Customer Reviews for

CHASING AMANDA (Mystery/Suspense)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Fascinating Read!

Chasing Amanda is a well-crafted suspense novel. In this page-turner, Melissa Foster accurately describes the emotional turmoil suffered by a mother who has tragically lost a child. In Chasing Amanda, Ms. Foster weaves a complex tale by capturing the fragility of severa...
Chasing Amanda is a well-crafted suspense novel. In this page-turner, Melissa Foster accurately describes the emotional turmoil suffered by a mother who has tragically lost a child. In Chasing Amanda, Ms. Foster weaves a complex tale by capturing the fragility of several poignant relationships – wife and husband, mother and son, sister and brother, neighbors and friends—into one riveting main theme. Brava Melissa Foster, Chasing Amanda is a superb novel.

posted by Dr-BE on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Chasing my Wasted Time Back

One would have to assume that if anyone gave this book, "Chasing Amanda," five stars they are not avid readers. Foster committed the perfect crime by throwing a whole bunch of characters into a book, but not developing them fully, and by making the main character, Molly...
One would have to assume that if anyone gave this book, "Chasing Amanda," five stars they are not avid readers. Foster committed the perfect crime by throwing a whole bunch of characters into a book, but not developing them fully, and by making the main character, Molly, a dysfunctional, "psychic" idiot who doesn't speak well for the world of clairvoyancy. I have never disliked a main character so much in my life! This book was selected for a book club; otherwise, I would have stopped reading it. The entire book seems to have been written by someone with rampant ADHD who hasn't taken their medication--meaning the content was all over the place. Our book club selected this book as a mystery, but it behooves me to say that Foster spills the beans on the guilty party pretty quickly, or I am used to reading thrillers and mysteries that leave me guessing. Then you just follow along reading the insanity of all parties involved. As a matter of fact, a pastor keeps a challenged child locked up in the house or cellar for twenty years because that's what the family wanted, and she finds two (2) other people ("friends") who are willing to assist her keep this child from society. I can see why this book is print on demand and you have to pay for it first...

posted by Tutor4AZ on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    THRILLING SUSPENSE

    When a little girl is abducted in the small town where Molly lives, she thinks that her past is haunting her again. Assaulted by visions and strange dreams, will she get over it, trying to save her personal life, or will she try to help to find this girl? Nobody said that would be an easy thing to do, and Molly has to go through a lot of troubles.
    I have loved this book, but I cannot give it 5 stars because there were lots of things that were quite predictable. I knew some of the things that were going to happen at the end right at the middle of the book. I didn’t find that unexpected twist that I enjoy so much in books. It also had, in my opinion, some unnecessary bad language.
    But the story is a very good one, and very clever. It is complex, with lots of characters, but it is not difficult to follow the course of action. I liked the story because I identified with the protagonist, Molly. It is the kind of story that makes you guess and wonder all the time, while you follow Molly in her quest of the truth. It is a thrilling story that will keep you hooked from the beginning to the end. I would like to see this book being turned into a film.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    A gripping novel that will keep you in your seat reading until the whee hours because you MUST find out how it will all unfold. A story of 3 lost girls and the woman who has visions as to their whereabouts and how they ended up stolen from their families. A suspenseful book with just a hint of some paranormal twists. I definitely had a hard time putting this one down when it was beyond my bed time! There were a few slow spots that I would have speed up a bit and a lot of searching in the woods for the little girl, but as a whole this book sped along like a train.

    I think the one thing that I absolutely loved was the description of the characters and places. I could really picture each character and feel their personalities - they became lifelike. The setting - Boyds, MD was unqiue and described with such detail that I felt as though I could picture it right in front of me. A distinct city with a rural setting that allowed for certain events to occur that could never have happened anywhere else.

    As with every suspense, I rate a book as to how far in advance I find out who dun it or if they are in the story at all. I think I realized the captor at the best moment, because I spent the rest of the book trying to confirm my hunches. A perfect amount of hints were given along the way, but nothing too blatant.

    A suspenseful book that is definitely worth the grab. A book for both genders and most ages to read whether it be in the middle of summer or curled up in the winter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not a fluffy feel good read but a seriously thoughtful journey into joy from despair.

    Goodreads Book Synopsis

    Nine years ago, Molly Tanner witnessed a young girl's abduction in the busy city of Philadelphia, shifting her occasional clairvoyance into overdrive. Two days later, the girl's body was found, and Molly's life fell apart. Consumed by guilt for not acting upon her visions, and on the brink of losing her family, Molly escaped the torturous reminders in the city, fleeing to the safety of the close-knit rural community of Boyds, Maryland.

    Molly's life is back on track, her son has begun college, and she and her husband have finally rekindled their relationship. Their fresh start is shattered when a seven-year-old girl disappears from a local park near Molly's home. Unable to turn her back on another child and troubled by memories of the past, Molly sets out to find her, jeopardizing the marriage she'd fought so hard to hold together. While unearthing clues and struggling to decipher her visions, Molly discovers another side of Boyds, where the residents--and the land itself--hold potentially lethal secrets, and exposes another side of her husband, one that threatens to tear them apart

    My Thoughts


    How many of us have watched the Stepford Wives or read the book and wished we could live in such a picturesque and tranquil small town setting? Due to a tragedy that occurred nine years prior Molly Tanner gets to move to such a place in Maryland, however just like the fictional town of Stepford Connecticut Boyd's has buried secrets that are every bit as shocking to Molly as they are to long time residents.

    Having read this stories description when asked to be a part of the fall blog tour for the author my first response was going to be a no to reading and reviewing Chasing Amanda as it sounded like something quite intense and a bit out of my comfort zone as I prefer fantasy over reality... I was pleasantly surprised, Molly captured my heart as soon as started reading... You could feel her anguish coming through the pages of the book, how could anyone ever live with themselves if they knew deep in their soul that they could help a child escape from a dangerous situation? It was inspiring to watch how Molly not only stood up to but actually defied her own husband to follow her heart, despite the fact it may cost her everything she holds dear, to try to help find little Tracey!
    There is an entire cast of characters in this book that the reader learns a little more about with each turn of the page, there is however no difficulty at all in following what is going on as the story flows easily and before you even realize the time has passed the mysteries are revealed and the book is finished.

    While it is true that the book put me through quite a bit emotionally living out the terrible memories that caused Molly and her family to move to Maryland in the first place and then watching the plot unfold with all it's many twists and turns that take you from despair to joy I realized after finishing that not only was Chasing Amanda something that I enjoyed over all but the story had a positive impact on me because it had a positive outcome.

    I recommend this book to those of us who like to stretch our reading into areas we normally would not go.

    {E-Arc review copy provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review}

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    This book was very entertaining. What Melissa excels at is getti

    This book was very entertaining. What Melissa excels at is getting inside her characters' heads and telling us precisely what they feel. It absolutely rings true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1