Customer Reviews for

By the Light of the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Koontz does it again

Fast paced and a very good read.

posted by Anonymous on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too long!

This book took me forever to get through, I think it has something to do with all the detail in it. I like how the story starts with action off the bat but it tends to get kind of boring and long in the middle. Ending was not what i expected. Not one of Dean's best.

posted by Calebsmumma on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    By the Light of the Moon by Dean Koontz Koontz traps the reader

    By the Light of the Moon by Dean Koontz
    Koontz traps the reader within the lives of a uniquely related trio in a search for supernatural identity.
    Dylan O’Conner is an average man, living an average life, save the foreign substance coursing through his veins. On a work-related journey towards New Mexico, Dylan and his notably autistic brother Shep find themselves taken hostage in an Arizona hotel room by an eerie “Dr. Frankenstein.” Both injected with a mysterious yellow fluid and left only with a vague knowledge of what is contained within them, they flee the scene in search for answers. Along with the help of a certain Jillian Jackson, another victim of the Doctor’s game of life and death, they will discover the truth behind their past, their future, and their mutual connection as they delve into the realities of “playing God.”
    A haunting literary prize that explores the nature of humankind, beginning with the characters, and evolving towards the readers.
    Genre: Fiction/Mystery
    Age Recommendation: 15 & up
    Pub Date: December, 2002
    Page Count: 460
    Review Date: June 2, 2013
    Reviewer: Turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great premise, same old characters

    (Originally written September 6, 2005)

    Back when I read books on a regular basis, I was a huge Dean R. Koontz fan. Now that I've returned, I see that Mr. Koontz has dropped the "R," improved his already impressive writing style, and kept the same basic characters types that he's always used. Again, I do consider myself a Koontz fan. When I decided to get back into reading, I made sure to include a couple of Koontz books in my splurge.

    "By the Light of the Moon" starts fast and maintains that same pace from start to finish. The fictional science behind the plot is just realistic enough for suspension of disbelief, and the side-effects of the villain's wicked "stuff" are clever and become increasingly inventive as the story moves along. Koontz starts off with your standard, generic, run of the mill "psychic" powers, but then he gets more creative.

    The only drawback about this book, and many other Koontz books I've read: The characters. This is NOT to say that they are "two dimensional" or "unbelievable." Taken on their own, they are fine. If this were the ONLY Koontz book you ever read, you would have no idea that this is his short coming, and for those single time readers, I would say this book is actually 5 stars.

    BUT, for those of you who have read Koontz before or intend to read him again, you will find that he has once again brought us the same characters: The withdrawn man with a sad background; the hardened, withdrawn woman with a terrible background; and the third party (in this case, a brother), usually related to the man, who is deficient or handicapped in some way (in this case, autistic). And, against all odds, this lonely man and lonely, disgruntled woman somehow manage to find their mutual lights at the end of the tunnel ... you see where I'm going. In some ways, Koontz would have been better off just making all of these books ABOUT the same characters, and turning them into a series of sequels. Character wise, that's what we end up with, anyway.

    But again, setting that aside, I really enjoyed this novel. I don't want to give anything away, but this books ends on a PERFECT note to set it up for a sequel. I don't think Koontz does them, but I wish he would in this case. I would LOVE to read it, and after all, in a sequel, the characters are EXPECTED to be the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    Awaiting the sequel...

    I Liked this as well as, if not better than, the 'Odd Thomas' Books, but as of yet I am still waiting for a sequel (while there are 4 or 5 Odd books,go figure) Oh well, hope springs eternal...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Really Good, but not his best

    I really liked this book, but the ending left a lot to be desired. It was too surreal, standing out even in this far-fetched plot line, and broke the could-maybe-possibly-happen facade that is so prevailent in Koontz's books, which is one of the reasons why they are so interseting. If there was a sequel, though, I would definitely read it....Im interested to see how Koontz would turn this around. There is an evident Dickens influence in this book(another of my favorite authors), and the writing style is undoubtedly genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    Pretty good

    I liked this book, it was really funny in the beginning and it was interesting and suspensful but I didn't like the ending, I felt like I was reading a D.C. comic book at the end, you'll know what I mean when you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    first Dean Koontz book i've read

    By the Light of the Moon was the first Dean Koontz book i've ever read.For being the first book I read from Dean Koontz, i thought it was a pretty righteous book.not many 16 year olds take the time to read long books, but if they ever wanted to read a book, i would reccommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2005

    Surprising

    I 've read almost all Koontz's books.Most dissapoint me because I feel he was unable to realistically portray his characters to my satisfaction.Until now. I reluctantly bought By the Light of the Moon. Boy was I surprised.Maybe because I didnt think Koontz has it in him to so beautifully portray an autistic person.Having a sister who is autistic may have helped encourage me to read this through but the truth is,I was so touched by Shepard I was near tears.Great job Koontz.I wonder if you do your best work when you dont try so hard to make your characters witty,or just plain evil.Such empathetic portrayal has been reserved for the dogs in his novels before this.(really) Shepard is the epitomy of Koontz talent.Read it just for this alone if not for the plot. The plot was slow going at first and it was only when Shep was the main focus that I truly became engaged. 'shep is scared'...followed by the heroine's response..'shep is brave', whispered in the darkness of a motel room was a turning point on the story.It went from just another weird tale to a human experience rarely well told by Koontz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    One of the best

    I am a huge Dean Koontz fan, and this story jumped off the pages. His writing is so fluid and seamless you can't put it down, and By the Light of the Moon is no exception. If you start this book, make sure you have enough time to read it all at once. You'll thank me later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Different from the ordinary

    Wonderful writing, incredible story and great characters. I love the way Koontz writes his characters. You actually care what happens to them and miss them when the book ends. This story keeps you going until the last page. Very imaginitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    A Great Escape

    After months and months of hard core college freshman classes, I was finally ready for some down time over winter break. I had 5 weeks to read anything but textbooks and scholarly journals. So while roaming the library 5 minutes before closing time on the first day of break, I saw that 'By the Light of the Moon' was on the shelf. I check it out and begin reading around 10:30 that night. Of course I don't sleep until 6 in the morning and wake up again at 11 to finish the book in less than 12 hours. What an escape from the rather dry textbooks I have to read in college. The plot was wonderful and imaginative and the characters were very genuine. I loved Shep because he reminds me of a dear friend. I had to wait 3 days over the Christmas holiday in order to go back to the library to check out all the other Koontz books. I had a great Christmas and a great break with lots of enjoyable reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    Captivating

    I couldn't put this book down. So suspenseful, and although a little far fetched at times, as always Koontz makes even the most impossible things seem plausible. Ending presents a satisfying twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    A Book that Allows for Pain Old Enjoyment

    By the Light of the Moon is neither Koontz's worst or his best--but it is one of his better ones. Albeit, Koontz has the tendancy to let us down in his novels; By the Light of the Moon, in particular, keeps your spirit high. This novel only futher highlights Koontz's dexterous ability of using suspense to hold and captivate our attention; while simultaneously making his characters come to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2004

    'By The Light Of The Moon' Glistens

    Dean Koontz, author, captures you in a page turning novel that truly brings out an inner fear no one wants to discover. A magnificently written, eerie story of two strangers who have been abducted and administered a substance one heated night at a desert motel. Not being told what this ¿stuff¿ does to you, or what will happen in the near future, the two victims, Dylan O¿Conner and Jillian Jackson, along with Shep, Dylan¿s autistic brother, go on flee to escape the on coming assailants looking to kill the carriers of this substance. This fear that Koontz brings out in the first two chapters of the book allowed me to deepen my train-of-thought into the situation currently happening on the pages. Feeling the tension at the end of each chapter thwarted me, and would demand me to advance in the book. I believe that is great writing and this book is a perfect example of that. Mysterious and creepy awakenings drew me into the context of the book. Visions of unexplainable scenes in unexplainable places made me focus on the select innovation that the book displayed. A great dialogue between characters let me chuckle at the dark humor of this misfortunate couple. Even in the face of grave danger, a life or death situation, these two manage to bicker about one another¿s forte. These characteristics clearly let the reader lighten up to the characters even in this ¿situation of situations¿. As I read on, the book somewhat seemed to down slope for me as they began to unravel the abilities the substance gave them, which in some ways changed the mentality of the book to an over the edge science fiction novel. I preferred when Koontz brought out the reality in a predicament like this. Nevertheless, the book captured my intellectual side and sizzled my nerves to bits and pieces. An exciting and exhilarating adventure is told in the midst of this great book. I highly recommend it to be a disappointment-free read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    Unlike Others

    Unlike 'Prey', which rambles for the first 100 pages, this story begins as most of Koontz's with a fast opening that sets the pace for the rest of the novel. The writing is more finely tuned than many of his previous books and demonstrates that even bestselling authors can adapt new styles for the next generation of readers. Let's hope some of the others follow his lead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    By the light of the moon is a GOOD READ.

    Mr. Koontz is never disapointing and he proves it once again. He has a good vision of the possible realities of the synthesis of computer technology, genetic and molecular biology technologies, the characters and the developing situation. He brings together three odd characters thrown into unusual ever spiraling situations. The book's pace never slows. It's vintage Dean Koontz. This a four and one half star review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    Awesome...

    The book made me think...I hate to try to stay with the characters and understand their way of thinking before I could truly understand everything happening. Overall it was a good book, a bit crazy, but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Always Entertaining

    "By the Light of the Moon" is highly entertaining, well-written (as always with Mr. Koontz), and suspenseful. Once again, as usual, I found myself laughing out loud in many places, charmed by the dialogue and the characters that Mr. Koontz is uniquely gifted at bringing to life. However, this was not in my top five favorites (I've bought Mr. Koontz's books the day they hit the shelves since I was 13). Unlike the big pictures painted in "Lightning" or "From the Corner of His Eye," I found this book too narrow for my taste. With that small critique out of the way, I highly encourage Koontz fans to pick this one up -- its a fast paced story and I am aware of no other author of popular fiction who has such an amazingly beautiful aptitude at weaving words together in combinations that are always as delightfully crafted as his stories. One last note -- if youre feeling blue, this one is packed with some life philosophies and lessons that might pick you up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    yet another koontz masterpiece

    if you have been reading koontz for some time, you may have noticed his style has changed a little. his older novels were a little more science fiction/horror, his last few books have still had the science fiction fell without the grotesque imagery. he still has the capabilities to surprise even his most devout readers. just when you think you have the ending figured out, he sideswipes you. this book is no exception. great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Enjoyed the novel, didn't care for the ending

    On the whole, I found this book a terrific read--likable protagonists, a thrill a minute. But I wasn't impressed with the ending. It seems to hint at sequels involving a comic-book type of superhero vigilantism. Another element I found disturbing was a fashionable new ideology: any and all users of terror tactics are lumped together as "evil" and "fanatical," regardless of the nature of the underlying cause. The resort to terror tactics is appalling, but not all causes are morally equivalent. A sign of this "the-cause-is-irrelevant" attitude: one sequence in Koontz's novel has men decribed only as "bigots" and "haters" attacking an event that seems like a very implausible target. What do these attackers stand for? We're never told. If they're hostile to a specific race or religion, other events would have been attended by more of the targeted people. If they're enemies of individual participants in this event, we aren't given a clue. They're simply "evil," gunning for victims because that's what "haters" do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Buy the light of the moon

    This is an incredibly well written book that will have you unable to put it down. It had some elements in it that reminded me of From the Corner of His Eye and Seize the Night. The characters are likeable and the story flows. You don't know where it's taking you and you won't believe what you've just read. The worst part about the book is it's "abrupt" ending. You may feel cheated by it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3