Customer Reviews for

C Is for Corpse (Kinsey Millhone Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Kinsey Shows Her Heart...Finally.

I've read all of Sue Grafton's novels and I was very impressed with C is for Corpse. I enjoyed seeing a different side of Kinsey. She really had a soft spot in her heart for this particular client and she honestly struggled with her emotions during this investigation....
I've read all of Sue Grafton's novels and I was very impressed with C is for Corpse. I enjoyed seeing a different side of Kinsey. She really had a soft spot in her heart for this particular client and she honestly struggled with her emotions during this investigation. I like Kinsey's no nonsense approach to life, but even the hardest and most seasoned detectives have a soft spot. I was glad to see it.

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better

This series is definitely getting better with each new book. I really liked this one. I was a little confused in some parts but I finally figured it out once I re-read a few parts. It was a good mystery and I didn't figure it out until Kinsey did.

He was young-may...
This series is definitely getting better with each new book. I really liked this one. I was a little confused in some parts but I finally figured it out once I re-read a few parts. It was a good mystery and I didn't figure it out until Kinsey did.

He was young-maybe twenty or so-and he must once have been a good-looking kid. Kinsey could see that. But now his body was covered in scars, his face half-collapsed. It saddened Kinsey and made her curious. She could see he was in a lot of pain. But for three weeks, as Kinsey'd watched him him doggedly working out at the local gym, putting himself through a grueling exercise routine, he never spoke.

Then one Monday morning when there was no one else in the gym, Bobby Callahan approached her. His story was hard to credit: a murderous assault by a tailgating car on a lonely rural road, a roadside smash into a canyon 400 feet below, his Porsche a bare ruin, his best friend dead. The doctors had managed to put his body back together again-sort of. His mother's money had seen to that. What they couldn't fix was his mind, couldn't restore the huge chunks of memory wiped out by the crash. Bobby knew someone had tried to kill him, but he didn't know why. He knew he had the key to something that made him dangerous to the killer, but he didn't know what it was. And he sensed that someone was still out there, ready to pounce at the first sign his memory was coming back. He'd been to the cops, but they'd shrugged off his story. His family thought he had a screw loose. But he was scared-scared to death. He wanted to hire Kinsey.

His case didn't have a whole lot going for it, but he was hard to resist: young, brave, hurt. She took him on. And three days later, Bobby Callahan was dead.

Kinsey Millhone never welshed a deal. She'd been hired to stop a killing. Now she'd find the killer.

posted by Slim20 on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    Kinsey Shows Her Heart...Finally.

    I've read all of Sue Grafton's novels and I was very impressed with C is for Corpse. I enjoyed seeing a different side of Kinsey. She really had a soft spot in her heart for this particular client and she honestly struggled with her emotions during this investigation. I like Kinsey's no nonsense approach to life, but even the hardest and most seasoned detectives have a soft spot. I was glad to see it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Well written, fast read and entertaining!

    I enjoy reading Sue Grafton's series. They are well written, entertaining and a fast read. I started with A and I am up to G already. I will continue as far as she goes. If you like detective stories this series is a must!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Good read!

    Since this was the third book, starting with A is for Alibi, I have become used to her endings which do not cleanly wrap up a lot of loose ends. I plan to read more in the future hoping cell phones become available in her future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Good

    So far have enjoyed the series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Read the first 3 in this series and enjoyed them very much.

    I love mysteries and this one kept you guessing till the end!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Enjoyed this book. Recommend to anyone who enjoys the private detective mystery. Like Sue Grafton's writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Love it.

    Love the Kinsey Millhone stories. A fun easy read. A good book to relax with. I plan to read the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Love Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone Series

    This book keeps you guessing to the end. I usually can figure mysteries out before the end, but this one was a hoot because I couldn't get it until Kinsey did. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Pretty good

    Not quite as good as the first books but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    C is for Crash!!!

    " I met Bobby Callahan on Monday of that week. By Thursday, he was dead. He was convinced someone was trying to kill him and it turned out to be true, but none of us figured it out in time to save him. I've never worked for a dead man before and I hope I won't have to do it again. He was twenty-three years old, his death served to remind me, like a custard pie in the face, that life is sometimes one big savage joke" Kinsey Millhone.

    C is for Corpse is a thunder crash!!! and Kinsey Millhone is super. In the third installment of the alphabet series, Sue Grafton cements P.I. Kinsey Millhone as of one of the most irresistible character in a series of novels. Grafton features an out of the ordinary plot, with a few solid twist and turns that keep readers turning the pages until the last paragraph. Bobby Callahan cheated death once, and hired Kinsey to find the responsible of his murder attempt. But death can't be cheated twice and in the end, Callahan was destined to meet his maker.

    Following the tradition of A is for Alibi, and B is for Burglar, Grafton introduces Kinsey Millhone little by little, and it is really hard not to get attached to Kinsey. Grafton does a good job developing Kinsey's character in every installment. C is for Corpse is no exception. This is the first time in the series that readers get to experience touching moments, and get an insight in Kinsey's personal beliefs, and her commitment for justice.

    C is for Corpse is the third installment in the alphabet series, and Grafton doesn't fall short in writing this novel, only she can describe and tell a story from Kinsey's point of view, and make a connection between readers and characters. I love the way Kinsey's character is developed in this book, readers are given the chance to get to know her a little better, therefore, falling for her. Grafton also features her landlord Henry Pitts who is recurring character in the series.
    C is for Corpse is beautifully written, Kinsey is phenomenal, and Grafton succeeds at writing a novel with the same exact details that made her previous works likable, in addition I like how we' re given a hint of her forthcoming book D is for deadbeat. C is for Corpse has a great plot and an exceptional ending that will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Sue Grafton is perfect for those who love quick, fun reads

    I love her books and have flown through them - waiting for the next alphabet murder to be out. If you enjoy watching Monk or Murder She Wrote - light crime mysteries, then you'll love these books. Perfect for beach, airplane, whatever ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    'C' IS FOR CHILLING!

    THIS IS ONE OF SUE GRAFTON'S BETTER STORIES. THE ACTION IN THE MORGUE WAS ESPECIALLY ORIGINAL AND SCARY. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ALL HER FANS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3