Customer Reviews for

C Programming Language

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2000

    Not for newcomers

    An excellent book, but definetly _not_ designed for people who have no idea what a compiler is. The book does not teach programming principles; it teaches the syntax. An excellent book if you have some programming background.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2000

    Very good reference book but not recommended for beginners.

    After completing reading this book I feel I have a complete 'C' Programming knowledge. I have read lot of other C books, but only after I complete reading this one I'm very confident in C programming. This book will be very good if you have done C programming already but I don't recommend this for beginners.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 1999

    A Must Have

    I'd just like to say that this book was written by the CREATOR of the C programming language, and is essential reference material.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2001

    A 'must have' book

    The best way to learn to program in C is to do it from the creators of the language and this book gives you just that. It is not an easy book to read through overnight but can answer almost any question you ever had about C. It is suitable even for absolute beginners who have access to some UNIX environment although it wouldn't teach you in a hand-holding way as some of the other more verbose books on the subject. I recommend it highly both to newcomers and to more experienced people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    The place to begin.

    C is the language of the gods. This book was written by the gods who created C. This is the C bible. There is no better first language to learn than C and there is no better book on C than this one. Play as you go through this book. You will be glad you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I see quite a few blasphemies towards this most holiest of holie

    I see quite a few blasphemies towards this most holiest of holies on these comments here.




    I wonder, what would be a better book? Teach yourself C in 24 hours?  C For Dummies? Personally I "learned C" from reading "The C++ Programming Language" by Bjarne Stroustrup, but...




    This book carries with it quite a bit of weight (literally if you get the paper version) that is not found in the C++ version, and quite a bit of that extra weight applies to that book too. It takes quite a bit of intelligence and verisimilitude to determine, but these books really do complement each-other.
     

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    CLASSIC

    This book is classic. I would recommend it to everyone who wants to learn C.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    The ultimate guide to programming

    This the first book I ever read about programming next to the book for my TI-82 calculator in Junior High. This book contains everything a beginning programmer needs to learn and understand the concepts involved in entry level programming and gives them a needed introduction to Unix. It is an awesome reference for even the most knowledgable programmers and comes in handy during late night programming when you can't seem to remember anything. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to even consider programming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Re: NOT A GOOD BOOK

    the dude who wrote the review above is a senile person, obviously. this is a 5 star book PERIOD. so so so many people recommend this book. it is a little hard to follow at times, but just read it slow and try different things and you will come out a better programmer. if you struggle with some of the exercies then it also might be a good idea to buy "The C Answer Book".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    The Classic

    There is a solid reason why people recommend and hold on to this book for ages. It is the classic. Not only does it capture the spirit of the working practical aspects, but it tries to also suggest the complexity and power that C was envisioned with. Try it. It can make everything so simple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    Worth every penny!

    This book has more info than books with 10 times the pages! Simply the best reference on the C Language!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    This should be your first book on C

    This may the best book on C you'll ever read because of it's clear, concise explanations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    A concise, clear and elegant book

    BS'D This book is incredible in that it fits so much in so little; because of this, however, it tends to be very concise and might be less helpful to someone with absolutely no experience with programming computers. I'd still use it but in conjunction with a class on the subject. I took my first course on the subject by someone who also had a book (which will go unnamed as I wasn't thrilled with it) and this beat it hands down, but it was good having the class to go to as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    NOT A GOOD BOOK

    This book is an excellent book for someone who wants to get confused. Please do not buy it and waste your hard earned money. If you have money to waste buy it as charity.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    The Bible Of C Programming

    This book is definately worthy of it's title 'The Bible Of C'. I would recommend this book to anyone who is really serious about becomming a good c programmer. It's a hard read, but not too hard and contains great examples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2001

    Good C Reference Book!

    This is basicly not for beginner... However it is very useful for people who have some programming background and want to clarify some of the unclear points. Lots of things, such as structure, pointers, function calls, are clearly described in this book. Also, many good examples.... I learned a lot myself from this book and now feel very confident about C.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    Wipe your rear-end with this...

    Please, if you want to buy a C programming book, DO NOT get this one. It is so unorgainized and boring. But don't take my word for it, go to the bookstore and read through them to find one you prefer.There are plenty of better books out there. Its a shame I had to give this coffee coaster a star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2000

    The template (apologies to Bjarne) for technical texts

    Ideal even for the astute beginner. This is the benchmark for all computer-related techical books. Clear, concise and above-all accurate (with a few minor exceptions as noted in the errata, as well as an unfortunate page-break between 99 and 100). Don't let the pre-1990 copyright date fool you, this book is still fresh and contemporary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    Lippman, Kernighan and Ritchie -- Writers of the Century

    Some invent it and some make it go. No one is less than the other. Rarely, if ever, has the programming world seen such a talent for writing. The graceful clarity with which the book is written and the depth of knowledge it shows, together make it a monumental piece of work in the history of science and engineering. The closest counterpart we have seen in C++ is the 2nd edition of Lippman's C++ Primer published in 1991. Please allow me to name Lippman, Kernighan and Ritchie the programming writers of the century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2