Customer Reviews for

CHARLES DICKENS THE COMPLETE WORKS (Definitive Edition NOOK) WORLDWIDE BESTSELLER Over 25,000 pages of Charles Dickens! Pickwick Papers, Oliver Twist, Christmas Carol, David Copperfield, Bleak House, Hard Times, Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Incredible: Over 25,000 pages! This has to be the mo

Absolutely Incredible: Over 25,000 pages!

This has to be the most amazing find on the entire Nook store. This has EVERY single book ever written by Charles Dickens. Yes, every single one. I think it will take me over 5 years to finish this, but this book alone makes...
Absolutely Incredible: Over 25,000 pages!

This has to be the most amazing find on the entire Nook store. This has EVERY single book ever written by Charles Dickens. Yes, every single one. I think it will take me over 5 years to finish this, but this book alone makes my investment in the Nook device worthwhile. Bye bye physical books!

posted by 6914809 on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This review s for the Nook version. Dickens is always a five sta

This review s for the Nook version. Dickens is always a five star writer. But this version should have over 25,000 pages and less than one tenth of them are available. All the promised works are in the table of contents but most cannot be accessed. FWIW, the parts that ...
This review s for the Nook version. Dickens is always a five star writer. But this version should have over 25,000 pages and less than one tenth of them are available. All the promised works are in the table of contents but most cannot be accessed. FWIW, the parts that can be read are well done but only one of the major novels can be found. If this can't be corrected, you would be better off getting the individual works.

posted by 1039980 on March 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Absolutely Incredible: Over 25,000 pages! This has to be the mo

    Absolutely Incredible: Over 25,000 pages!

    This has to be the most amazing find on the entire Nook store. This has EVERY single book ever written by Charles Dickens. Yes, every single one. I think it will take me over 5 years to finish this, but this book alone makes my investment in the Nook device worthwhile. Bye bye physical books!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    THIS IS THE REAL DEAL! THIS HAS EVERYTHING BY DICKENS

    I am truly impressed with this purchase. I have already started reading this, and now my wife wants to read it as well. Dickens was the literary genius of his time, and the amazing thing is that his books are just as fresh and relevant today as they were in Victorian England.

    Thanks B&N.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Good buy!

    I was pleasantly surprised at how many Charles Dickens works this book had. A great buy for any Dickens fan.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    This review s for the Nook version. Dickens is always a five sta

    This review s for the Nook version. Dickens is always a five star writer. But this version should have over 25,000 pages and less than one tenth of them are available. All the promised works are in the table of contents but most cannot be accessed. FWIW, the parts that can be read are well done but only one of the major novels can be found. If this can't be corrected, you would be better off getting the individual works.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Love DICKENS, have the same problem that I have with many Ebooks TYPOS

    I cannot get over the amount of TYPOS in ebooks, especially in the classics. It is sad that a major 19th century novelist such as Dickens, who is still so loved and so relevant, should be dishonored over and over again by errant capitalizations, gaps, missing punctuations, odd word spacing etc., that forces re-reading of sentences and furrowed brows. To have an edition such as this sold to the public, no matter how much of a bargain it is, is an outrage. Would the public be happy to pay more for a typo free edition of Dickens work, one that some editor or a group of editors had put some time and love into instead of tossing the text onto the web? YES, I'm sure the public would. I'm still giving this 3 stars anyway. The quality of the writing is, though sometimes uneven, superb.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Fantastic! Please read this review!

    Charles Dickens was an amazing person. I'm currently reading Oliver Twist, and I simply adore it. 'Tis amazing! Dickens manages to blend humor, danger, adventure, and a little romannce together, while at the same time conveying a much deeper message. I love the classics, and have read a LOT of them, and so it's saying something that I think Dickens equals, if not tops, Jane Austen. The only author greater than him (in my mind) is probably Victor Hugo. This edition is fantastic. Please read! Oliver Twist is my favorite! --Brenna, age thirteen

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    see below.

    Still unable to load it onto the Nook due to the fact that I do not have DSL at my house, despite the Stimulus that was supposed to furnish it to everyone. Waiting to find a hot spot. Very frustrating.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    O.o

    Dx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Cv


    Yoahahqruoymjli
    Gh

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Completely recomend

    Amazingly descriptive and completely addictive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Phoenixfire152

    Hey whatsup?????:) :D

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Jy bn glby .bmbbn .

    Bm ubmb,yu yvmtoturyu yy bmb

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2