BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

CATHOLIC HOLY BIBLE FOR NOOK IN COLOR THE DOUAY HOLY BIBLE FOR NOOK ILLUSTRATED (Douay-Rheims Douay DR) (Special Nook Edition with MasterLink Technology): Complete Old Testament & New Testament (ILLUSTRATED IN COLOR) Bible Nook / The Holy Bible NOOKbook

Average Rating 5
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(208)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

149 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

THE Literal translation of the Bible

The Douay is THE LITERAL translation of the Bible, and in my view is much closer to the meaning of the original text than other versions. In our church we use this exclusve (I am Catholic) and I am often struck by how other translations seem to misinterpret many of the...
The Douay is THE LITERAL translation of the Bible, and in my view is much closer to the meaning of the original text than other versions. In our church we use this exclusve (I am Catholic) and I am often struck by how other translations seem to misinterpret many of the key passages.

posted by Clara_The_Christian on March 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

bla,bla,bls

THE BIBLE IS STUPID AND FAKE JUST LIKE GOD!!!!!!!

posted by 8064275 on March 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    THE Literal translation of the Bible

    The Douay is THE LITERAL translation of the Bible, and in my view is much closer to the meaning of the original text than other versions. In our church we use this exclusve (I am Catholic) and I am often struck by how other translations seem to misinterpret many of the key passages.

    149 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Great version

    This is my favourite version and would recommend it to other Catholics to try as well

    146 out of 149 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Great book

    for a great price. Highly recommended

    144 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Excellent Source Book - a must have for ministries.

    This Bible has excellent navigational aids; one of the easiest translations to navigate that I have in my nook. I have 9 so far. Accurately translated as compared with the Interlinear Bible that I have in hardcopy. Some translations have parts of Scripture omitted because of personal beliefs of the organization; not this one, it is complete and accurate. The Aprocriphal additions are standard for Catholic Bibles, and are interesting to say the least. This is one of the most used Bibles that I have.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Missing whole pages and difficult to navigate

    While I love reading the Bible, this electronic version is the pits. It is missing whole pages at a time! In addition, there is no easy way to jump from chapter to chapter or verse to verse. The one I have for my old Palm Pilot is better than this. I will be asking for my money back.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    can't navagate

    I could not figure out how to get to a book and a versus by just clicking on it. For this reason I bought a different bible. Maybe there should be instructions on how to navigate this bible.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Not Good

    This Bible did not operate well on my Nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Typographical errors

    I like this transalation, there is a certain kind of nobility to the language used as compared to everyday words. There are however some typographical errors I've noticed. In Jonah chapter 1 verse 5, Jonah's name is spelled as "Jones". And in verse 6 of the same chapter the letter after a punctuation mark is not capitalized.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Catholics arent cristians

    Some gospils Arent as trustworthy asothrs the chridtian holy bibld was carful and trustworty eth no hidden motives! Worship only jesus and god not marry and the others

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Pretty good

    This is a good one, there are many bible options available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    At least Catholics are educated

    Wow just had to comment. Look at the way Protestant heretics speak and "think," no wonder they are stupid enough to remain separated from Christ's Church.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    ? Not sure...

    NOAH?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    You probably cant nvigate because you have a sample

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12