BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

By the Light of the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Koontz does it again

Fast paced and a very good read.

posted by Anonymous on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too long!

This book took me forever to get through, I think it has something to do with all the detail in it. I like how the story starts with action off the bat but it tends to get kind of boring and long in the middle. Ending was not what i expected. Not one of Dean's best.

posted by Calebsmumma on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Too long!

    This book took me forever to get through, I think it has something to do with all the detail in it. I like how the story starts with action off the bat but it tends to get kind of boring and long in the middle. Ending was not what i expected. Not one of Dean's best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Well written, but hated the ending

    I like Koontz and his way with words (though he does sound like a thesaurus sometimes, using big words when smaller ones are infinitely more readable), but I found the ending of this one too precious. I would recommend the first 200 pages or so, but the ending made my teeth hurt (too trite, too sugary).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    By The LIGHT of the MOON

    I thought overall the book was great, however the beginning was to dry. It was overly descriptive, to the point I almost stopped reading it. Mr Koontz did live up to my expectation as I read on. Overall a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Suspenseful, but no real plot

    I'm sorry I can't agree with the other two reviewers on this one. If this is his best, I will not read his others. There was no real plot to this at all, just a chase, and the ending was dull. His style of writing is suspensful, but his use of superfluous adjectives and descriptions is annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2003

    Took to Long

    I read this book because 'From the Corner of His Eye' was a 5 star book to me. I wanted to read another Koontz book and everyone was giving this pretty good reviews. However, it didnt grab me in the same way. It just took too long for the plot to come together and when I thought something was about to happen, Koontz went off on a tangent. The ending wasn't all that either. The characters are likeable. Thats because Koontz puts a lot of time (almost too much) into them, same way with his other books but in this situation, it took away from the plot. Shep is great, his outburst keep you laughing and reading. Overall, the book is decent but I am little disappointed because I expected another Bartholomew Lampion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Subpar compared to his other works

    Being a fan of Koontz's for many years, I've read all of his previous books. I don't know why, but this novel seemed like a half hearted effort on his part. Longtime fans will be somewhat disappointed with how the story begins and then unfolds in such a haphazard manner. He's capable of so much more than this. If you haven't read a Koontz book yet, don't start with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1