Customer Reviews for

Bystander

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

If you like to read, pick this book because it's very intense!!

Eric is the new kid in seventh grade. Griffin wants to be his friend. When you're new in town, it's hard to know who to hang out with-and who to avoid. Griffin seems cool, confident, and popular. But something isn't right about Griffin. He always seems to be in the midd...
Eric is the new kid in seventh grade. Griffin wants to be his friend. When you're new in town, it's hard to know who to hang out with-and who to avoid. Griffin seems cool, confident, and popular. But something isn't right about Griffin. He always seems to be in the middle of bad things. And if Griffin doesn't like you, you'd better watch your back. There might be a target on it. As Eric gets drawn deeper into Griffin's dark world, he begins to see the truth about Griffin: he's a liar, a bully, a thief. Eric wants to break away, do the right thing. But in one shocking moment, he goes from being a bystander . . . to the bully's next victim.When Eric moved from Ohio to Long Island, he expected there to be challenges, but he did not anticipate being befriended by the local bully, charismatic and troubled Griffin. As the boys' relationship grows, Eric is unsettled by Griffin's actions, which include stealing from elderly people, physically abusing classmates, and emotionally tormenting peers. Eric decides to stand up to Griffin through his actions, but quickly becomes a target. He must access all support available-through friends, teachers, and within himself-to do the right thing. Bullying is a topic that never lacks for interest, and here Preller concentrates on the kids who try to ignore or accommodate a bully to keep themselves safe. Victim David's pain is evident from the first moment newcomer Eric sees him, but he tries not to acknowledge the reality before him. His mother is trying for a fresh start in this Long Island community, as his father has succumbed to schizophrenia and left her and their two boys on their own, Griffin, the bullying instigator, has problems of sorts; he is a leader and yet suffers under his father's bullying and aggression. It is not easy moving from the Heart Lands to Long Island with a broken family, harder still being the new seventh grader in middle school. Wanting only to make friends, Eric Hayes finds himself in the middle games being played by the resident bully, Griffin, and his current target, David Hallenback. I think it's a very good book. I would recommend it to anyone.

posted by 7465344 on March 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Havent read

I have not read this book yet but its on the battle of the books so ill give it a shot

posted by 8375710 on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    The book Bystander is about the new kid in school, Eric. He moved from Ohio to Long Island. When Eric first started this new school, a kid that was seemingly very nice and confident named Griffin wanted to be his new friend. Griffin was a great guy, good looking, confident, nice, and very trustable, according to the quote, “Griffin seems cool, confident, and popular” But as Eric becomes better friends with Griffin, he betrays Eric and things go down hill from there.
    Eric started to become really good friends with Griffin and his group. He thought he really did fit in somewhere. They sat together at lunch, Eric and Griffin have hung out a couple of times, and overall things were going Eric’s way, until Griffin stole from Eric. At that time he knew that Griffin no longer wanted to be friends with him. He stole money from Eric’s little brother when they were hanging out at his house. Eric also finds out that the elderly Griffin has been helping; he has actually been stealing from their cars when he helps them with their groceries. Now a target has been painted on Eric’s back, as said on the very first page, “You’d better watch your back; there might be a target on it.” Eric is the new target to the bully, Griffin. Eric only tried to stop Griffin from physically abusing, emotional tormenting, and bullying his peers. But when he tries to stop it, he becomes the victim. The earlier victim, David Hallenbeck is now on Griffin’s side and is going against Eric and all he does. All Eric did was try to help David.
    Later in the book, David asks Eric if they want to hang out at the basketball court, of course he says yes, at this time he has no idea that David is on Griffin’s side. They walked to the basketball court after school and David is acting strange, he leads them into the pet cemetery where Eric quickly realizes that Griffin and his buddies are following them. Griffin approaches Eric and says a couple of things about his friend that Eric called a weasel as said in the book, “Hey uh, Cody heard what you called him, he’s not to happy about it” At this point Cody steps forward. Cody is one of Griffin’s friends. Cody confronts him on the topic and when Eric repeats the word, weasel, Cody hits him hard in the face with a right hook as said, “And at that moment his fist went flying from the right, nailing me with a vicious right hook” Eric tried to fight back but Cody was a master at his martial arts. He is a black belt. After Cody beats up Eric in a “fair fight” David comes over and starts to kick Eric while he’s down” Eric now realized that he was the target and David was no longer.
    The book, Bystander should have been a best seller. This book really hooked me. I read it every day and after every day it was harder to put down. Anyone I have talked to about this book agrees that it is a great book. I really liked how the book was complete and total truth about what goes on when you’re the new kid in 7th grade. When I moved, I was the new kid in 7th grade so I could really connect. You didn’t know who the bullies were, or the nice guys, or the popular ones. Everyone had already established their groups the previous year and you felt like you couldn’t fit in. I was very surprised after I finished the book that it wasn’t a best seller. I think this book definitely deserves a spot.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Lov it!!!!!

    I just finished this book yesterday, and i loved it. It was one of the very few books that i am sad to see it end. My LA class is reading it, for bully proventchen, and i loved it the moment i started reading it. My teacher said that there is a movie that is a lot like it, and we are going to watch it. But i think that they should make amovie on this book. I don't want to see any changes in the movie. This is a great book and i would recamend it to anyone. Espeshaly to teachers that are looking for a book on bullying!!! PS - Sorry i know that i am a horrible speller!! Bye.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Booklover1234

    I just bought it its really intersting i finished it in a hour i suggest it to everybody.



    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Great read!

    This book is akazing. Its about a 7th grader who wants to fit in,but doesnt know whou to become friends with. Lots of betrayal and bullying.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Awesome book

    Teaches a very importent lesson for kids about bullying

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Pretty good book

    I liked the book

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Liked IT - MUST READ

    I am going into the 6th grade. Liked it a lot! tempting to just keep on reading and to not put the book down. Read it for your summer reading book! Very Powerful!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    I reallu I loved

    I was a little scepticle at first, but i am really glad i read it. I read for book clubs at school.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    very amazing book - check it out!!!!!!!

    this book is amazing finished it for a book report and didn't want to put it down

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Love james

    Best books in the world! U are the best writer ever keep writing books! I love all ur books! They are the best! 5 thumbs up! Great job james! Ove u and all ur books!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Love this book

    I read the whole book in one week and i loved it in the begining it was borring but it seamed as if something bad was going to happen so it makes you want to keep. But it got interesting in the middle of the book and i do wish rhe book was a lot longer i felt like it left me off and i was still wondering what was going to happen. ONCE AGIAN I LOVE THIS BOOK.<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    She got the matacali

    No abla english el lapez leche agua mango gelano bacuta ce el juono

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    School project

    I have not read it yet but mrs.frick said that it will be a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Blueflame

    Im a bloger in training and i give advice to people in need if you need help go to 13 gifts by weandy mass and title your question or story to blueflame thank you so very much. This helps alot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Bystander

    After reading this book it made me cry and it might make you cry to

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Hi

    Never read it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Chapter summaries

    Havent read it oooking for summaries of any chapter except the beginning four or so bcuz i want the cha

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    QWERTY5793

    Hi

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Is it good?

    Hi

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2