the Wesson family massacre. It wasn't heard of because the fact that it was in Fresno and it happened shortly after The Scott Peterson trial and O.J. Simpson trial as well. I like this book overall because it was a pretty interesting book and it never seemed too slow. One of the three reasons I liked this book is because it keeps throwing surprises and always has some kind of twist. For example, Marcus Wesson killed seven babies and his two daughters. He didn¡¯t just kill them he shot them all in the eye and stacked their bodies all in the same room. A kind of funny part in the book was when he stabbed his niece because he was acting so nice to her and letting her live with her aunt but then he quickly changes his mind and just stabs her. He also brainwashed his family, teaching them the Bible according to his own interpretation. He was also obsessed with vampires and he claimed that Jesus was a vampire because Jesus rose from the dead. He also told his wife when she visited him in jail, that God put him in jail to lose weight not because of his crimes. The second thing I liked about this book is that it¡¯s one of those things that is so gross that you got to keep reading it. This book was disturbing at times, because the killer, Marcus Wesson had incest with his three nieces and two daughters and had babies with them all. He even met his wife because he first had a relationship with his future wife¡¯s mom. He also brainwashed his kids to follow out a suicide plan: To kill all the kids and then themselves if anyone ever tried to separate the family. He brainwashed the kids so much that he had mental control over them because they feared him and even gave their paychecks to him. At one point, he even made them live in a boat and outdoor camping site. He didn¡¯t even let his sons and daughters and nieces sit on the same couch because he told them it wasn¡¯t pure. He forced his family not to eat meat saying that it wasn¡¯t healthy making them eat beans and eating meat himself. He obviously was a sick man. The last and biggest reason I liked this book was that it never got boring for me. Even the trail wasn¡¯t bad, I enjoyed almost every bit of it and it kept me on my toes because there was always a surprising response that someone in the story gave. I tried reading another serial killer book but it was pretty boring, it was about Charles Manson, one of the most famous killers too. So I chose this book instead of that one. This book doesn¡¯t drag on about the unneeded evidence pieces and talked about the whole big picture instead of talking about useless things. Even though this story was kind of weird and disturbing, it¡¯s still true and very believable. This book never really had those scenes where you wanted to put this book down and do something else instead. If that situation ever came close a interesting part would come and save you. This book always had some interesting facts or information that made you look through the pages in disbelief. It isn¡¯t suspenseful but it will have your attention even if you know what¡¯s going to happen. The best parts are how they happened.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nothing New- where's the family?

I heard about this horrific case when it happened, and was excited to see someone finally wrote a book about it. Unfortunately, I didn't learn anything new from the author. I was anxious to hear from his wife and children, but the information only comes from court tra...
I heard about this horrific case when it happened, and was excited to see someone finally wrote a book about it. Unfortunately, I didn't learn anything new from the author. I was anxious to hear from his wife and children, but the information only comes from court transcripts. I was a bit bored. Save yourself some money and read the archived news articles online.

posted by Anonymous on February 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book By Their Father's Hand by Monte Francis explains and tells about the Wesson family massacre. It wasn't heard of because the fact that it was in Fresno and it happened shortly after The Scott Peterson trial and O.J. Simpson trial as well. I like this book overall because it was a pretty interesting book and it never seemed too slow. One of the three reasons I liked this book is because it keeps throwing surprises and always has some kind of twist. For example, Marcus Wesson killed seven babies and his two daughters. He didn¡¯t just kill them he shot them all in the eye and stacked their bodies all in the same room. A kind of funny part in the book was when he stabbed his niece because he was acting so nice to her and letting her live with her aunt but then he quickly changes his mind and just stabs her. He also brainwashed his family, teaching them the Bible according to his own interpretation. He was also obsessed with vampires and he claimed that Jesus was a vampire because Jesus rose from the dead. He also told his wife when she visited him in jail, that God put him in jail to lose weight not because of his crimes. The second thing I liked about this book is that it¡¯s one of those things that is so gross that you got to keep reading it. This book was disturbing at times, because the killer, Marcus Wesson had incest with his three nieces and two daughters and had babies with them all. He even met his wife because he first had a relationship with his future wife¡¯s mom. He also brainwashed his kids to follow out a suicide plan: To kill all the kids and then themselves if anyone ever tried to separate the family. He brainwashed the kids so much that he had mental control over them because they feared him and even gave their paychecks to him. At one point, he even made them live in a boat and outdoor camping site. He didn¡¯t even let his sons and daughters and nieces sit on the same couch because he told them it wasn¡¯t pure. He forced his family not to eat meat saying that it wasn¡¯t healthy making them eat beans and eating meat himself. He obviously was a sick man. The last and biggest reason I liked this book was that it never got boring for me. Even the trail wasn¡¯t bad, I enjoyed almost every bit of it and it kept me on my toes because there was always a surprising response that someone in the story gave. I tried reading another serial killer book but it was pretty boring, it was about Charles Manson, one of the most famous killers too. So I chose this book instead of that one. This book doesn¡¯t drag on about the unneeded evidence pieces and talked about the whole big picture instead of talking about useless things. Even though this story was kind of weird and disturbing, it¡¯s still true and very believable. This book never really had those scenes where you wanted to put this book down and do something else instead. If that situation ever came close a interesting part would come and save you. This book always had some interesting facts or information that made you look through the pages in disbelief. It isn¡¯t suspenseful but it will have your attention even if you know what¡¯s going to happen. The best parts are how they happened.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Nothing New- where's the family?

    I heard about this horrific case when it happened, and was excited to see someone finally wrote a book about it. Unfortunately, I didn't learn anything new from the author. I was anxious to hear from his wife and children, but the information only comes from court transcripts. I was a bit bored. Save yourself some money and read the archived news articles online.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Couldn't Put This Book Down

    I'm late in even getting this book to read but found I couldn't stop once I'd started it. I could not conceive how one man could be so cruel, sick and demented. The brainwashing, I guess I understand happening to the family members but cannot think of anything justifiably cruel enough as payback to him for what he did to the women in the family. I highly recommend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    A reviewer

    I couldn't put this book down since I bought it. Some of the parts were creepy because of what this man was doing to his family but it made you want to read more. The reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I was expecting at the end that Marcus Wesson replied to the author on who pulled the trigger but I didn't get what I was hoping for but overall the book was good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    DO N DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS BOOK

    Extremely difficult to follow. Too many people to keep track of. Only got 30 pages in and had to stop because of how boring it was and how difficult it is to follow. Dont waste your money or your time on this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Good read

    def felt like there could have been more detail did read like a newspaper so very easy level of reading additionally couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Geeze

    Oh my !! I cant beleive what this guy did to his family.. hes no father or husband,,hes evil..my gosh !! My heart goes to all the victims....Bn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    It was a good book

    It was a book that you did not want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Loved it !!!

    i couldn't put the book down while reading it. it certainly captured all of my attention. i would definitely read it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Not rec.

    Good story/Bad writing. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    not the best, but it's ok

    not the best, but ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    A very difficult book to read

    I'm an avid reader who currently owns 2,300 books covering a wide range of topics and areas of interest including biographies, travel, science fiction, comedy, and murder mysteries, as well as true crime stories. Monte Francis chose an unusual subject for his first book. It's unfortunate he failed to show the unique characteristics each of the participants in this tragic story had to offer the reader. I found myself unable to keep the twisted relationships clear in my mind which ruined any chance I would have had to reach true understanding of the magnitude of this crime and who actually committed it. I found myself wondering why I should care about these victims at all. I can honestly say I've never had that kind of a reaction to a true crime story. Perhaps had Mr. Franci been more specific about the relationships of each of the participants in this book it would have been easier to read and understand. While the subject matter is heart rending, the characterizations are pretty bland and confusing. In the true crime venue it's vital the reader understand and sympathize with the victims. By not allowing the reader to form any kind of bond with the victims this book fails to satisfy the readers need to understand the situation which lead up to this horrific crime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    If you like real life creepy tales

    Creepy! Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    frighteningly good book

    this book keeps your attention. its frighteningly based on a true story about a father who abuses and murders his children. it helps you to realize how good your life really is. Its amazing to me that people can actually live and function in a life that is so treachorously wrong. UNBELEIVABLE BUT TRUE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    Excellent read. One of the better true crime books I've read in a long time. Very to the point and the story keeps moving. I read it in less than 2 days...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Not Just Your Garden Variety Family Annihilator

    After completing "By Their Father's Hand", one is profoundly thankful that its protagonist is a one-of-a-kind psychopath. This is a true story, that would it were fiction, would seem outlandish and improbable. Mr. Francis avoids interjecting his characterization or interpretation into the telling of the tragic family tale, and in so doing allows the complexity of the participants, especially the surviving children to to be revealed. It is a compelling read of a very disturbing story, and will remain with the reader after it is completed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5