Customer Reviews for

By the Light of the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Koontz does it again

Fast paced and a very good read.

posted by Anonymous on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too long!

This book took me forever to get through, I think it has something to do with all the detail in it. I like how the story starts with action off the bat but it tends to get kind of boring and long in the middle. Ending was not what i expected. Not one of Dean's best.

posted by Calebsmumma on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Koontz does it again

    Fast paced and a very good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I have the hard copy and an ereader version now. I enjoy the book. Read it over and over every couple of months.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Too long!

    This book took me forever to get through, I think it has something to do with all the detail in it. I like how the story starts with action off the bat but it tends to get kind of boring and long in the middle. Ending was not what i expected. Not one of Dean's best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A typical Dean Koontz - You don't know what you are going to get

    I actually listened to this one on tape. The characters come to life a bit more when the book is being listened too. I got annoyed with one of hte characters, but that just shows how well he was written. LOVED this, it was adventurous, touching and shocking all in one. Definately a Koontz novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    I couldn't finish it.

    I am surprised at the number of good reviews on this book. I began skimming at about page 300 and then eventually had to give up. The story was slow the character development was overdone and should never, at such an exascerbating extreme, be a replacement for decent story development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2014

    This is the Dean Koontz I like! Story is, of course, slightly &

    This is the Dean Koontz I like! Story is, of course, slightly "out there" with weird stuff being injected to people and them obtaining superhuman powers, but at least it follows a flow of happenings, no jumping around from character to character, here, there and back again (Like 77 Shadow Street)! It follows a young man, his autistic brother and a young woman injected by a weird man with something that will make each of them unique and powerful in wonderful ways, not typical scary Dean Koontz ways! It is a little over-involved I think in dealing with Shepherd, the autistic brother, a few less pages could be devoted to these parts of the story and Shepherd would still be a well-told character. But now I hope there is a sequel to see what goes on in the life of these 3 plus 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Must read

    As a mom of an autistic ..... loved it and a must read thank you for writing this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    This was the first Dean Koontz book that I have read. I really e

    This was the first Dean Koontz book that I have read. I really enjoyed this book. and compared to some of the other books, By the Light of the Moon remains one of my favorites by him. Highly recommend reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    By the Light of the Moon by Dean Koontz Koontz traps the reader

    By the Light of the Moon by Dean Koontz
    Koontz traps the reader within the lives of a uniquely related trio in a search for supernatural identity.
    Dylan O’Conner is an average man, living an average life, save the foreign substance coursing through his veins. On a work-related journey towards New Mexico, Dylan and his notably autistic brother Shep find themselves taken hostage in an Arizona hotel room by an eerie “Dr. Frankenstein.” Both injected with a mysterious yellow fluid and left only with a vague knowledge of what is contained within them, they flee the scene in search for answers. Along with the help of a certain Jillian Jackson, another victim of the Doctor’s game of life and death, they will discover the truth behind their past, their future, and their mutual connection as they delve into the realities of “playing God.”
    A haunting literary prize that explores the nature of humankind, beginning with the characters, and evolving towards the readers.
    Genre: Fiction/Mystery
    Age Recommendation: 15 & up
    Pub Date: December, 2002
    Page Count: 460
    Review Date: June 2, 2013
    Reviewer: Turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Love it

    Loved this book. It was very hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Wonderful

    Great book and highly entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I have not this one yet ,but am reading right now another of hes book,will get to this one soon.Now there are i think 3 or4 of "ODD,"
    They did not put the "T" in front of ODD,these are the BEST storys I have read.I hoping he will come back with more about Odd Thomas.Hoping a movie could be made of the Frist story .GREAT!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Best Koontz Ever!

    Must have read it 15 times! Absolutly hilarious. Course it doesn't hurt that one of the main characters is autistic! I reccomend it for everyone who knows anything about or someone with Autiem!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Well written, but hated the ending

    I like Koontz and his way with words (though he does sound like a thesaurus sometimes, using big words when smaller ones are infinitely more readable), but I found the ending of this one too precious. I would recommend the first 200 pages or so, but the ending made my teeth hurt (too trite, too sugary).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book was amazing!!

    One of the first Dean Koontz books I read and I haven't been able to stop reading his work yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    By The LIGHT of the MOON

    I thought overall the book was great, however the beginning was to dry. It was overly descriptive, to the point I almost stopped reading it. Mr Koontz did live up to my expectation as I read on. Overall a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    great book!

    I loved this book. Usually i don't like to read, but this book was so good I couldn't stop reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great premise, same old characters

    (Originally written September 6, 2005)

    Back when I read books on a regular basis, I was a huge Dean R. Koontz fan. Now that I've returned, I see that Mr. Koontz has dropped the "R," improved his already impressive writing style, and kept the same basic characters types that he's always used. Again, I do consider myself a Koontz fan. When I decided to get back into reading, I made sure to include a couple of Koontz books in my splurge.

    "By the Light of the Moon" starts fast and maintains that same pace from start to finish. The fictional science behind the plot is just realistic enough for suspension of disbelief, and the side-effects of the villain's wicked "stuff" are clever and become increasingly inventive as the story moves along. Koontz starts off with your standard, generic, run of the mill "psychic" powers, but then he gets more creative.

    The only drawback about this book, and many other Koontz books I've read: The characters. This is NOT to say that they are "two dimensional" or "unbelievable." Taken on their own, they are fine. If this were the ONLY Koontz book you ever read, you would have no idea that this is his short coming, and for those single time readers, I would say this book is actually 5 stars.

    BUT, for those of you who have read Koontz before or intend to read him again, you will find that he has once again brought us the same characters: The withdrawn man with a sad background; the hardened, withdrawn woman with a terrible background; and the third party (in this case, a brother), usually related to the man, who is deficient or handicapped in some way (in this case, autistic). And, against all odds, this lonely man and lonely, disgruntled woman somehow manage to find their mutual lights at the end of the tunnel ... you see where I'm going. In some ways, Koontz would have been better off just making all of these books ABOUT the same characters, and turning them into a series of sequels. Character wise, that's what we end up with, anyway.

    But again, setting that aside, I really enjoyed this novel. I don't want to give anything away, but this books ends on a PERFECT note to set it up for a sequel. I don't think Koontz does them, but I wish he would in this case. I would LOVE to read it, and after all, in a sequel, the characters are EXPECTED to be the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    Awaiting the sequel...

    I Liked this as well as, if not better than, the 'Odd Thomas' Books, but as of yet I am still waiting for a sequel (while there are 4 or 5 Odd books,go figure) Oh well, hope springs eternal...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Really Good, but not his best

    I really liked this book, but the ending left a lot to be desired. It was too surreal, standing out even in this far-fetched plot line, and broke the could-maybe-possibly-happen facade that is so prevailent in Koontz's books, which is one of the reasons why they are so interseting. If there was a sequel, though, I would definitely read it....Im interested to see how Koontz would turn this around. There is an evident Dickens influence in this book(another of my favorite authors), and the writing style is undoubtedly genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7