Customer Reviews for

By the Light of the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Koontz does it again

Fast paced and a very good read.

posted by Anonymous on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too long!

This book took me forever to get through, I think it has something to do with all the detail in it. I like how the story starts with action off the bat but it tends to get kind of boring and long in the middle. Ending was not what i expected. Not one of Dean's best.

posted by Calebsmumma on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    I couldn't finish it.

    I am surprised at the number of good reviews on this book. I began skimming at about page 300 and then eventually had to give up. The story was slow the character development was overdone and should never, at such an exascerbating extreme, be a replacement for decent story development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Horrible Book

    This book was so good for the first half and then it all fell apart toward the end. It was such a dissapointment that I almost didn't finish reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Holy Nanobots, Batman!!!!

    I have thoroughly enjoyed nearly every thing this author has done over for nearly two decades; picking up one of his books has always been like visiting an old and cherished friend. Koontz, more than any other author I've ever read, has the singular power to capture his readers in the very first sentence of the story, and instantly transport (or teleport) us to whatever strange and wonderful world his fertile imagination can create. Add to this mix a willingness to 'push the envelope' on scientific and social issues, and his ability to paint incredibly vivid settings for his characters, and it is just about a 'lock' for a great story. It is probably beacuse he is so good that I was disappointed in this book. The three main characters, a young woman, a young man, and his autistic younger brother find themselves the unwilling subjects of a 'mad scientist' (first cliche)whose life work is being threatened by a nameless group of quasi-military thugs (2nd cliche). When these men turn their attention to our heroes, a multi-state chase begins (3rd cliche) complete with car chases, explosions, and assorted near-death experiences. As the main characters continue to elude their pursuers, they begin to develop super-human powers (4th cliche) which allow them finally to turn the tables on their archenemy. The very ending of the book, typically for this day and age, comes not with a triumphant bang, but with a whimper, and a promise of a ......sequel.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Quite Possibly the WORST Koontz Book Written

    For me to say that I didn't like By the Light of the Moon saddens me to the fullest extent. Koontz is my favorite writer by far, and it seemed that after hitting the pinnace that was From the Corner of His Eye, it seemed that he had been starting a downward spiral that ended with MOON. My biggest complaint with the book is that it was TOO SHORT. The characterizations were vague to a fault. And the one thing that I didn't care for was that I didn't have a villian that brought enough menace to the story for me to want these characters to triumph over. One of Koontz's strengths as well as his weakness is in his characters' senses of right and wrong, and it is something that I both look forward to and dread. It's because Koontz walks the fine line into unbelieveability so well, you can't help but want to see his characters triumph. But NOT IN THIS BOOK. And it must be said. Like the last hundred pages of False Memory, THE ENDING WAS TERRIBLE. I only hope that Koontz learns from his mistakes and will come back from this low point to bring a new turn to his books that have deeper emotional levels as well as that good old fear factor like Mr. Murder and my all-time favorite, Dark Rivers of the Heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    A disappointment

    After waiting a year for this new title to finally be release, I was truly disappointed. I usually enjoy Koontz's descriptive writing, but I found this overkill. The characters dialogue was unconvincing and totally out of place for the circumstances. A real let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Reaches its' pinnacle early but then plummets swiftly.

    Having read all of Dean Koontz's novels, this falls far short of his standards. The book has a lot of potential in the first 100 pages, but seems to come to a standstill. It was similar in many ways to his earlier novel "The Bad Place", but not nearly as exciting and unpredictable. With Steven King retiring, Koontz needs to step up and become the standard for horror authors, but this novel clearly didn't do that. I am just thankful that Robert McCammon is back after his 10 years absence. His "Speaks the Nightbird" is the epitamy of what a novel should be like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1